interview with Fate Hope Glory

What’s the name of your band? Hey, I'm Marc, drummer, and we are Fate Hope Glory!

How was the band formed? I formed the band 3 years ago with my best friend Jonathan on the guitar, we had play together in many bands before and we knew what we wanted to do. My cousin Andy joined the band as the singer and her brother, Marc-Antoine, as the rhythm guitar and Dany on the bass. We had many different members in the beginning, but now we have our lineup set.

Can you tell about your band? We are from Montréal, Canada and we play punk rock.

Who does what in the band? Andréanne Barabé, lead singer Jonathan Le Landais, guitar and back vocals Marc-Antoine Barabé, guitar and back vocals Marc-André Barabé, drums Jidé Brisebois (New member here) on bass.

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? As far as I can remember, we wanted to play everywhere, meet new bands, new friends, new fans, for sure have a lot of fun together. 2 years now, still the same thing!

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? Good question, in my opinion, it’s a mix of bands like Rise Against, Paramore, Thrice, Billy Talent, punk rock, simply punk rock!

Where was your first gig? Joliette, 1 hour from Montréal, a lot of fun and good memories from our first show.

Where was the latest gig? Hometown, Montréal at Petit Campus for l’Omnium du Rock (Contest).

Who writes the music, who writes the lyrics? Andy’s mostly in charge of the lyrics, that’s her department! John and I have wrote the music together since the beginning. We are currently working on new stuff, now everybody’s in the process of writing the music.

Who has the best sense of humor in the band? We all have a good humor in the band, everyone’s got their jokes, but the new guy (Jidé) is really funny! (My opinion!!)

What are your songs about? Things in life, love and breakups, ups and downs, family, things we care about, things we fight about.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? All original stuff, no covers.

Have you made any albums? We don’t have an album recorded yet, we do have a 3 songs debut EP which is available on fatehopeglory.bandcamp.com.

Do you have any clips on YouTube? For the moments, only live videos. But we’re working to make a video, maybe next year? We never know.

What got you started in music? My father, he has played guitar for all his life, I started on the drums 15 years ago and joined my father’s band with my 2 uncles. One of my uncles is Andy and Marc-Antoine’s father, which is also musician. Family is all you need in life.

At what age did you start playing? Around 11 or 12 years old.

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? I’ve been in a couple of bands before Fate Hope Glory. My first real band was Silver Teeth, we played a couple of shows in high school with Jonathan on the guitar, we were around 14 or 15 years old.

Best/worst gig you've played? My best gig with FHG was at the Club Soda in Montréal. We had a very nice crowd, the place was packed. Lots of fun there! And the worst gig… never got one with this band yet!

Where have you played from then till now? Montréal, Sherbrooke, Trois-Rivières, Québec, Toronto, Ottawa, Farnham, Cornwall… Never been out of Canada. Only provinces of Québec and Ontario.

Which band is the best you’ve seen? Rise Against is in my top 4, not tight enough for me, but it’s my favorite band of all time.

Have you had any bigger tours from start to now? Not yet but we’re working on it.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? We want to focus on the shows coming up like second round of l’Omnium du Rock, and the songs with our new bass player.

Where do you usually play? Anywhere in Québec and Ontario

How do you get psyched up for a gig? I usually listen to punk rock and a couple of hardcore songs before the gig start and when the show is about to start, I set my stuff, my usual routine.

What are your goals with your music? Have the entire world to listen to it. I would be proud of me.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? I get my inspiration from bands of all time, from the 50’s to the 2000’s. All the music is good, and every artist deserve to be listened.

What are your sources of inspiration? Life, work, family, love.

What's the first step when making a new song? Writing a good intro, it’s hard for me. That is something that piss me off! No, I’m kidding. Give me a good chorus and I can give you a good song.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? We have to live with it, we can’t do anything about it. It’s hard when you’re in the industry, or trying to be in, all I can say is, support the local scene. Buy cds and t-shirts next time you’ll go see a local show. It means a lot to us.

What would be your dreams for the band? Be on a good label, tour around Canada, USA, Japan, Europe, anywhere, and come home and not be broke!

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? The Beatles, Rise Against, Paramore, Bad Captain (Montreal friends), Simple Plan, A Day To Remember, Billy Talent, Thrice.

What would be your greatest fears for the future? That the band broke up, FHG is my life, my passion, our work, our music, MY family!

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? Have a blank on stage while playing a song and fuck up everything, I would be so embarrassed.

Have you been part of any other projects? Not for now, I only play in Fate Hope Glory.

Have you been in any other bands? With Jonathan, we played in Silver Teeth and No Mistakes. I’ve been in other bands but never done shows with or much more to talk about.

What would you do if there was no music? Maybe nothing, have you ever watched a movie without music in?

How important are your fans? Important as my family, I love them!

How often do you rehearse? Around 2-3 times per week

Where do you rehearse? Montréal at Cité 2000

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? Never Wake Up Again is my favorite one and Strike.

What do you feel is the best live band you've seen? I’m going to say a local band this time, Bad Captain is a really really good band. They kill it every time!  

Do you have any webpages? We do!

www.fatehopeglory.com www.facebook.com/fatehopeglory www.fatehopeglory.bandcamp.com www.twitter.com/fatehopeglory www.instagram.com/fatehopeglory www.youtube.com/fatehopeglory www.reverbnation.com/fatehopeglory

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Never give up! Never!

How do you view the music industry of today? Hard, we have to keep working and pushing as much as we can.

What advice would you like to give other bands? When you play with other bands, stay for their set time, respect the local scene, buy other band’s merch!

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Combine work, school and music.

Tell us about upcoming gigs and why we should be at them? We’re playing at le Petit Campus, December 4th for l’Omnium du Rock, it’s a contest, second round, come see us, we’ll have a lot of fun, I guarantee.

How would you describe your sound in one sentence? Pop Punk like it was your last day on earth

What is your favorite crappy instrument? Cowbell… !

What was one of the most quarrelsome times for you in the band? When Dany left the band. He was our bassist for almost 2 years.

What’s your Pre-show ritual? We don’t have any in particular.

Do you have anythingtoadd?I will never say this too often, support the local scene!

Kommentera här: