interview with Necrology

What´s the name of your band? Our band was Necrology

How was the band formed? Well, we were 3 friends with common likes in musick, grindcore and noise specially, and decided to do something about it, so without being musicians we started to make some noise with borrowed instruments.

Can you tell about your band? We played what we liked and like nowadays, grindcore. We had some influences from bands like Agathocles, Blood, Impetigo and many more but our idea was always playing our own material, also with some covers too. 

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? The band was from Concepcion, Chile, SouthAmerica, and the members were all from the same city. We were Milton in drums, Gonzalo in screams and growls, Fabian in guitar and I, Ivan in bass. 

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? We didn't have great expectations or ambitions once we were formed. We just wanted to play what we enjoyed, and travel to the most places to play and meet people. It was just for fun. Maybe once started we could have been more interested in doing something else, but due to several reasons we couldn't. 

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? As I told you before, we just played grindcore, simple and raw but commited. 

Where was your first gig? Ufff, I'm not completely sure, but I think it was in a sports gym, in Anibal Pinto Street in Concepcion, with no stage, with other band members' instruments, absolute nervous (I personally covered my face with the hair so nobody could see my nervous face,) but we had many friends who supported us so, I could say it was great, despite the nerves and no experience.

Where was the latest gig? Well, I don't remember the last official gig in 2000, but when Agathocles came to Concepcion in 2007, we met to play just for that occasion, so I could say we played for the last time on November 14, 2007.

Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? The music was mostly from my ideas and after I presented to the other members, we shared opinions to make some arrangements, changes, structures, etc. Regarding to the lyrics, we didn't care about them, they were only the songs names, but in one occasion we had to write some lyrics, 5 to be precise, to be part of a compilation, so we invented them in a couple of hours, but to be honest we never wrote lyrics. After that, we wrote just one lyrics for the song Copon de Oro, which was a song for a "friend" of us.

Who has the best sense of humor in the band? Mmm, difficult question, but I think that Milton, the drummer, is the one who spoke more silly things per second than any other 

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? It's what we liked, so it was what we played and enjoyed.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? As I said, we prefered to play our own material, but we also played some covers, Agathocles, Impetigo, Blood... 

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? Not albums, just a demo and a compilation we were part of. Both can be found in Necrology's Facebook Page

Do you have any clips on YouTube? Yes, we have two songs from our last gig in 2007, and can be found as Necrology Chile Grindcore

How old are you?/What got you started in music? At present we are 40 more or less, and how we started in music is a personal story I think. In my case, meeting friends and classmates who liked this music and listening bands from that time (1989, 1990 on)

At what age did you start playing? I was 20, the drummer 21, the guitar 20, and the singer was younger when he joined us, maybe 16. 

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? In the same order 21, 22, 21 and 17 more or less. 

What year was the band started? We started with Necrology in March 1995. 

Best/worst gig you've played?

The best, ufff, many but for me the best in sound, audience and post show was in Concepcion, in the City Gym,  in 1996, many important bands, many people, good sound and a lot of beer...great

The worst, one gig we didn't even play, because it was in Temuco, a city 5 hours far from Concepcion, we had a long trip of about 8 hours so when we arrived it had finished...we didn't play.

What places will you be playing in the immediate future? We are splitted up, but we received an invitation from a good friend and his band (Medio Muerto from Concepcion) to play next December 27th but I live 12 hours from Concepcion, so I don't think I could make it, and also we haven't played together for more than 14 years (I mean the first line up) 

Where have you played from then till now? After we splitted up, we played just once when Agathocles visited Chile in November 14th 2007 and we were invited to play that gig. It was a reunion with some members that played with us.  

Which band is the best you´ve seen? Personally I was working and living in France in 2001-2002 so I could attend some great shows and see great bands like Benediction, Bolt Thrower, Cryptopsy, Haemorraghe, Immortal, Hypocrisy and more, but I thik that I can die in peace after watching Death (with Chuck), Paradise Lost and Carcass, but it's difficult to say that they are the best. 

Is it always the same songs live? At the beginning it was like that, we played a lot so we had almost the same tracks but after some months we played new songs and that was better 

What has been the best/most promising gig so far? There were some great shows like the release of a compilation (Rock entre Nieblas) with all the bnd in it, there were many peoplegreat sound and good bands we shared with. 

Have you had any bigger tours from start to now? No, we never got on a tour, we just visited some cities but nothing like a tour.  

How big crowds do you usually play for? We played for 100 people more or less, it was the number in most of polaces we played, but even if there were only 5 guys we played happily, we just wanted to play, if we had either to open or close the gig we did it.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? No plans, we are inactive. 

Where do you usually play? We did played in our area, near Concepcion, Chile. 

How do you get psyched up for a gig? We just had some beers, to warm up and be more confident. 

What are your goals with your music? Our goal was to let something like a demo, and we did it. We can tell our children that we recorded something. 

When did you decide to go all in for the music? As I said before, we just played for fun, we love grindcore and we played what we liked.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? I think everything now has influences from old bands, it's difficult to be unique. Inspiration for us came from older bands.  

What are your sources of inspiration? Our minds and ideas, dreams, drunken thoughts, nothing hidden, just crazy things without a subliminal intention. 

What's the first step when making a new song? I created most of our songs, then I showed them to the rest and we chose which part was the best and joined to other and so on...but the first syep was just look for fun riffs. 

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? It´s an easy way to get music which is difficult to get nowadays , and also in Chile, the taxes are very high for music so buying music is expensive. It's important to support bands but some people don't have the money to get music, so it's an alternative. Personally, I uploaded Necrology's music so anybody can get it and we don't care who download it, just take it, enjoy it, love it or hate it.

What would be your dreams for the band? THE dream would be playing at the OEF, jajaja...a reunion just to play there... 

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? I listen to 80's music, Milton loves Hardcore, Gonzalo has a tribute band of La Renga, an argentinian band, he is the singer and Fabian likes metal. 

What do you hold most dear? My pictures, from any age, my family´s pictures  

What would be your greatest fears for the future? Not getting a job is a fear that I constantly have. When you have a family it's a big deal. 

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? Not being accepted, but then I remember that we played something not all people like so, I didn't care,we just played.

What songs and what years were they released? Almost all our songs are from the period between 1995-2000 

Have you been part of any other projects? I didn't have any other project, Milton had a band called Infectious, and after Necrology that he played in Retrogression and Toxico Capital. The others didn't have other projects

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? I'm a teacher, an English teacher in a school, before I worked in English Institutes.

What would you do if there was no music? I uase my time with my family, so f I don't have music I spend some time with my family and working of course 

How important are your fans? I don't know if we really had fans, but our friends were the important people back in that time, they supported us and went with us when we were invited to othe cities, it was great.

What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? Asking for an autograph, jajaja...as if we were rock stars...funny 

How often do you rehearse? We don't currently, but we did it twice a week, before a concert, three or four times a week.  

Where do you rehearse? At the beginning we rehearse at my place, with friends' instruments and a homemade drum set, then we moved to the drummer's house, and always before a gig we went to a rehearsal room where we payed to play with more "pro" equipment.

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? Carcass' Corporeal Jigsore Quandary, and Bthory's One Rode To Asa Bay. I like them at the moment and always.

What do you feel is the best live band you've seen? I had the chance to be living in France for 7 months so I could see some great bands but I really liked Death (with Chuck of course) in Chile, Dismember (in Chile), Agathocles (in Chile), Cannibal Corpse, Kreator, Haemorraghe, Mortician, Bolt Thrower, Benediction, Cryptopsy in France, but I really don't have "a best" live band.

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? In Chile that is a big and difficult, almost impossible deal. No one can live on their music unless your music satisfies a label so you can have a good promotion and benefits. I think "the" Chilean band that can do that is Pentagram.

Do you have any webpages? We had a Facebook Page, Necrology Grindcore Chile, and also a MySpace with the same name.

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Not really, I only want to say is that if you love your music and others do too, keep going, play and enjoy playing. 

Describe your show, visually and musically Our shows were full of good friends, beers, wine, more good friends, girls, more wine and beers...and we...trying to make something we loved and do nowadays...we didn't pretend to be the best band or something like that, we just played and had fun...and our frinds and fans knew it. 

How do you view the music industry of today? I'm being honest when I say that I don't know how it is nowadays, but I think it's difficult to have a good contract for tours or recordings. 

What advice would you like to give other bands? Be yourselves, be honest, respect the other bands, support the concerts producers, and enjoy playing. 

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Back in our time of being an active band, money to get the instruments, now it's easier to get them, the other obstacles use to be to get a contract or somethong like that. 

What is best/worst with playing the clubs? The best, free beers...jajaja...the worst, people who don't pay the tickets, or drunk guys who only go to fight and never see the show 

Tell us about upcomming gigs and why we should be at them? We are not playing so I can't tell you anything 

What was one of the most quarrelsome times for you in the band? When we were invited to play in Santiago, the capital city of Chile, and during our show a guy from other band (he pretended to be something like GG Allin or Seth Putnam) insulted us, shouted some things that really made me mad, after our show I almost fight with him but my friends stopped me, we were visitors and the trouble could have been worst...but finally I just hit him some times and fucked his show too... 

Whats your Pre-show ritual? Meet some friends, have some beers to get warm, and be focused on doing a good show...at least that was our ritual...  

Do you have anything to add? Thanks for the interview, please let me know when you upload it, cheers to all Grindcore fans out there...keep on grinding...and please visit our FB page where you will be able to know our band Thanks againPeace

Kommentera här: