interview with Bleak Fiction

What´s the name of your project? Bleak Fiction

How was the project formed? At the beginning it was like a hobby for me, but when I received good comments of my songs I began to share albums.

Can you tell about your project? Bleak Fiction is a one-man project. I released numerous albums for free (via Internet). In 2015 I want to share new stuff.

Where are you from/ What do you do in the project?I’m from Buenos Aires, Argentina. I use PC in all the songs with audio software (Absynth, Cubase, FL Studio...).

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? I wanted (and I want) to recreate mental states of dreams, depression, hope and solitude.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? I mainly play ambient and dark ambient with a focus on drone and minimalist music. I am really interested for represent an image or feelings through my albums.

What's good/bad with the project?/What genre do you feel you are? There are good things. Is a good escape for express ideas and dreams of many situations of life. And would be more satisfying when another person feels identified with a song I made. The bad thing is the few recognition of this type of music, but I still want to share new stuff for much time. I feel very well in ambient, drone and noise music.

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? I consider them a very complex sound with allusion to interesting points of view. And when I listen carefully songs of other artists, it emerges many thoughts I can’t explain, but unconsciously it have sense for me. My songs are about memories, dreams and solitude.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? I write all my material.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? I made a demo (Bleak Paragraph – 2011), 4 LP (Lucidness – 2011, Translucent Ghost – 2012, Prolonged Memory – 2014, Homeless Heart – 2014), 2 EP (Unseen Isolation – 2012, Daylight – 2013), one collaboration (Parenthesis, with Proyecto Lazarus – 2014) and one split (Preta, with Crimson Mourn and Kraai – 2013)

Do you have any clips on YouTube? I don’t have any videoclip, but you can listen some songs (only audio) on YouTube.

How old are you?/What got you started in music? I am 21 years old. In 2010 I was really impressed with experimental music (post-rock, ambient, noise...). Eluvium was my first influence with his album “Talk Amongst The Trees”.

At what age did you start playing? I started at 18 years old

What year was the band started? In 2011.

Which band is the best you´ve seen? Dronevil.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? I want to make new songs for next year.

What are your goals with your music? I want that people recreates feelings they never thought, with my music.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? I am inspirated more from modern bands than older ones (but anyway, I don’t exclude them)

What are your sources of inspiration? Images, life situations, nature, dreams, for mentioning some of them.

What's the first step when making a new song? I think in the clime I want to have. And when the song is finished I have an idea to make an album.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? It’s a good option, but at the same time, buying a physical edition is unique.

What would be your dreams for the project? I want more people listen to my music. And that Bleak Fiction be part of many persons.

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? I listen post-rock, post-metal, martial industrial, shoegaze, folk, any many others. About bands: Ulver, Stars Of The Lid, Muslimgauze, Art Of Empathy, Celer, etc.

What do you hold most dear? I appraise sincerity and empathy. Two main elements for me.

What would be your greatest fears for the future? Health and job. 

Have you been part of any other projects? At the moment I made a collaboration with Proyecto Lazarus this year.

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? I am still looking for a job. It’s hard to get one in this country.

What would you do if there was no music? I love images in general (photography, drawings...). Would be a good alternative.

How important are your fans? I don’t know if I have fans hahaha. But listeners who follows my new releases are very important for me. I always try to improve my sound in every new album for them. 

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? I really like “Prolonged Memory” and “Homeless heart”.

Do you have any webpages? Yes.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bleak-Fiction/242249185802326

http://bleakfiction.bandcamp.com/

http://vk.com/bleakfiction

What advice would you like to give other bands? Play music that identifies you. Try to make new ideas, new ways to face the life through sounds.

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Recognition and musical stability.

How would you describe your sound in one sentence. In search of an answer.

What is your favorite crappy instrument? My PC is not very good for making music hahaha

Do you have anything to add? Thanks for the message for the interview (my first interview), I really appreciate this.

Kommentera här: