interview with A Fallen Mind

What´s the name of your band? A Fallen Mind (Bryce Kain will be yodeling on behalf of the band)
How was the band formed? A Fallen Mind started around 2008 by thirteen satanic circus midgets who had a thirst for Buddhist anal beads. What are Buddhist anal beads, you ask? The world may never know. However, if you think that A Fallen Mind was started by some white cracker from Orange County, California, writing and recording music in his basement for shits n giggles, I'd probably call you psychic. Kind of a boring story, but it could be worse. I could be Justin Beiber.
Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band?
Bryce Kain - Vulture screams, pretending to write songs, sequencer programming, propaganda (location: Hemet, Ca)
Jessica Kain - Pushing buttons, showing tits, picking up dropped soap (location: Hemet, Ca)
Heather Henderson - Erotic blasphemy, dancing, distributor of awesomesauce, also singer for Penn Jillette's band (location: Hollywood, Ca)
Grayson Dey - Guitar destruction, singing better than Bryce, dream level 7, dark gray music (location: Atlanta, Ga)
What was the ambitions of the band when you started? To play music, ride donkeys, and punch the elderly in the face with kindness.
Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? Take Rob Zombie, Marilyn Manson, Nine Inch Nails, Danzig, Static X, and Rammstein. Smash that all together and bake on high for 23 years.
Who has the best since of humor in the band? We're all a little fuckin' nuts in our own way. Probably the most twisted sense of humor is Jessica. She is morbid, tells the most fucked up jokes, and has a terrific ass. That last part has nothing to do with humor, but it's why I married her, so I have to slip it in somehow.
What's good/bad with the band? Last Thursday the band held an intervention for Grayson. See, he's been hooked on "the stuff" for a while now and we just got sick and tired of it. So we sat him down, looked him dead in the eye, and said "STOP EATING ALL THE FUCKING BACON!" He's making a speedy recovery.
What genre do you feel you are? Honestly, I have no clue. Beyond saying that we're rock or heavy metal, I couldn't tell you what we are like. Pantera with tits? I don't know. To me A Fallen Mind is music. Is aggression. Is sorrow. Is anger. Is love. All rolled up into a nice little satanic hot pocket.
Why did you pick that particular style? Picking which music you like is like picking which gender you'd like to marry. It's not a choice. It's in your DNA. There was no choosing metal. Metal has always been in my blood and always will be. 
What are your songs about? I have written about everything from gothic strippers to gay rights. Partying to running people over with a car. Sometimes what comes out is serious or it could come out seriously deranged. Examples of serious would be like Second Class, The Animal Song, Illuminate, Leather Heart, etc. Deranged would be God is an Atheist, Burn, Motherfucker, or the intro tracks to our first 2 albums. Hell, on the album that we're working on right now (Oddities and Obscenities) we have a song called Piranhas and Other Poor Choices for Oral Sex
Do you write your own material or mainly covers? Both. In fact, when we put out our next album we will be also putting out a free track: a cover of the 80's rap song The Fuck Shop by 2 Live Crew. Only we made it metal as fuck. That track will be available for download on our band website only.
Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they?
First album: Pain Addiction
Second Album: The Human Error
Single: A Hell of a Christmas (feat. Ministry)
Single: Wheels on the Bus (heavy metal version)
Our third album, Oddities and Obscenities, will be out in December and available for pre-order on iTunes as early as Halloween.
Do you have any clips on YouTube?
Shit tons. Our channel is at https://www.youtube.com/user/afallenmind
A playlist of our full music videos can be found here.
Witch band is the best you´ve seen? I can't speak for the rest of the band on this one, but my personal favorite live shows have been 5 Finger Death Punch, Metallica, Type O Negative, and Rob Zombie in that order.
What are the plans for the rest of the year? Well right now it's September, so we're finishing up on Oddities. As I said before, that will be available for pre-order on iTunes starting on Halloween day. Worldwide availability hits stores in December. Then we go through all the advertising, promoting, and some live shows. If we have any time left over, we'll spend it feeding our Grand Theft Auto Online habit. If anyone wants to join me in GTAO, my psn is afallenmind23.
How do you get psyched up for a gig? We each have our own way of getting ready. For example, Grayson likes to bang his nuts against an oak tree for good luck. The oak never survives. Poor bastard. Myself, I like to huddle in the corner of the room and try to look kool while secretly wishing I could run away screaming. Jessica likes needle point and anal sex. Heather, well... no one knows what she does. It's a mystery. She disappears for hours and returns covered in nun attire. I think she might be an atheist. 
What are your goals with your music? That's classified, but I promise you they're all purely selfish. 
What are your sources of inspiration? Usually life. Music. Sex. Anger. Gay fish.
What's the first step when making a new song? Usually for me it starts with something stuck in my head for days. Could be a lyric, could be a riff, could be a good thumping bass rhythm, could be a number 2 pencil. Then I sit down at my sequencer, work out the song -- immediately or eventually -- and turn around and sell it for millions of rupiahs. I hear we're big in Guinea. 
How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? It's the wave of the future, whether you like it or not. This is how the music industry is going to go. Or at least this is the path it will be taking for a while until it morphs into the new thing. Gotta either evolve or die.
Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? I listen to mostly metal bands like Disturbed, System of a Down, Nine Inch Nails, 5FDP, Misfits, Danzig, stuff like that. But as I've gotten older I've found myself listening to other stuff that I never would have liked as a kid. For instance, I probably wouldn't have liked Macklemore or PSY, but they are both on my usual music playlist now. I also like Amazing Horse by Mr Weebl and Big Booty Bitches by A Lost People.
What do you hold most dear?My wife, my kids, my dogs, my cats, and Ricky Gervais.
What would be your greatest fears for the future? Someone like George W. Bush or Sarah Palin becoming president of the United States.
When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? Having to take a shit. Rejection sucks, too.
Have you been part of any other projects? I've contributed vocals for a song by the Australian rap group Viscous Minds. I've also written and recorded a few songs for the Australian production company T3N31 and Caid Rhymes. And I've provided music for the United Satanic Apache Front. Beyond that, most of my stuff has been for my bands, but I love collaborating with other artists on their own projects. 
Have you been in any other bands? A few. I was the lead singer for an underground goth rock band called INRI based out of West Virginia. That band has broken up I think. Also was in a band I started when I was 15 or 16 called Acid Reign. I've also done a few other band projects, but they never got off the ground. 
What do you work with outside of the band and the music? When I'm not doing shit for AFM, I write for my blog The Mark of Kain, which consists of mostly opinions, rants, and various other stupid bullshit roaming around in my head. I also create grungy graphic artwork for shits n giggles in a project I call Angels After Dark. In fact, almost all of the graphics done for Oddities was done by me. If people order the Oddities album from Amazon, they will get the full CD layout which features some of my AAD work like Concubine, Theater of Propaganda, and The Auschwitz Experiment (NSFW images)
What would you do if there was no music? I don't know if I know how to answer that. Music is noise that is bent and controlled to cultivate a certain emotion. Everything in the universe makes noise, even black holes. So unless the universe stops spitting out sentient beings, I believe there will always be music in one form or another. But I guess if I were to give it the old college try, I would say that I would probably end up doing movies and film work. I have a love/hate relationship with directing, which I've done for pretty much all our music videos. I hate the process, honestly, but I love the final results. And if that didn't work out, I'd probably be a Muppet pimp. 
How important are your fans? Fans are the most important thing to music and entertainment, aside from trying to satisfy one's own creative vision. Anyone who tells you that they don't care about their fans are either lying or really bad at their chosen field of business.
What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? I remember one of our fans took to Photoshop and pieced together a graphic picture collage in tribute to A Fallen Mind, myself, and Jessica. I think she made a scene with a roadside diner and billboards for hookers and anal sex and stuff like that. And our name was all over it. It was awesome. 
Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? I hate every single one of our songs, especially Leather Heart. It is, has been, and always will be the bane of my existence. I take that back. I really dig Tits and Gasoline and Scarlet Letter from Oddities.
What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? Fame makes people think they have a right to know your business. It's overrated. I care about making music, taking care of my family, and working hard. I keep playing because, well, I don't think I could ever quit music. It won't leave me alone. It's always in my head. I've been doing something musical since I could walk. So if I get famous for my music and hard work, kool. If not, kool. I'll still be doing what I do because it's something I can't seem to NOT do.
Do you have any webpages?
Our band's official site is at AFallenMind.com
Youtube - https://www.youtube.com/user/afallenmind
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/afallenmind
Google+ - google.com/+Afallenmind
Twitter - https://twitter.com/afallenmind
Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Don't fuck Courtney Love.
How do you view the musicindurty of today? It's an evolving shark tank. Right now the industry is changing so much, record execs don't know what the fuck to do with themselves or their artists. And to make things worse, the industry, yet again, looks like a revolving door of pop artists and rock stars. Churning out polished turds every month, with mega compression over all the artist's work, and then kicking them to the curb when their star fades. The positive note is that more artists can go independent now, like A Fallen Mind is doing. People can actually make a decent living doing what they love and they can do it on their own without the help of record companies and fame. I hope this trend continues for all artists.
What is your favorite crappy instrument? Butt plugs.
Do you have anything to add? If you're a cheap bastard like I am, you can listen to our shit for free on Spotify all day long. The more you listen, the more we get paid and you don't have to buy anything.
And I mentioned it before, but I would be a terrible musician and business man if I didn't whore myself out one last time. Our new album, Oddities and Obscenities, will be available for pre-order Halloween night on iTunes. Worldwide release of Oddities drops in December. Those who pre-order the album on iTunes will get at least one song from the album immediately to wet their appetites. 
Also visit our website at AFallenMind.comand sign up for our newsletter. It's a lot more reliable than Facefuck.

Kommentera här: