Interview with Tim Scott of Methane

What´s the name of your band? Methane
How was the band formed?  Methane formed in 2012. My brother Dylan moved from the U.S. here to Sweden. We had for along time jammed together and talked about starting a band together when I would return home too New Jersey from touring ect.
When he moved here I was already playing in some bands in Sweden (Margrave,Volturyon). But we had a perfect opportunity to start something. I found out through friends that this total shredder of a guitarist ,Jimi Mästerbo, had taken a break from playing in a band. I had known Jimi for awhile so I called to try to coax him into picking up his guitar again.
I guess you could say it was perfect timing. Jimi knew Manzone who played drums with a bunch of local bands and asked him to sit in on the drums while wrote , he just fit in and liked the project so much he hasn't left yet.
Where are all bandmembers from?/Who does what in the band? We are 4 members 2 Americans living in Sweden (myself and Dylan) and 2 Swedes ( Jimi , Andreas)
Tim Scott - Bass and Vocals
Jimi Masterbo - Lead Guitar
Dylan Campbell - Guitar
Andreas 'Manzone' Strom - Drums
What was the ambitions of the band when you started? We started with the intent , like any other band, to play music that we like. At first we through band names around like , Pantera , BLS, and alot of thrash, as influences.
Jimi and I both have thrashmetal backgrounds but have played mostly deathmetal, our idea was to step away from that and play metal with a heavy groove to it.
Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? We play metal. We call it Southern Metal others have called it thrashmetal even others for groovemetal. I personally think it's overkill with all the genres and sub-genres in metal today. Call us what ever the fuck you like.
Where was your first gig? A: A Wedding at a biker club for a friend of ours. We even wrote one of our songs "72" just for the wedding .
Where was the latest gig?
We have just come off of a U.S. mini tour, our last show was in Brooklyn NY at th Rage of Armageddon Fest 2 a thrashmetal festival. We played with great bands and some of my personal idols like Whiplash and Blood Feast.
Now we are back in Sweden and have a few Scandinavian shows left this year.
Nov. 1 The Crypt in Lindköping SWE
Dec. 5 TBA Trondheim NOR
Dec. 6 TBA Festival SWE
Dec. 19 Brother Tuck Stockholm SWE
Dec. 20 Dented Chrome Borlänge SWE
We are working on a European and another Swedish tour for the winter 2015
Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? Our writing process has been different for every song. We come to writing sessions with riffs and ideas then start riveting them together. I write the lyrics and get help time to time from the other guys with wording. Then the original song usually gets a facelift to fit the lyrics.
But the most important and best part of being a part of Methane's song writing is there are no egos. We have ideas that we all can have and do have an opinion on, lets change this note or use that picking. It a fuckin blast!
Who has the best sense of humor in the band? We are a bunch of idiots so thats hard to say. Probably whoever is less hung over that day wins.
Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? I already touched on the genre question, we do blend in some cowboy swager in our songs. Lyricly I write about the demons that have haunted my soul over the years.
Do you write your own material or mainly covers? We are an original band only. We can pull out a cover at rehearsal just to fuck around have fun however.
Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? We have released an 3 song EP single entitled 'Southern Metal'. It's available on Amazon , iTunes, Spotify and alike.
What got you started in music? I was like 12 or 13 when I started playing bass. I wanted to be Nikki Sixx and bang crazy chicks on Jack Daniel's influenced binges. You gotta have dream in life !
How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? My first live gig I was around 15 years old and I was scared shitless.
What year was the band started? Methane started in the fall of 2012.
Where have you played from then till now? We have basicly been paying our dues on home turf here in Sweden our first year but things are really picking up quickly. We just got home from a week in the States, we'll getting to Norway before the end of the year and like I said there are lot more things being planed.
Which band is the best you´ve seen? I have seen alot of bands early Biohazard or early Machine Head were great energy filled bands that made you want to bang your head and jump off the stage. I love bands thay can call forth that extra adrenaline rush.
Is it always the same songs live? Right now the 3 songs from the Southern Metal EP are always included. Scars and Bars, Pray for Death and Hang Me High. The rest depends on how long of set we are playing at a particular gig.
What has been the best/most promising gig so far? Our shows are just getting bigger and our gig offers better and better. RoA festival was huge for us in New York
How big crowds do you usually play for? We've played festivals and headlined  some of the American shows. That really varies.
How do you get psyched up for a gig? Our backstage rituals are secret, but I promise you we are always pumped before we go on. We live for playing live!
What are your goals with your music? This project started out as fun. Of course it us a great honor when other people like your music. As far as other bands I have been in this project has really gotten alot of attention fast. We're in on the saddle and straped in for however far this ride is going to take us.
When did you decide to go all in for the music? Music is an addiction. I always have had that need to play, when I have taken time away I just don't feel good. I have had alot of luck getting to record and play with Revenant and then moving on to HatePlow with Rob from Cannibal Corpse . Even here in Sweden recording on the latest Volturyon EP and the Margrave release.
Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? I draw my inspiration from my inner hate, that anxiety that fuels me to show all those motherfuckers that they are wrong, I overcome alot of bullshit in life and express it through hard driven agressive music.
How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? Mmm .. I admit it I've pirated music . It's aweful for the music industry and destroying artists and record companies capababilities to produce great products.
What would be your dreams for the band? In this industry there are no room for dreams. It's an evil 2 faced addiction and like all dreams in life they will be crushed. Hard work and keeping your smarts is what will make good music succeed.
Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? Anything that is good!
What do you hold most dear? My cock and I hold it often.
What would be your greatest fears for the future? Living to see it.
When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? I learned along time ago to get over stage fright, mistakes happen all the time a good well oiled machine covers them up. That's why bands practice so hard.
Have you been part of any other projects? My first successful band was a band called Revenant from New Jersey we were signed to Nuclear Blast in the early '90s . Revenant toured extensively back then in the states and Europe.
After Revenant split I moved to South Florida and joined up with Rob Barret from Cannibal Corpse in a side project he had called HatePlow and put out an album called Everybody Dies.
Here in Sweden I have recorded an EP with Bifrost records Margrave and recorded on Volturyons latest Human Demolition. All playing bass Methane is my first lead singing adventure.
Have you been in any other bands? Besides the bands I just named I also played in a thrashmetal band called Parasyte from NJ. The members and I have recently talked about re-recording and releaseing that old school material.
What do you work with outside of the band and the music? I am a social worker.
What would you do if there was no music? An unthinkable tragedy. But I guess I wouldn't be a musician.
How important are your fans? Music fan are the base of it all. I meet people who like the music I have made over the years, I don't call them fans but I like makeing new friends.
What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? No comment.
How often do you rehearse? We rehearse atleast 3 times a week. I have been in bands that rehearse only once a week and I question thier dedication to the craft.

Where do you rehearse? We have our own rehearsal studio at one of the band members homes.
Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? I'll spit on your grave and 72. New unreleased songs that we have recorded. They fucking crush.
What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? It's a passion an addiction, a hypodermic full of adrenaline.
Do you have any webpages?
Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/methaneband
Twitter
@methaneband
Reverbnation
http://www.reverbnation.com/methanemetal
Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Don't think because you have a facebook people will come to your shows or notice you. Don't be dick. Go to shows, give out flyers , make friends IRL with people and other bands. There is no room for ego and you meet the same people on the way up that you do on the way down.
Describe your show, visually and musically Headbanging, beardbanging, beer drinking chaos.
How do you view the musicindustry of today? The industry is just changing with the times. It's always been a dirty sea full of venomous sharks.
What is best/worst with playing the clubs? There are no bad clubs just bad promoters.
How would you describe your sound in one sentence? Heavy Fuckin' Southern Metal.
What is your favorite crappy instrument? More cowbell!

Kommentera här: