interview with Tizzer

What´s the name of your band? Tizzer

How was the band formed? Started writing songs and recording them in college. Never stopped.

Can you tell about your band? I write instrumental metal, and record/produce everything myself.

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? It's only me and I do everything haha. I'm from the US, Massachusetts.

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? There were no ambitions really. I just had riffs and song ideas that I didn't want to forget. I became obsessed with getting what was in my head to become reality.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? My most recent influences are Cloudkicker, Mastodon, Plini, Gojira, Protest the Hero, Tesseract, and Kvelertak. If I had to put my music in a genre I guess I'd say Progressive Metal.

Where was the latest gig? No band, so no gigs.

Who writes your songs?/ who writes the music who writes lyrics? I write the music, there are no lyrics.

Who has the best since of humor in the band? Definitely not me.

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? I like to leave song meanings up to interpretation. There aren't any lyrics, but I give the songs titles that hopefully spark people's imaginations.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? Everything on my albums is original material. I've made a few covers and put them on youtube though.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they I've made 3 albums, Equanimity, WIZARD, and Contact Light.

Do you have any clips on YouTube? Here's Contact Light in its entirety! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pt1bZHInhxc

How old are you?/What got you started in music? I'm 25. I've been playing guitar for about 12 years and I started teaching myself how to record and mix about 4 or 5 years ago. I've loved music since I was little and I finally asked myself, "Why not make my own?"

At what age did you start playing? I was in school chorus and band from about 9-10 years old, and I started teaching myself guitar when I was 13 or 14.

What year was the band started? I started recording music seriously in 2012.

Witch band is the best you´ve seen? If you mean live shows, Streetlight Manifesto shows are the most fun, seeing Cloudkicker and Intronaut play together was spectacular, Gojira is probably my favorite live metal act, and I've been to a few small performances from Bela Fleck, Victor Wooten, and Julian Lage that have blown my mind.

How big crowds do you usually play for? Whoever wanders into my room while I'm playing guitar.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? Finish another album and keep makin tunes.

What are your goals with your music? To make the best songs I can make, and get it into the ears of whoever is willing to listen.

What are your sources of inspiration? Other music, other creative people, art, video games, film, science, the universe.

What's the first step when making a new song? It usually starts with a guitar riff or a drum pattern and expands from there.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? I think people should buy albums to support artists they like, but I also think exposure is more important than sales. I'm in a position where I just want people to hear my music. That's why go by the "pay what you want" model for digital downloads.

What would be your dreams for the band?It would be cool to have enough people support me that I could justify making physical CDs and vinyl records.

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? Pretty much anything. Rock and metal mostly, but I also like electronic, jazz, hip hop, folk, etc.

What would be your greatest fears for the future? Being unable to make music.

Have you been part of any other projects? I'm in a pop-punk/alternative band called Exit 26. We just released an album called A World's Divide, but we're currently not playing shows :( I'm also working on some death/black metal songs with a friend who does awesome vocal work.

What would you do if there was no music? It's hard to even imagine. I'd probably be one of those boring depressed guys working in a cubicle somewhere.

How important are your fans? I don't have many, but I appreciate anyone who supports my music more than they probably know.

How often do you rehearse? I play every day.

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? Tracks 4 and 5 from Contact Light were sort of written as one long song, and I like the vibe of those together.

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? All the girls. Kidding. I don't know, I don't ever expect to make a living from this.

Do you have any webpages? https://tizzer.bandcamp.com/

What is your favorite crappy instrument? I like anything that makes noise.

What was one of the most quarrelsome times for you in the band? I fight myself constantly.

Kommentarer:

1 sarah:

Visst är. Den :)

Kommentera här: