interview with Mara

What´s the name of your band? Mara

How was the band formed? Mara did take its form in the middle of harsh winter 2010.

Can you tell about your band? Mara is a solo project and a personal revolt against society and humanity by others. It is currently based in the forest of Småland Sweden.

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? I didn't really have any ambitions. I was just so fed up with trying to find like minded musicians. I started as a vocalist and wanted to create extreme metal in its old ways and I did find out that it is really hard to find seriously like minded musicians so with alot of failures finding band members did I decide to learn to play instruments by myself. And some years later on a cold winter night did i record a song that become Huldras spell. The truth is that Mara never meant to go further because i did not see any future of doing a solo project, but here i am today.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? Mara is influenced by early black metal from the 80-90's.

Where was your first gig? I haven't played live yet but perhaps I will in the future.

What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are? The bad thing is that everything is expensive when you do everything on your own. Another thing would be that it is a long way to master a instrument and that is something the listener can hear on my demos. But perhaps in this particular music genre it is a good thing.

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? It was something spiritually and specific in the atmosphere and cold rawness that I feel a connection with. My songs is about the old Norse religion and the forest with its ancient spirits. Death usually have a focus in the songs. Although I don't always sing it straight out but it is still there you only need to look deeper into the lyrics.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? I only write my own material.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they?

Demo: Dark powers-2010

Ep: The reawakening-2012

http://mara-sweden.bandcamp.com/

Do you have any clips on YouTube? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jgV30VjGRIE

How old are you?/What got you started in music? In flesh I am 27 winters old but in spirituality I am as far back as the first black runes whose created.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? I  have just recorded my debut album Seiðr and now is the mix and mastering done. It will be released in christian calendar the year 2015.

What are your goals with your music? My goals is to create something that I like. That is the whole true sense of music it is to create something for yourself. I only do this because i like it. In the moment it is to get out my album to the public and then we will see what happens.

When did you decide to go all in for the music? On Seiðr.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? Yes i find much inspiration from older bands but i would lie if i did not mention that there are some new bands that inspires me.

What are your sources of inspiration? Nature and the unknown.

What's the first step when making a new song? Create a riff.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? I'm ok with it as long as you supports the band or the artist.

What would be your dreams for the band? To make a difference for someone who is listening to my music.

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? Black, viking, doom, gothic, ambient, rock, punk, surf rock, classic music. One of my favorite guitarists in all time is Dick Dale.

Have you been part of any other projects? Yes, I guest sing on one and another album. And I have started with a musician in Stockholm to create another project more Viking influenced.

Have you been in any other bands? No known or public.

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? Ordinary working class job to survive.

What would you do if there was no music? Be in Ginnungagap.

How important are your fans? Very important.

How often do you rehearse? Every other day

Where do you rehearse? In the middle of the forest.

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? From the upcoming record Seiðr: Fire and Seiðr.

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? I make music to fill my own soul.

Do you have any webpages?

http://mara-sweden.bandcamp.com/

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mara/410642865666444

http://www.mara-sweden.blogspot.se/

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Go your own way!

How do you view the musicindurty of today? In my opinion downwards. Luckily, there are a lot of enthusiasts in the oundergorund movement that keeps the flame alive.

What advice would you like to give other bands? Try, fail and try again and again.

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Money and to be signed.

How would you describe your sound in one sentence Cold!

What is your favorite crappy instrument? My old Cort bass guitar.

Do you have anything to add? Hail the old one and thanks for this intervju. Stay tuned for upcoming info on Seiðr.

Kommentarer:

1 Sofia:

SV: Tack så mycket :D

2 Sofie♥:

Så himla najs! :D

Kommentera här: