interview with Morning Dwell

What´s the name of your band? Morning Dwell
How was the band formed? First it was just a project by me(Petter). I recorded Power Metal-ideas at home. Then I re-recorded and wrote some songs almost 10 years later. Just for fun and to give them to friends. Later I decided to send it to some record labels. Doolittle Group and another record label were interested so I called some friends to complete the line-up of the band.
Can you tell about your band? Well, as I said, everyone are old friends of mine which I have know through music.
Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band?
Everyone are from Värmland, Sweden except Affe(Drums) from Jönköping.
Me(Petter)-Vocals
Michel-Guitars
Ulf-Guitars
Affe-Drums
Martin-Bass
Samuel-Keyboards
What was the ambitions of the band when you started? At first it was just a nostalgic project by me. But when we got signed by Doolittle we decided to go all in and grow as a band!
Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? The shortest description is that we sound like a mix between Halloween(Keeper-era) and power metal bands from 1999-2000 (Edguy etc) with a little bit of humor.
Where was your first gig? It was at a Mc-Club in My hometown.
Where was the latest gig? Actually also in my hometown. But this time at an local club.
Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? On our debut everything is written by me. I also had a friend named Patrik, who didn’t have time to join our band because of his family situation, who wrote one song on the debut album.
Who has the best since of humor in the band? I am actually the only one in the band who does comic things besides music, like acting in shows, recording videos and podcasting. But the one who tells most funny stories in the band and makes us laugh is Michel!
What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are?
Bad-everyone(except Samuel) works full time and it’s hard to take every gig because then we lose time and money on work.
Good-Everyone is good self-confident guys with lots of humor and no one are greedy for money.
Genre: POWER METAL
Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? That style shaped me as a person when I grew up. It have everything I like in music. Uplifting feelings,speed, positiv attitudes and creative playing.
Do you write your own material or mainly covers? Only own songs.
Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? We released our self titled album this spring! It is available world wide!
Do you have any clips on YouTube? Yep! Search for MORNING DWELL! 
How old are you?/What got you started in music? I am 29 and started to play seriously at age 15/16. My father recorded his own songs at home so he showed me some basic playing and how to record. After that I listened to bands and got inspired!
How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? First time I played metal live I were 17. I played bas in a death metal band then!
I’m not sure ’bout the other guys. But Martin(bass) first live gig ever were this year with Morning Dwell!
What year was the band started? 2012/2013
Best/worst gig you've played? We have played too few to decide that yet.
What places will you be playing in in the imidate future? The planes are north Europe. Later we will try to come more south! We seem to have a lot of fans there!
Is it always the same songs live? Almost. It depends on how much time we have on stage. Sometimes the full album. Sometimes 30 min(if we’re not headlining).
Have you had any bigger tours from start to now? No,no tour yet. But some interesting festivals!
How big crowds do you usually play for? Small clubs! The biggest crowed we have had this far was about 150 people.
What are the plans for the rest of the year? To write some new songs and get more gigs!
What are your goals with your music? To spread our music around the world and play on bigger festivals etc!
When did you decide to go all in for the music? I started to get serious with music when I were about 15. Then it took me until last year to become ”good enough” for a record deal. So it gave me a push to go all in for music when I got that deal.
Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? Music that I listened to when I were about 15-18 years old is it that inspires still today. So I would say old bands for me.
What are your sources of inspiration? To feel inspired I often need to listen to songs I listed to as young and get that feel I had back then. Someday I can be inspired of just reading a book or just taking a walk in the right weather!
What's the first step when making a new song? I need to have a special feeling inside of me. Often a good feeling. If I feel down I often play guitar or something like that without trying to create something new. So the first step is to be in that good mood.
How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? If you want to listen to an album for the first time I it’s ok. But if you like it you should support the band and buy it! Now a days i often listen first on the net. If I like it I buy it on VINYL! If there is no vinyl, then CD. I think you will loose the whole experience of the album if you don’t watch the cover art or just follow the lyrics while listen to the album. It’s another level of listening thou.
What would be your dreams for the band? That this would be our full-time job and to play on bigger stages.
Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? I listen a lot to all kinds of metal. I really like InFlames(90’s era), Dimmu Borgir, Meshuggah, Metallica(80’s) etc. So everything in metal..almost. I also like some classical musik and acoustic.
What do you hold most dear? My fishing rod and guitars!
What would be your greatest fears for the future? I don’t know really.  If I became injured so I couldn’t work out or go out running or something like that. And to lose my fingers!..And lose my friends and family off course.
When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? To lose my Voice. Or maybe past out or something! hehe
Have you been part of any other projects? Yes! I have many ideas in different genres of music so I want to record and play other songs as well. But those projects are often kept by my self and almost never shown to other people.
Have you been in any other bands? Yes, but no other with a record deal. Michel(guitars in Morning Dwell) and I had a band and played more hardcore/thrash metal style before. I played drums in that band.
What do you work with outside of the band and the music? I work as an art and musik teacher.
What would you do if there was no music? Paint more. Fokus on other creative things maybe. Photo, film or write books or something.
How important are your fans? As a music creator you always want someone else listen to your music and like it! Metal fans out there are the ones who gives us motivation to write and play music! They are very important!
What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? Nothing I can't thing of right now. We have played to few times live yet.
How often do you rehearse? Since our drummer live quite far away from us other in the band we don’t rehearse especially much. But everyone is such good musician so we practice at home and when a gig is closing in we get together and rehears 1-2 times before the gig.
Where do you rehearse? In my hometown, Munkfors.
Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? "The story never ends" and a new one I for the moment call ”Guardians of time”.
What do you feel is the best live band you've seen? Metallica and Maiden. But the most powerful show i’ve seen where Dimmu Borgir live in Spectrum, Norway.
What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? I play music everyday after work. So to play music as my work is logically the best solution to feel satisfied! To reach more people with your own music is also a big thing that keeps you going. To spread som joy to people.
Do you have any webpages? www.morningdwell.com
Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Stay true to your ideas. But also listen to people who have knowledge and experience. You learn a lot of them.
Describe your show, visually and musically The fokus is to give fans energy and power. We are very spontaneous. Do what we feel to and always give 100 % without being to much overkill. A lot of ”sing-with-me-lines” as well.
How do you view the musicindurty of today?
Good thing-Easy to create and record ideas by yourself at home and spread the music world wide through internet.
Bad thing- Almost as the same as ”good thing”. To many bands to compete with and to much internet and spotify. These things could also be good things if they were used the right way. But…they aren’t at the moment.
What are the biggest obstacles for a band? To stand out from the genre and reach a wide audience since there are 1000 of other bands playing almost the same metal and also want to grow.
What is best/worst with playing the clubs? Often very much time spent on traveling and soundcheck for often(here in sweden) low income and little people in the audience.
Tell us about upcomming gigs and why we should be at them? We have some go here in Sweden soon! One in Hagfors with Smash into pieces and Eyes wide open and one in Stockholm, Pub Anchor. You should go and se us because we sound better live! We are fun to watch and don’t take ourself too seriously!
How would you describe your sound in one sentence It’s a fast, theatralical, powerful, nostalgic, guitar driven power metal!
What is your favorite crappy instrument?My acoustic guitar. An Ovation!

Kommentera här: