interview with Crucifier

Have any of you played in other bands? Over the years I've played with many many bands. Some are very well known and some are more obscure and short lived. However, all those years playing have all had much impact on my career in music in one way or another. Some of the bands over the years that I've played with are: Pyramid, Acephalous Vector, Macabre Forces, Satanic Slaughter, Caution, Witchery (US), Ancient (US), Infernal Hatred, Aryan War, Decieverion, Grand Belial's Key, Hearse, Bludgeon, Brethren, Crucifier, Viaticum, amisegardauQ, and many others.

How is it that you started playing music? In 1983, I was approached by two mates from grade school saying they were starting a band, and they needed a drummer. I said I never played but thought that I might be okay and could learn very quickly. So, I borrowed a small Gretsch drum set from the parish priest of the Catholic school we went to. Ironic that in time I'd be playing very very blasphemous music! And the rest is history.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Crucifier, my main band is, me on drums/vocals, Rob Spisak on lead guitar, Dan Keaton on lead guitar and Chris Kerns on bass guitar.

Have you had other previous members? I've had a lot of member changes over the years. Probably somewhere along the lines of 20 over the course of 25 years.

Did you make music even when you were young? I only picked up drumming at the age of 13, that's where it all started with regard to playing music. I then a few years later picked a guitar in about 1985 and fooled around with that, then bass a few more years later. Vocals were picked up in 1989ish.

Where are you from? Born in Chester Pennsylvania USA, and raised in Chichester Pennsylvania from 1980 on. Philadelphia is the nearest big city.

What year did the band form? Crucifier was formed in 1990 from the ashes of the 1989 band Caution.

What's your style of genre? I believe that we could be classified as Satanic Black Death Metal.

What inspires you? I've been influenced and inspired by the masters of the metal past. Bands like Mercyful Fate, old Slayer, old Sodom and Venom for example. Also the works of LaVey were inspiring.

How often and where do you reherse? We rehearse close to my home in Eddystone, PA. We try to practice once a week, usually on Saturdays.

How have you developed since you started with the music? Well when you first start out you usually are weak and inexperienced. And steadily playing over the years without stopping you really get to tighten up your chops and expand your horizons.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band?I spend most of my time being a single father to my two young kids. Other than that I enjoy the internet and movies.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? I usually utilize friends etc for booking shows mostly. No need to find professional services in the Underground.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Currently we are signed for a two record deal with Die Todusrune Records. On our way to writing and recording our second album.

What made you decide to make this music? Music was very natural for me to pick up. I started early and didn't stop. I've become pretty good at it also.

What are your songs about? Our songs are fantasy works usually about the attacking of religion and holier dieties, etc. I think Satanic aspects really take over too.

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Over the years most of the writing was done by me and a couple of other past members. Up until about a couple months ago I wrote most of the music. I do write all of the lyrics and titles though.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Until a year ago, we made the music first. In 2010 there was a lapse in playing so I took the free time to write a bunch of lyrics for songs that I knew would be written in the future.

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? I usually write riffs at home, just in my living room in the quiet. Then I get together with the band mates and we collaborate or share riffs then in the studio. Sometimes if the song is written solely by me or one of the other guys they let us hear it, and we then give opinions and advice then.

Have you done any covers live? On occasion we do covers live, sometimes we just fool around with some in the rehearsal studio.

What language do you sing in? I only know English so that's what I use.

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? We've played to like 10 people to packed halls and bars. We play for ourselves and our fans, no matter if it's one guy or 12000 people.

What ages are most of your concert attendants? We usually play in bars so the age is 21.

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? We try to play every song we have live, just switching up the order from show to show.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? No, we play in different states in America, so it varies.

What was your first gig like? The first Crucifier show was remarkable. We were one of the first bands in the Philadelphia area to use dead animals onstage, with big crosses and candles and fog. It was a great time and a great age. 1990 was a great time!

What was your latest gig? Our last gig may have been played in Delaware this year.

Have you had to cancel a gig? We've had to cancel a couple. It's something you never want to do but personal lives come into play and you have to adjust your priorities.

Where have you played live this year? We've recently played Delaware, Buffalo New York, and Virgina. Nothing very recent as I can recall.

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? We are scheduled to play Philly, Tonawanda New York and Chicago.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? We usually sell out of our merch very quickly. Currently we have three new shirt designs for sale. But that's all.

Where can people buy your merchandise?They can contact the band directly at [email protected] or on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/cazz.grant or https://www.facebook.com/TheBlackLourde.

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I'm very pro internet downloading. As long as people enjoy my art, and give me credit, I'm perfectly cool with it!

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Yes the internet has changed the whole way music industry works and makes money. I think it is a more realistic approach to art!

What do you think of my work? I really have always appreciated the art of the zine editor! It is one of the most valuable parts of our scene. And always will be.

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business?I don't see what we do as business, but the spreading of beautiful art. I think it is beneficial but not really helpful perse.

Do you have any role models or idols? Not anymore. As a kid I may have, but nowadays I concentrate on my own endeavors.

Why do you think that they exist? Idols are necessary to motivate and give power to.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I only enjoy older bands. They were the initial contact and music that drove us to seek out our own bands.

What have been your biggest obstacles? Real life has the most obstacles. Finding the time with working and raising a family to play music too, is very difficult.

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Be original, be yourself and do not give up.

How do you get psyched for a gig? At my old age I just get up there and do it. I'm always psyched up!

Do you have any new material? We have 6 newer songs and are working on 4 more as we are trying to release that new album.

What are your web sites? Currently our only site is on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/TheTrueCrucifier?ref=hl.

How can people reach you? I'm very readily available thru Facebook. And you can contact me at [email protected].

What are your plans for the future? Do shows, write new songs, record a new album in 2016.

Do you have something to add? Thank you so much for the great interview. Best always to you!

Kommentarer:

1 Jonnié Jonsson:

Ja men visst blev han snygg :) hoppas att du får en bra dag :)

Kommentera här: