Interview with Animus Meminisse Horret

Have any of you played in other bands? Animus Meminisse Horret is actually a one man band but back in the days, I used to be the drummer of a band called No Faith. We only recorded a few tracks and played some shows before we split up. Good old Times.

How is it that you started playing music? I began to play music in the early 90's when I discovered Metal Music. I had to gather money to buy my first drum kit and I never stoped playing music since that time.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? I think my name doesn't really matters but my nickname is 87. I'm 30 and my black metal projet AMH is a one man band.

Have you had other previous members? No.

Did you make music even when you were young? As I mentioned it in the previous question, yes, I play music since i'm 10 yo.

Where are you from? I'm from France and currently living in Paris. I used to live in a city close to Paris which is called Châteaudun. Probably the worst city in the entire France.

What year did the band form? I created Animus Meminisse Horret in 2010.

What's your style of genre? I listen to a lot of things. I love music when it's done with the heart. But I essentially listen to extreme metal.

What inspires you? It will probably sound cliché but the truth is that I'm inspired by everything in my life that generate hate or anger in me and by the memories of my past.

How often and where do you reherse? No rehearsals, I writre music when I've got enough inspiration to do so, at home.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Too many and not enoug of time. Movie, litterature, video games, food, exploring places I don't know...

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Not at all. I don't plan to play live in the future. 

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that?

> Not looking into it at all. My point was neither making money with my music nor being famous. I easily understand people who wants to make their music for a living, but I'm satisfied with the life I have now. I play music whenever I want and will never be strained to wrtie an album to satisfy a contract. It totally fits my way of life.

What made you decide to make this music? At the beginning, I only recorded my album for myself, I had to express a lot a feelings that tormented me, so I took my guitar and began writing stuff.  Then, people that are close to me told me It would be cool if I decided to spread my music on the internet. That's the only reason I put the album internet. I was sure everyone would treat my music like shit, but the feedback were unbelievably positive. I was really surprised.

What are your songs about? Old and wounding memories, mostly.

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Only when the inspiration goes on.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? I've no merch, my point never was about making money. I can't stand band who thinks about design and merchandising before they recorded an album. 

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? Now a days, I really don't care. Even if I buy my music as often as my incomings allow me to do so, I use to download some albums. I can't stand the fact that you can't get access to culture only because you don't have enough money to do it.  Now, a lot of bands have to go on tour or to sell merch to live of their music. That's not a bad thing to my mind. 

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? More tours, the creation of beautiful and affordable "deluxe editions" with some additional content.

What do you think of my work? Lot of unknown bands covered in your website, lot of interesting things to read, but really difficult to read because of the layout 

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I only hope that more people will listen to my band and share their opinions about it.

Do you have any role models or idols? Not a at all.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Older bands, even if there's some awesome bands that's still in the great circus of metal music.

What have been your biggest obstacles? Time and alcohol.

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Get back to basics.

Do you have any new material? My latest teaser for my new album is a bit old now, but you can still listen to it here : https://soundcloud.com/animusmeminissehorret

What are your web sites? Facebook : Animus Meminisse Horret 

How can people reach you? Just contact me on Facebook. I know I'm a bit late to answer, but I'm a very busy man. If you come on facebook and contact me, be sure you'll get an answer soon or later.

What are your plans for the future? No idea. Probably write some new songs.

Do you have something to add? Nothing in particular. Thanks a lot for your time, it was a real pleasure to answer your questions.

Kommentera här: