interview with Discordia

What´s the name of your band? Discordia
How was the band formed?
I had written and recorded some demos over the past couple of years and decided to share them with a keyboardist I played music with.
I had sent him over the demos and he sent them back to me with the orchestral ideas that I had explained to him.
It wasn't exactly what I had hoped for, but it presented the basic idea of what I was after. 
I've always has an affinity for female singers. There is a certain elegance that it brings to the band.  Female vocalists talk and sing an octave higher that men do so it gives them the ability to hit certain notes and melodies a little easier. Women also seem to have more longevity and consistency as the years go by with all the touring and hundreds of shows. I had a couple of different singers on my demo that I used to form the band.
I also went through a couple of different versions of this band before I felt I had the right players and chemistry I was looking for. 
It's very hard to find like minded musicians to play with music with in the SF Bay Area and Sacramento. The area is extremely over saturated with Death Metal (Which we all love) and that NU Metal sound that's been stuck here since the late nineties. It also doesn't help that the American public is being forced fed manufactured music. 
I think there is only 3 Symphonic Metal bands between San Francisco and Sacramento. We're a very small community. Even though there are a lot of female fronted Metal bands worldwide, it is still a small community. All female fronted metal bands through out the world all support each other and our fans are extremely loyal.
Can you tell me about your band?
We're a Dark, Melodic Symphonic, Metal Band. Sometimes we fall into the symphonic band genre, sometimes we don't. LOL!!
I grew up with bands like Black Sabbath and Mercyful Fate and I loved Opeth since the 90's so I tend to use a lot of those dark undertones in my music. It's just me and how I write. I don't try to be something I'm not. 
It's funny though because my favorite band is RUSH and they have no influence in my writing what so ever. LOL!
Cindy is a wonderful singer. She has a nice rich tone and depth to her voice. She adjusts her voice to fit each song beautifully. 
Russell is an amazing keyboardist, composer and a great singer. He really knows his stuff. I'm hoping to be having him sing some lead on the newer material.
Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band?
Cindy Cannon: Vocals
Oakland, CA, USA
Bobby Cannon: Guitar
Oakland, CA, USA
Russell Torres: Keyboards
Manteca, CA, USA
Melody Torres: Backgroud Vocals
Manteca, CA, USA
Jaime Brown: Bass
Sacramento, CA, USA
Donovan Rose: Drums
Sacramento, CA, USA
What were the ambitions of the band when you started? To created and share with the world our love for music.
Where was your first gig? It was a place called Neto's in Santa Clara CA, USA
Where was the latest gig? There hasn't been one in a bout a year because Cindy I took a couple of months off to got married and settled in. I also had to finish recording our EP. We plan on to start playing again by late Spring.
Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics?
I usually come up with the core of the song. I'll record it and then send it over to Russell where he will add his magic to it.
I usually write the lyrics and melodies. I have a ton of melodies that I hummed into my phone so I don't forget them. I then use them later when I start to record the pre production material. The next album will be great because Cindy and Russell have been writing and contributing. 
Who has the best since of humor in the band? That's usually Russell or Me. Russell with say something and I'll elaborate on it or vice versa. Cindy also makes jokes all the time at practice.
What are your songs about?
A lot of different things. 
Vladislas is about those campy vampire movies in the 90's call "Subspecies". The first 3 notes from the song are from the soundtrack. LOL!!
Anamnesis is about a journey from the dome city of Rondo to the dome city of Mosque. An anime I saw years ago.
Legacy is about someones unfortunate journey in a hard life that gets passed on from generation to generation.
Do you write your own material or mainly covers?
We write all our own material. We will have a bonus cover song of "Duran Duran's" "Out of my Mind" on the special edition EP that's being released in the Summer.
Sometimes when we play live we'll play a Nightwish, Epica or Kamelot song. Like I mentioned earlier. Then fan base is very loyal and they really look forward and appreciate it when we play a cover in our set.
Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? Our first EP will be released in March. We're still looking for distribution, but you'll be able to purchase the CD on our website or purchase the downloads from iTunes and other online stores.
Do you have any clips on YouTube?
We just have a music clip with the album cover of Vladislas.
We're planning on filming a video of that song.
At what age did you start playing?
I stated playing when I was 9 years old. 
Cindy been singing all her life and playing guitar at 11.
How old were you guys when you first stood on stage?
Cindy was 9 years and sang at a park. Her mother is a famous Salvadorian singer and her father is a guitar player.
She also was on this Spanish Talent TV show when she was little.
I was 12 years old when I did my first show. It was a talent show I did with some friends.
We played "Paranoid" from Black Sabbath and "He's a Woman She's a Man" from the Scorpions.
What year was the band started? 2013
What places will you be playing in in the intimidate future? My agent is booking some local dates.  We're trying to get distribution so we can go out on tour in the summer.
Which band is the best you have seen? RUSH!!
Is it always the same songs live?
No, we move them around. 
For example, We did some shows with The Agonist so we had to stick to the more upbeat tunes.
How big crowds do you usually play for? It depends on the venue. Sometimes 200 sometimes 2000
What are your goals with your music?
Keep releasing and recording the best music that we can.
Tour with the best friends that anyone could ask for. Connect and stay loyal with our fans.
When did you decide to go all in for the music? Since the day I started playing guitar.
Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? Both.
What are your sources of inspiration?
Me as a guitar player, my favorites are Michael Schenker, John Norum, Ritchie Blackmore and George Lynch.
I really like Jorn Viggo Lofstad from Pagan's Mind. I've been listening to him for over 10 years now. 
Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? I'm a huge fan of early 70's prog like Genesis and Rush. I also love the New Romantics Era.
Duran Duran is one of my favorite bands. I actually play in a really successful Duran Duran cover band.
What do you hold most dear? My wife. She is the best.
Have you been part of any other projects? A few other projects though out my life.
How important are your fans?
Very important. We appreciate each and everyone of them. We couldn't exist without them.
We try our best to communicate with them all.
All the members do their best to reply to all their questions.
How often do you rehearse? Once a week.
Where do you rehearse?
We have a private studio that our keyboard play built. 
He owns a construction business so it's really nice.
Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? Vladislas and Anamnesis
What do you feel is the best live band you've seen? RUSH, Nightwish, Opeth, Genesis.
Do you have any webpages?
http://www.discordiaofficial.com
http://www.facebook.com/discordiaofficial

Kommentera här: