interview with Legacy

What´s the name of your band? Legacy

How was the band formed? The band was born in a very curious way in that it was spontaneous. One I saw the announcement of a battle of the bands in the city and it was about three weeks away. One week I had a drummer and a bassist and viola!

Can you tell about your band?

We are a group of four young kids willing to give his life on the stage, to offer to our audience a bit of good thrash and make a big party with alcohol and moshpit.

We are 4 friends, willing to give everything on stage. When we are up only think of one thing: transmit our energy, and passion for music.

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? The current line up consists of Adrian Rodriguez (lead guitar) Spartano Morrison (Bass) Miguel Angel Heredia (Drums) and I, Emedius Moreno Alcalá (guitar/vocals)

What was the ambitions of the band when you started?

When we first got started the ambition was very low. All I cared for was to record a CD and joke around, I’d be happy. As we started playing more and more shows, we hear a lot of positive feedback that really gave us the desire for more. Now we want to make good music, show it to the world, and have as much fun as we possibly can.

Well it was creating and polishing songs. Get to know the audiences and try to be the best of the region.

We have no ambition, I would say we have dreams, and one of them is that our music is heard worldwide.

Ambition was and is to create own music, exploit the talent that each member may have, mature as musicians, share our music, make it known and have fun enjoy what we do.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? Fast, driven, melodic, and honest.

Where was your first gig?

Our first gig was at the Dreams Music Bar in downtown León, Gto, MX.

My first experience with Legacy was in the After Revolution bar in Leon, Gto. That day I came around with a hang over. When we started to play, I was nervous . Then I let got and I began to bleed from the nose and could not stop touching so it looked like it was part of the show.

My first show with Legacy was when we shared the stage with a thrash metal band from this country, they were Strike Master.

Where was the latest gig? Latest show was at a cultural swap meet in Irapuato, Gto, MX. Great place to play!

Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? For the most part the songs are written by Emedius. He comes up with the idea, the flow, and arrangements, although the rest of the members all come up with their own parts and pitch in here and there. As for the lyrics, until now, are all written by Emedius.

Who has the best since of humor in the band? Best humor is hard to say. I think we all joke around a lot, but the most outgoing is Spartano, hands down.

What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are?

I think it’s basically thrash metal. I wouldn’t really know how to categorize us though because of our diverse influences.

The good with the band is that we can travel, have fun, meet colleagues even learn from them, we can shape ideas THROUGH music. While we are on stage we can forget about any kind of concern or problem and we can be free and enjoyed it very much. The bad, I think, is not sleeping well and having to go to work early the

next day, nothing could be costly to us is able to get good quality equipment here in Mexico and sometimes having to leave some matters of interest by having to go to meet the band.

I feel we have a great brotherhood, even though we have very different genres, there is an impressive chemistry, I do not define myself in one genre I like to hear everything.

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? As for choosing a style, it was more of a, "I want to play heavy metal!" and this came out. Didn’t really aim for anything. The songs are about life experiences. Karma, drug addiction, never rendering, depression, just the feelings of any human. We use a lot of metaphor so that anyone can interpret in which way it pleases them based on what they hear and feel from the music.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? All our own material. We started with a few covers just to fill in time, but they disappeared quickly as it wasn’t the band’s objective.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? We have a demo and a full length CD named after the band. They can both be found in our facebook page: /legacymx under the music tab for Bandcamp.

Do you have any clips on YouTube? We have a couple of live clips that you can find in the search as legacymx. One is of us playing "Dragon’s Den" at the CircoVolador where many internationally renowned bands have played. As well as one of us in Mexico City, and at the MCU León’s anniversary.

How old are you?/What got you started in music?

I am 24 years old. Funny story is that I’ve always loved to sing and mess around with stuff but what finally got me doing this was girls. Didn’t work, but that was the spark at the age of 14.

I am 21 years old and I have been playing for 9.

Currently I am 19 years old. I am the youngest of the band and playing guitar I have four years.

I'm 31 years old and nine years ago that I started in music.

At what age did you start playing?

Initially I wanted to play bass at 14, but was convinced to play guitar.

I started playiing guitar at 12 and bass at 18.

I started playing at 15.

At the age of 22.

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage?

First time on a stage playing metal was at 17.

My first time on stage was at 14 years in the high school I attended where I played in a cover band.

My first time on stage was 15 years in a presentation of a recital, by my guitar teacher.

My first time was at age 24.

What year was the band started? The band started in July of 2012.

Best/worst gig you've played?

I’ve had fun in most all of them. The worst are those in which you have to travel and they get cancelled. Those are horrible just for the fact that you wasted a lot of time. It’s happened twice and in both we made the best of it by making friends and drinking!

In particular I amuse myself and I get drunk at all shows, but the best have been Mexico City and Neza and Acámbaro, Gto. My worst show was in Aguascalientes because they canceled in the last momento. We had travelled.

The most important concert was when we shared the stage with a great band Havok recognized worldwide, and my worst concert, I do not think there since we enjoyed and enjoyed each and every one of our shows.

What places will you be playing in in the immediate future? For now we are looking at Guanajuato and León in the state of Guanajuato for this year. Next year is looking to be a lot richer in shows as we are in negotiation for touring the Pacific and northern México.

From the beginning till now? We’ve been to: León, San Fransisco, Silao, Guanajuato, Irapuato, Celaya, Acámbaro, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico City, Ciudad Netzahualcoyotl, and a few others that I can’t remember off the top of my head.

Which band is the best you´ve seen?

That’s very hard to say, there is so much talent everywhere that it’s hard to pick just one.

I don’t think there's good or bad, always have something amazing to show.

Is it always the same songs live?

Depends on the set, really. For now we have about an hour of music. If the set is shorter than that, then it changes, but not much.

If though always change the order of songs to play

What has been the best/most promising gig so far? When we share the stage with Havok

Have you had any bigger tours from start to now? Definitely! We started out opening up small shows on Thursdays and Sundays. Now we are opening up for some of the bigger national bands like Transmetal and Strikemaster. Even some international bands like Havok.

How big crowds do you usually play for? Usually they run between 80 and 120. We have play for crowds of up to 800 people though.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? Year is almost up, so it will be just a lot of planning, composing, and finishing up the last two scheduled shows.

Where do you usually play? We usually play in our hometown of León, Gto, MX. At the moment we are limited to short distances from the lack of a vehicle. We’ve been asked to play all over the country, but travelling by bus is too expensive.

How do you get psyched up for a gig?

Have a couple of drinks and enter the pit!!!

bebemos un par de cervezas para entrar relajados y nos concentramos y nos mentalisamos para dar un buen show

Drinking a few beers and fine-tuning our instruments.

I just think of mind to positively and I've prepared enough and therefore I will have a good night and will do my job well.

What are your goals with your music?

Getting it to as many people as we can, travel the world, and just do what I love.

My dream is that our music is heard around the world, playing in many countries, meet people, and do that for the rest of our lives.

That our music is the taste of people, selling many albums, live music and continue growing as a band.

When did you decide to go all in for the music?

The fans and friends that have supported us. That’s really my reason why.

The day that my family was separated, found a refuge in the music that makes me very happy.

It was after talking with some friends about how it would play the songs of our favorite bands and how well we could spend our time.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern?

It’s easy to get your inspiration from anything you like! If it is honest, then you will have no problems questioning where to get ideas from.

I think inspiration can be taken both from modern bands like the old. Ultimately the old are the bases and modern is our guidance.

I love the old school, but new school has also a lot to teach, so I like listening to all, whether innovative or classic

In both cases you can learn interesting things and acquire good though inspiration if I prefer older bands. What do the new bands is good but I think they do the biggest bands is very, very good.

What are your sources of inspiration?

Life.

Things that happen to us every day and what we see and hear in life.

All the situations we face every day.

My emotions, just what I feel

What's the first step when making a new song?

It happens spontaneously, from walking in the street, to riding in the bus, to even a simple conversation can spark a song.

Smoking marijuana! Haha no, let's just go by what sounds best.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums?

It is a double edged sword. It can spread your music like herpes and get you a lot of shows. At the same time it really destroys your income. You don’t make a lot of money playing shows. It all ends up going back into the machine as gas, food, strings, skins, sticks, etc. That is why it’s very important to support your metal. A lot of us that do it are naïve and believe in that it will make us a decent living, others of us just do it because they love it more than anything, literally. It’s a complicated topic with a simple solution: support. There is a lot more you can do than what you think.

I feel it is part of the new digital era, it is a very difficult situation to assimilate, because behind a band there is much effort and dedication, which some people do not see. It makes me feel bad, but the good side of it is that greater audience is achieved.

I think when downloading music files stored only have to buy an album and is physically have a piece of everything that means work that the artist does. I personally prefer that an album but otherwise downloading music is good in that it is easier that can reach more distant places for now no one could buy an album.

What would be your dreams for the band?

My dream? Live music without fear. That is freedom.

Being recognized globally and reach the ears of many people.

One of my biggest dreams is to someday be touring around the world and meet people, it would make me feel satisfied.

I think it would be able to present our music worldwide.

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to?

I like to listen to a lot of acoustic guitar instrumentals, classical, rap, folk, just good music.

I like listening to all kinds of especially heavy metal thrash and death metal.

I like listening to everything relating to metal, and also classical music to relax.

I like heavy metal, I like rock, a bit of everything and I love Iron Maiden, I like Testament, Destruction, Obituary, Overkill, King Diamond etc.

What do you hold most dear?

My guitar!

Music.

A new guitar.

I want many things. I want to start a family, I want to be very good drummer , I want to be a business want our dreams as a band are met.

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then?

Nothing! I am FREE!

Nothing, always enjoy.

I just think that anything will be good presentation and if something goes wrong only be an experience which we can take advantage and learn something good.

Have you been part of any other projects?

A couple non serious bands. I tried to turn them into composing but they stayed in the covers area and I decided to leave.

No, I just want to dedicate myself fully to Legacy.

Have you been in any other bands?

Now with Legacy I give myself the opportunity to play in tribute bands. At the time I sing in a Red Hot Chili Peppers tribute and an Amon Amarth one.

Not seriously, just
in garage bands.

I was with the band that I started and we played covers for 6 years. The name of the band was Electric and Hard Madness.

What do you work with outside of the band and the music?

I am an English teacher and interpreter. I also do guitar and bass maintenance.

I work in a female bag factory.

I am employed in a store.

I am employed in a factory where we produce leather jackets.

What would you do if there was no music?

I probably would have OD’d.

I think I would be dead or working behind a desk for a group of monkey.

I have no idea, this is my life.

I would work to invent something called music! Haha!

How important are your fans?

PARAMOUNT! Without them there would be no aspiration to grow. It would have been just to get together and have beers. Don’t get me wrong now, we DO that! We always try to involve them in anything we can.

They are the maximum, their words give us encouragement to go on destroying ears on stage.

A lot!!! I think the least we can do is be grateful to the support of the fans and always give their best on stage for them.

What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you?

One organized a show for us in another city, took us and brought us back. She also got us a nice hotel and took us to a pool place to relax for a while. She was amazing! Another friend from Mexico City got us a show and showed us around the city so we wouldn’t get lost. They are amazing.

sin ellos no seriamosnada ellos son nuestro motor para seguir cresiendo y seguir componiendo creo que son el

alma de todo ellos son demasiado importantes por lo tanto hay que complacerlos como se merecen

Mmm Some guy have me a blunt while playing live mid solo! Hahaaa!!!!

Good considering that we are not famous or well known yet. I think the fact that a guy asked me to give away my shirt and I answered him, "Ah but is very dirty and full of sweat" and he said "I do not care even better your sweat!" I think it has so far been the most memorable.

How often do you rehearse?

3-5 times a week.

Every day about one to two hours.

As a band rehearsed usually 3 days a week and I personally now practice daily for an hour.

Where do you rehearse? We practice at the drummer’s place. It’s startling that we haven’t received a single complaint!

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment?

I really enjoy playing "Empty Tears" and "Frozen Chaos."

Chosen One and Beyond the Gates.

The Howling and Dragon`s Den.

Empty tears and Beyond the Gates.

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing?

For me: the love for it and fans. I just don’t feel complete if I don’t play and if it wasn’t for this I don’t know what would be of me.

Deliver all on the stage and never drop and always work to improve.

The words of the fans, motivate us to keep going.

Taste for music, the fact that there people who go to events to see us play, good comments are very motivating too, that we are doing what we like.

Do you have any webpages?

https://www.facebook.com/LegacyMX

https://legacymx.bandcamp.com/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCj9SVNA4bUsFdtH7RbH5evA

https://soundcloud.com/legacymx

http://www.reverbnation.com/legacymx

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there?

Do it because you love it. That’s the only way it will give back. Don’t succumb to material desires as that is not the only way to be repaid.

Fight for dreams never be defeated and always live each moment as if it were the last.

The dreams only die when they have made real, we must never abandon them

You fall in love with what they do to do so with the best of the desire and the most honest way and so the good results come by themselves.

Describe your show, visually and musically

Energetic, true, and precise.

Insane, funny and above all captivating

Much energy, we make our stage, with music playing quality music that sounds with a hint which can range from something kind ballad until very powerful as it is a good thrash and of course a good heavy.

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Money. It is the biggest social pressure that exists. Don’t let it ruin what is real. I think when you start spending could be, having to miss work to meet the affairs of the band and exposed to be fired and others.

What is best/worst with playing the clubs? The best thing is that they are the most accessible. The worst thing is that they usually don’t have engineers.

What is your favorite crappy instrument?

My first guitar! It’s a Squier Affinity from a starter pack. It has a Seymour Duncan Hotrails Bridge pickup. I love that thing! As for my number one, Schecter all the way!

I love Dean guitars.

From what I 've learned and experienced my first and current drum set.

What was one of the most quarrelsome times for you in the band? Recording. We had the dates coming up and the songs weren’t up at 100%. I was very stressful and got us into a couple of arguments.

Do you have anything to add?

Keep metal alive!

Thrash to hell and metal will never die.

Fuck the system, and enjoy your life.

That never stops sounding good music and greetings friends!

Kommentera här: