interview with Honor System

Have any of you played in other bands? I've played in a ton of different bands ranging from like pop-punk to hardcore to singer-song writer blues. Mostly stuff I'm not proud of haha
How is it that you started playing music? I saw this kid walking around at my high school with a guitar and I thought he looked really cool. I wanted to be him. haha Pretty lame. So my dad, being super supportive, bought me my first crappy guitar, I stuck with it, and it turned into a passion for me. 
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Robert Anthony / 27 / Programing / Guitar / Synth
Have you had other previous members? Nope!
Did you make music even when you were young? Started around 14. 
Where are you from? Originally, Charleston South Carolina but kinda grew up rather in Albuquerque New Mexico, Home of Walter White!
What year did the band form? I'd say about this time last year.
What's your style of genre? I think it has some cinematic elements to it. Some hiphop kinda influences
What inspires you? Life. A lot of film. Trent Reznor. 
How often and where do you reherse? When and wherever we can! haha Sometimes once or twice a week. Sometimes once a month. It's tuff sometimes with everyone working / trying to put food on the table haha
How have you developed since you started with the music? I dunno... I really pushed myself to learn ableton and stuff. I was really used to everything being analog and the way I've created this stuff is a very backwards way of thinking about music for me. I still have A TON left to learn. 
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Filmmaking is also a passion of mine but, I hope to combine the two. Have you seen Power Rangers? You know the Megazord? Kinda like that.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Man, that'd be cool. I don't know what the heck I'm doing! haha
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I dunno... I've heard a lot of horror stories.
What made you decide to make this music? I think just the urge to express myself. I was also challenged a lot by my wonderful girlfriend, Samantha Rios of Rat Rios. She's totally killing it and made me feel like a totally loser that wasn't doing anything haha 
What are your songs about? If there are lyrics, it's about something real that happened in my life but, most of them are just kinda "feelings" and more open to interpretation.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Roberto Antonio Martinez
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Music first. Definitely.
Do you compose in a certain environment? I was really inspired by James Blake when I found out he wrote "Overgrown" on a freaking airplane in two freaking hours. So I try and switch up my environment frequently to keep things fresh. I think familiarity can choke creativity sometimes so, I try to avoid that.
Have you done any covers live? Not as of yet.
What language do you sing in? English or Whale
What ages are most of your concert attendants? Really popular with 70+ for some reason. Just kidding! I'd say 20s
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? I try to switch it up as much as I can.
What was your first gig like? Coconuts!
Have you had to cancel a gig? Not yet! Hopefully never!
Where have you played live this year? Playing at Club Dada September 11th with Home By Hovercraft! 
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I think it's the future although it makes me sad to think that it hurts bands financially. 
What do you think of my work? I think it's pretty cool what you do! Your interviews seem like a really real look into the artists and I think it's super cool that you've created an avenue for that.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Any kind of exposure is always awesome so, I'm quite appreciative! 
Do you have any role models or idols? Michael Jordan for making me believe that I can fly.
Why do you think that they exist? Have you seen Space Jam?
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Man, that's a good one. If I pull inspiration from older stuff, it's REALLY old but I'd say there's an emphasis on newer stuff.
What have been your biggest obstacles? I think just learning software and technical stuff. It's kind of a different work. I have so much to learn still but I hope I'm always learning something new.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Don't drink and drive. haha but on the realz... create what YOU like! Not what you think someone else will like.
How do you get psyched for a gig? Like 600 pushups
Do you have any new material? Yessur! Just released a new track on the clouds of sound today! 
What are your web sites?
https://soundcloud.com/honorsystem
https://www.facebook.com/honorsystemmusic
https://honorsystemmusic.bandcamp.com
How can people reach you? [email protected] or messenger pigeon
What are your plans for the future? want to implement a singing saw into my set and I want to create a cinematic experience for my live set. Kinda like going to the movies and, I want to create a midi controller that launches a certain color gummy bear at the audience with certain notes but, it's still very much in the testing stages.
Do you have something to add? You rock! Thank you for doing this! Please fix my typos.

Kommentera här: