interview with Solstice

What´s the name of your band? Solstice

How was the band formed? 1990, by Richard Walker.

Can you tell about your band? Doom Metal. Politically incorrect. Opposed to the left wing fascism that’s in power now. 100% support Palestine.

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? They’re all English, I am Irish. They all do their thing and I do the vocals and the sexually suggestive shit with my expensive jeans and Jimmy Saville boxer shorts.

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? I wasn’t in the band when it started. Nobody was but for Richard W. His ambitions might well have been fall out with everyone but the four most emotionally ravaged guys in the Metal scene…and since myself and the others except for Richard qualify as virtual emotional rape victims, then he may just be within two or three arguments of realizing his ambitions…..

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you?

Doom  Metal, played by five men who are most probably not invited to the same weddings as you are.

Where was your first gig? Onstage…at the ritual fire raping of Margaret Thatcher’s effigy in one of the gorgeous Huddersfield pits by Arthur Scargill during the miners strike. Good show it certainly was.

Where was the latest gig? Denmark. Metal Magic festival.

Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? Only those who are Fenriz approved..without question.

Who has the best since of humor in the band? Has to be me…I agreed to join this mongo train and I still think it’s funny…..

What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are?

Good = Talking to women with enormous natural breasts

Bad = When these girls insist on condoms….

Genre = Doom Metal

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? We didn’t pick it, it picked us. Songs are about Palestine being raped and the world supporting the rapists.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? Our own. No one else has the fucking guts to say Jimmy Saville was framed.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? We have made albums. What are they? They’re CDs and vinyl….also tape in some cases…..

Do you have any clips on YouTube? Yeah…but you must be 18 to view them

At what age did you start playing?

Football at age 6 I think.

Heavy Metal at about 17.

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? Dunno about the other guys but I was 9 or 10 years old. I had a part in the school play, we did ‘Carry On Camping’

What year was the band started? 1990

Best/worst gig you've played?

Best might have been the Margaret Thatcher’s effigy Ritual fire raping for the striking miners on Arthur Scargill’s farm.

The Worst was….maybe the gay pride gig in 2003. None of us are gay and we felt completely fake.

What places will you be playing in in the imidate future? Germany, Greece etc

Where have you played from then till now? Nowhere cos you asked about upcoming gigs, they haven’t happened yet.

Witch band is the best you´ve seen? Day Of The Sword….only online though.

Is it always the same songs live? Only if you’re those fags Dark Throne

What has been the best/most promising gig so far? The Arthur Scargill gig for the striking miners

Have you had any bigger tours from start to now? We did seven dates with Gary Glitter before he got busted for liking them young….6000  -13000 people a night. Some were even over 21 years of age too. That was a surprise actually.

How big crowds do you usually play for? Depends how many people show up.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? To get Palestine back what is rightfully theirs….at the very least a good FIFA ranking…c’mon it’s about time.

Where do you usually play? That’s kinda personal isn’t it

How do you get psyched up for a gig? Interesting this. I have read other bands saying they scream at their own reflection in the mirror, or they wrestle one another. All quite interesting. I have a really interesting ritual – I think of a room full of children all screaming…I then walk in, hold my finger to my lips and tell them “Shhhh” and they stop crying. I then tell myself that if I can stop a room full of crack head babies from crying then I can certainly control a Doom Metal audience with one wave of my magic wand……I feel good then. And I always walk onstage backwards….you see, that confuses them. They think “Is he leaving or arriving…then *boom’, we always start with “STD Mother”.

What are your goals with your music? To meet more girls with massive natural breasts……

When did you decide to go all in for the music? I was in an Irish soap opera called Glenroe for about 3 years…when that finished I decided music was the way.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? Usually more modern….like the internet, dating sites etc

What are your sources of inspiration? Starving children, unhappy marriages, hot girls with limps etc

What's the first step when making a new song? Classified.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? It’s absolute racism.

What would be your dreams for the band? I would fucking love to be endorsed by NAMBLA

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? Anal Cunt, Bound For Glory etc

What do you hold most dear? Girls with massive natural breasts and self esteem issues

What would be your greatest fears for the future? Germany becoming a democratic country

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? This is true but very weird….a flying strap on covered in small pox

Have you been part of any other projects? As I said, I was a lead character in an Irish soap opera called Glenroe for 3 years .I was also lighting manager and production assistant on some of Jimmy Saville’s straight to DVD movies.

Have you been in any other bands? No.

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? I was treasurer for the Dublin branch of the PLO for 8 years and then for another 2 years after that I was CRO (Chief recruitment officer) for the Scientology movement Europe.

What would you do if there was no music? Go to bed. Turn off the stereo.

How important are your fans? Depends on what they’re willing to do for us or to us

What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? At Hells Pleasure a Belgian girl gave me a rim job. That was memorable.

How often do you rehearse? Twice a month

Where do you rehearse? In our room

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? Too shy.....

What do you feel is the best live band you've seen? ha..believe it or not…lost Prophets in Dublin,….years ago

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? People laughing at you ‘cos you can’t get laid…

Do you have any webpages? Sure

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there?

Never get directions from a blind man…..

Think about that for a minute…..

Describe your show, visually and musically Visually: Disappointing.Musically: Predictable

How do you view the musicindurty of today? Through the same baby blues as ten years ago

What advice would you like to give other bands? If you gotta suck some cock…at least do it well

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Crying when you gotta whore yourself out……fags…..

What is best/worst with playing the clubs? When bitches be screamin’ for their taste……that can be the best AND the worst….

Tell us about upcomming gigs and why we should be at them? Gigs in Germany, Greece etc. Why be there? Well….if you wanna taste, you  know what they say??

“If you’re not in, you can’t win”

How would you describe your sound in one sentence Vaguely I think…….three sentences would be more suitable for a good description

What was one of the most quarrelsome times for you in the band?

Our old guitarist’s girlfriend came to me on my birthday two years ago and told me he wanted to give me a blow job for my birthday…but, from her of course.

I thought that was very thoughtful…and accepted…a few times.

He then found out and fucking freaked out….so that was getting very quarrelsome…….

I convinced him in the end that she told me it was a gift from him

Whats your Pre-show ritual? Imagining the room full of screaming kids etc……I mentioned it already…..

Kommentera här: