interview with Weaklings

What´s the name of your band? Weaklings

How was the band formed? Mike and I have been playing music together since we were very young, and eric jumped on board about a year ago.

Can you tell about your band? We like to party!

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? We are based out of Lowell Massachusetts, I (Nick) play guitar and lead vocals, Mike plays bass and does backing vocals, and Eric plays drums.

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? Just to create music to record and play live for people to enjoy. 

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? Catchy Punk Rock

Where was your first gig? We played Crossroads in Garwood NJ, with Johnny B. Morbid, and a bunch of other really cool bands.

Where was the latest gig? Ralphs Diner in Worcester MA with The Devils Twins and Damnation. It was a great show.

Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? I write it all, then collaborate with Mike and Eric and bounce ideas off of them and take feedback. It works out well.

Who has the best since of humor in the band? I would say we all have a pretty good sense of humor.

What genre do you feel you are? We like to leave it pretty open and just call it Punk Rock but for those who like to get technical, people have called us, Pop Punk, Alternative Punk, Melodic Punk.

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? We chose this style of music because its what we listen to and what we enjoy playing. I write songs about life experiences for the most part, things I have been through personaly. I also will write a song here and there if I have seen a movie or read a book I really like and felt inspired by.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? We released out demo "Deadweight" about 8 months ago and we will be stepping into the studio next month to record our first EP "Decorations".

Do you have any clips on YouTube? I think theres a actually a full set of ours somehwere on there.

How old are you?/What got you started in music? We are all in our early 20's. For me its safe to say AFI and the Misfits opened up my eyes on music. 

At what age did you start playing? I was 12 when I got my first bass and started learning whatever I could find tabs for. Mike and Eric were also young but im not posivite on age.

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? Mike and I were....I want to say 14 or 15 when we played our first show. It was awful.

What year was the band started? Weaklings offically started in December 2013

Best/worst gig you've played? All of our shows are usually really good. The only ones with bad turn outs are the last minute shows that get no promotion.

What places will you be playing in in the imidate future? We have a show coming up about 2 weeks away, at The Worthen House In Lowell Ma, with Casanovas In Heat, Yo Tichoderoga, and Pet Sounds.

Witch band is the best you´ve seen? The Cryptkeeper Five from Trenton NJ. Those guys probably have the tightest live sound ive ever heard. Check them out if you get a chance.

Have you had any bigger tours from start to now? We havent had the chance to hit the road yet, We are hoping for an east coast tour by next summer.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? Record our EP, and play more shows!

Where do you usually play? New England

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? I would say Both.

What are your sources of inspiration? Everyday life

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? Well I know when I like a band enough I usually like to buy the phyical copy. I dont really give a shit about downloading music, if you dont have the money, do it. 

What would be your dreams for the band? World Tours

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? Street Punk, Horror Punk, 80s Hardcore/punk, Metal

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? That there might be a dry panty in the room.

How often do you rehearse? 3 - 4 times a week

Where do you rehearse? We practice at a comic shop.

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? Decorations and Eludes Me

Do you have any webpages?

www.facebook.com/69weaklings69 

www.soundcloud.com/weaklings 

www.reverbnation.com/weaklings69 

Describe your show, visually and musically. Visually - Sex heaven.  Musically - Sex Heaven.

How do you view the musicindurty of today? I dont, I dont have cable and I dont listen to the radio.

What advice would you like to give other bands? Listen to Weaklings....often.

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Money and girls that are in relationships.

Whats your Pre-show ritual? Beer

Kommentera här: