interview with Unrest Fatalist

What´s the name of your band? Unrest Fatalist
Our band is named Unrest Fatalist, for no particular reason, that just sounded well, but that's not the only name that we had, we also got called "Deilta" (with a i) and "The Scarecrow".
How was the band formed? I was in class with Valross and I got the idea of making a band, that's it
Can you tell about your band? Well at first we were doing really shitty music, Valross and I started playing music with that band, we played shits like Grunge or Progressive Rock
Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? Valross and I are the main members in the band, he leads and I help him when he needs me and when we need the others, they're always there. When we met Grog, we were only 3 in the band and he didn't know how to sing. Then we hired Björn to replace Haukka 2 or 3 days before the recording of Roots of Fate, he worked all day long to create the whole drum. And finally we met Svartoth at a concert and we decided to put him in the band to do the Rythmic Guitar
What was the ambitions of the band when you started? Fucking groupies
Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? Melodic, Brutal and melancholic
Where was your first gig? Our first date was the 22th June 2013 at Jardin du Malpassé in Frejus. We played with Maiden of Mars and Amoniac.
Where was the latest gig? Our latest date was the 21th June 2014 at CREP des Lices in Toulon with many other bands that have nothingto deal with Metal
Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? The main composer is Valross, he gets the first riffs and we add our parts on it and Grog writes the whole lyrics
Who has the best since of humor in the band? We all do jokes like showing our asses or running nude in the street permanently, I think it's easier to say that Grog has the worst
What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are? The best part is that we're all friends at the begining, we donot recruitpeople with whom we would not fit with. Every guy in the band is my friend and we often go out with. Personnally I feel like the band has many genres because some musics are more Death, some are more Folk, and always with that "viking" story in the lyrics, I'd say that we play Death Metal
Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? We play that style because we like it and we enjoy playing it. The songs on Roots of Fate narate the story of a viking family and its evolution, the others albums will still talk about them.
Do you write your own material or mainly covers? We wrote every songs on the album but "When Beers Replace the Iron" comes from a medieval song "La Bransle de l'Ours"
Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? Yes, we recorded a Demo (Origination of the Earth, 2013) and an album (Roots of Fate, 2013 and out in 2014)
Do you have any clips on YouTube? Not yet, but we will probably make one for the next album
How old are you?/What got you started in music? I'm 17 years old, Valross 18, Grog 20, Svartoth 18 and Bjorn 16. As I saif, I started playing music with the band.
At what age did you start playing? Probably around 13-14.
How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? Me and Valross were 16, Haukka was 14 and Grog 18
What year was the band started? 2010
Best/worst gig you've played? The biggest we did was in Le Korrigan, Luynes with Otargos and the worst was at Le Local in Marseille because there were no staff and almost no audience
What places will you be playing in the imidate future? We're going on tour in Japan with Entombed in September and we'll play in Le Korrigan in October
Where have you played from then till now? Always in the South-East of France
Which band is the best you´ve seen? I'd say Finntroll but I loved as much Amon Amarth and Darkenhöld
Is it always the same songs live? Not always, depends on the time we have and the other bands, for exemple when we were with Otargos, we dropped the Folk songs to focus on the most violent.
What has been the best/most promising gig so far? The one with Otargos
Have you had any bigger tours from start to now? Japan in september. Not before
How big crowds do you usually play for? Around 150-200 people
What are the plans for the rest of the year? Recording and mastering a new album and doing the most concerts possible
Where do you usually play? In Toulon, our city, especially in Troop MC
How do you get psyched up for a gig? I'm calm before and I explode when I go on stage
What are your goals with your music? To me it's playing the most concert possible
When did you decide to go all in for the music? When someone told me
Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? I don't know, I get my inspiration in Valross's work
What are your sources of inspiration? Viking myths and my favourites bands
What's the first step when making a new song? Finding a cool riff
How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? I'm for because at least they listen to the music and if they like it, they can buy the CD and go to the concert
What would be your dreams for the band? Being able to live from the music
Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? 
I fucking love Black and Thrash, my favourites bands are Tsjuder, Emperor, Immortal, the old Mayhem and the old Satyricon for the Black, Annihilator, Lost Society, Sodom and Overkill for the Thrash.
What do you hold most dear? More tours !
What would be your greatest fears for the future? Leaving the band
When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? Nothing, I work hardand there are never huge problems
Have you been part of any other projects? Nothing serious
Have you been in any other bands? No
What do you work with outside of the band and the music? Nothing, I'm still at school
What would you do if there was no music? I would work at school, just kidding
How important are your fans? They are very important, without them we wouldn't have signed with NoiseHead Records and we would never go in tour
What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? Sending me back the cheese I sent him in the face in concert
How often do you rehearse? 2 times a week
Where do you rehearse? Sometimes in Björn's house, sometimes in Valross's
Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? Loki's Controll and When Beers Replace the Iron
What do you feel is the best live band you've seen? I think Wintersun are doing really cool stuff and I can't wait more for the second part of Time !
What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? Love of the stage and being proud of your work
Do you have any webpages? https://www.facebook.com/UnrestFatalist
How do you view the musicindurty of today? I don't know how it was before but today we have people making shitty music for money that hide better musicians, even in Metal, for exemple, I prefer 10x listening at Darkenhöld than "metal"core
What advice would you like to give other bands? If it works, go for it
What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Conflits between members
What is best/worst with playing the clubs? I love playing in clubs because the guys are always sympatic and sometimes they're more pro than some other scenes
Tell us about upcomming gigs and why we should be at them? I think that the next gigs will be more interessant than the first because the upcomming album will be even better than the first and the musics worth a visit !
What is your favorite crappy instrument? That's not a crappy instrument but I love the sound of the banjo, thisis because of Myr of Taake !
What was one of the most quarrelsome times for you in the band? When I tried to recruite a new singer, just before the real start of Unrest Fatalist
Whats your Pre-show ritual? I have nothing, I'm too concentrated on the show, I just want to go on that scene !
Describe your show, visually and musically It has nothing special, we go on stage, we headbang and we play the songs in the agreed order

Kommentera här: