interview with Jasper Lynam

Tell us a brief introduction of who you are? I am Jasper Lynam. I am a Independant Hardrock / Metal Drummer.   Where are you from ? I am originally from Wichita, Kansas USA. I now live In Los Angeles, California USA  

Explain to those who have not heard you, how does your music? Along with playing with some of my own bands, I am generally hired by other bands to either do session work (meaning that I am hired to go in the studio to record their music for one reason or another) Each band is different. Or I am hired to do a tour with them or appear in their videos etc.

Good and bad sides of the band? I think good sides of a band is that you get that "family" sort of vibe from it. The bad sides are, you get that family sort of vibe from it! LOL

What you drive for music style? I primarily love playing heavier music. I like playing music that not only is great on the ears but makes you get the full visual of what the band is trying to convey. Sometimes, I play on albums that are styles I really don't like that much. (pop, dance, etc) But it pays the bills and lets me keep doing what I love to do, PLAY DRUMS!!

What are the main themes or topics for most of your songs? I play with so many types of bands that sometimes I never hear what the vocals/lyrics are about. Sometimes I get lucky enough to have the time to really enjoy what the subjects are about. From dark and heavy themes to party and sex kind of themes. Some topics are very serious, some are complete non-sense. Its just the nature of the industry.

What are your songs about? When I am in the writing process. I tend to write whatever comes from the heart. I want it to make sense and grab the listener. I want them to really get what I am saying. Be it really deep and emotional style lyrics or just having a great time kind of lyrics. I think its very important for the listener to get it. If they don't, you have a rough go of getting your songs out there.

Do you own songs or covers? I mainly play with all original bands. Sometimes a cover gets thrown in for a live effect or maybe its just a song they want to do for their album. I prefer doing original songs.

Have you released any album or single? I've played going on 200 different albums, so I would say YES! HA HA HA

What do you sell for merchendise gadgets? Other than the usual Shirts, hat, etc. when it comes to selling Merch. I think anything is a great seller!! I kind of take the Gene Simmons approach to Merch. I am willing to put a bands name on anything in small quantities. See what sells best and what marketing approaches need to be changed or modified to push that Merch out of the door. If it sells easy, then great! ORDER MORE!! If it doesn't. Discount the price and move it along. As long as your not losing money and breaking even. I'm ok with it!

What does it cost? Wow, well its all supply and demand. Prices vary between what the vendor is selling it to you for. Which is mainly based on colors and quantities. Then there is "Type" of product. If its shirts, hats, posters or whatever. Everything always varies in price. I always tend to want to spend the extra money so the product being sold by a band is "High Quality". Meaning, I would rather have less of a Great product than more of a cheap looking product. Bigger quantities can always be ordered later if the need arises.

How old were you when you started with music? I got my first drum kit (A toy) when I was three. It lasted about 5 minutes. When I was five, I got my first "real" drum kit. Which I still have!!   When did you decide to focus on the music? Immediately! I've never wanted to do anything else. Its just a calling I think.

How has your music evolved since you began playing music? When I first started playing, I wanted to play like Peter Criss of KISS. As I grew older, I realized that I really like heavier and more progressive styles of playing. More in the styles of Judas Priest or Iron Maiden. Later I was introduced to the music of Frank Zappa. The musicianship on the Zappa stuff blew me away! This lead me to listen to bands like U.K., YES and later bands like Fates Warning and Dream Theater. Taking this style of playing and incorporating it with heavier music is really what I like to do. Mikkey Dee's playing on the albums he did with King Diamond are a great example of how to play heavy yet progressive without it sounding like a solid drum solo. Scott Travis from Judas Priest is a perfect example of playing heavy and putting a great stamp on his playing and the music.

What has been your biggest challenge as a band? As an independant musician, the biggest challenges for me are making sure that I have the next job set up. If I'm not working, I'm not making money. 

Describe your show , visual and musically? Not only do I like to play heavy and progressive, I LOVE doing live shows. I'm a very visual player. I like doing a great show and entertaining the crowd. People pay to see a show. If your not doing a show for the crowd, they can sit at home and listen to the music. People are spending their hard earned money to be entertained. So I fully intend to entertain them!

How is it this time of year to get out on the gig?  I don't think the times of year really have anything to do with touring unless your just touring in your own areas. I figure, its summertime somewhere. When its cold in the USA, its best to head south to Australia or South America to tour. Summer time in Europe is always great especially During the festival tours like Download or Wacken.

How tags you for a show? I'm under management so I'm lucky enough not to have to deal with this end of the business as much.

What have you participated in the past? Amongst playing many festival shows, I've toured all over Europe, Asia, Australia and North America. When I'm not on tour, I do drum clinics and give lessons.    

What do you do besides the band and the music? Generally, I just like playing drums, playing with my dogs and hanging out with my friends. (When time allows)

How important are your fans? The Fans are EVERYTHING!! I would be playing drums with or without fans but without the fans, I wouldn't be able to tour or do what I enjoy most in life. I think entertaining the Fans is the most important job there is!

How old were you at your first concert you saw? I think I was around 6 or 7. My older sisters wasnt allowed to go to concerts without a male being present with them. So my sisters out smarted our mother and would take me to all of the big concerts! Wow! I seen some really great shows back then! LOL

How old were you at your first gig? My first gig I was around 10. It was at the local church. When I turned 12, I started playing in the bars and taverns.   What is your goal with your music? To just keep playing and entertaining the fans. Hopefully, they like what I'm doing and the choices I'm making.

How old were you when you were on a stage for the first time? I was "on stage" when I was 5 for the first time. It was a school play. I realized I really liked being on stage and performing in front of a crowded room.

Besides your music style you play what do you like the music still enjoy listening to? I love listening to alot of different styles of music. I love anything from King Diamond to Duran Duran.

What things are you most afraid of ? Heights and Failure! LOL

What are you afraid will happen to you in the future? I will get old. LOL

What is the biggest fear when you go onstage? Not being able to hear the monitors. That can always make a great show turn into a disaster!

What drives a band that is not very well known and live on it to continue to play? I would say being hungry enough to keep doing it till the people know who you are!

Do you always the same songs live or vary it? Depends on the band I'm on tour with. Some bands like to do the same show night after night. Others like to switch it up a bit and do other things. I personally like to play it all by ear and see how things are going with the audience. Do the first couple of songs and read the crowd. Kind of like a boxer feels out his opponant in the first couple of rounds. You have to see how things are working. If things arent going as well as you intended, its time to take a different approach.

What countries have you played in? Too many to list! LOL. Again, mainly North America, Asia, Europe, South America, and Australia. I also had the priviledge of playing in Moscow Russia. Very fun show!

What is your pre-show ritual? Warm up with a practice pad then walk around and smoke cigarettes till its time to hit the stage.

Best/worst performed gig? I tend to think all gigs are GREAT! unless I can't hear anything. Then it usually is a guessing game getting through the show.

Where do you sleep when you're going on tour? Bus, Hotel, pretty much anywhere I can get a nap in. Alot of the time I'm taking naps on my flight cases backstage while the gear is being set up.

How many people usually come to your gig? Audiences vary, for me at least. It depends who I'm on tour with and where the gig is located. I've played for 70,000 people one night and the bartender the the next night. There is never a consistant number for these sorts of things.   Where do you plan to play the rest of the year? I'm in rehearsals right now for a short USA tour then I'm back to Europe. I also have some session work in line that I have to complete.

What do you think of that they go to download music from the internet instead of buying records? I think the music getting to the fans is the most important part. I don't take the "Lars Ulrich" approach to downloads. Basically, the big time record labels are sufforing. Which I think is a bit of poetic justice. They have been ripping of musicians for years! LOL. The reality is, very little money is made by the sale of CD's. Bands make most of their money from shows and Merch sales. So if downloading songs gets people to the shows, I say download away!

How would you describe your sound in one sentence? Progressive and Heavy!

What is the first step to a new song? In my experience, its either myself or someone else just fooling around warming up or having a definative idea to throw out and work it up from there.

What's the best and worst of playing clubs? I think its the same answer on both sides. Being up close and personal with the crowd is a double edged sword. Its great if they love you and horrible if they don't! LOL

 What are your web pages? www.reverbnation.com/jasperlynam https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jasper-Lynam/137094282981570?ref=hl Soon, my personal website will be up and running. Which is www.jasperlynam.com

Where is most common that you play? North America and Europe is where I play the most. But I will go anywhere!

What are your plans for the future? For the most part, I want to keep doing what I've been doing. Just playing whatever keeps me working however, I would really like to play in one solid band for a while and see how that works out.

What are the main obstacles for the band? To me, lazyness is the biggest obstacle for any band. I think lazyness breaks up more bands than drugs or girlfriends. Everyone has to be equally as hungry as the hungriest person in the band. If everyone doesnt have the same drive then its time to part ways with the weak links. Anyone can be replaced. Egos usually blind people and they think they can't be replaced. I've made a career out of replacing people so I can assure you. It can, will and does happen. If you want to keep your job. Stay hungry, do your job to the best of your ability and try to out work the hardest working person in the band.

What advice would you give to other bands? Always remember, this is a business. Its great that your in a band with your friends but you have to stay focused that your trying to make a living at this. There are bills to pay and alot of dues to be paid as well. Being with your friends day in and day out takes its toll on any relationship. Make sure you learn everything about the business end of things and stay focused on them. Its up to you to get your music out there in anyway you can and then promote it, tour it, and really sell your product. Most importantly, remember that YOU PERSONALLY are a huge part of the "Product" you are selling. So be prepared!

Do you have anything to add?Watch for tour dates and come see me when I'm in your area. I would love to meet as many fans as possible. Your all the reason I'm here. Thanks for all the great questions and I will see everyone very soon!!

Kommentera här: