interview with Jackson D

What´s the name of your band? Jackson D.

Equipment used? Fender Blues Deluxe (Custom) – Gibson ES335 (Custom) – Electro Voice RE 18 microphone (Live) – ATA 4047/sv condenser for studio – TC Hall of fame reverb – Boss DS2 distortion – Boo Vibrato – Logarhythm stomp box.

How was the band formed? As the front man of the Rock Gothic band ‘The Final Romance’ many songs I had written was of a different flavour.  I decided to produce them Solo with a percussionist behind me. Thus Jackson D.

Can you tell about your band? The sounds created I would consider to be that of a boutique sound.

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? My percussionist Zachary Theodorou  is a local musician U.K. -  Jackson D. I cover Vox/Guitar and stomp box.

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? Ambitions of Jackson D. are to be original and professional with presence. I would consider these qualities to be very much missing from many so called pro and amateur artists.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? Haha no I could not!!

Who writes your songs?/ who writes the music who writes lyrics? I, Jackson D. write all the songs and melodies along with the lyrics

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? I would consider the style choose me. My musical influences when growing up are probably not reflected in my style. Most my songs are about the reality of sadness.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? Always my own material!

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? My first album will be released this year 2015 as promotional edition

Do you have any clips on YouTube?

Yep, only a Test release but here it is.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RIN3OhO_9Xc

At what age did you start playing? I first picked up a guitar at the age of 13…I think.

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? I was probably 17years old…gosh!

What year was the band started? My solo work started 2014….and I am pleased it is picking up momentum

Witch band is the best you´ve seen? Suede (amazing band)

What are the plans for the rest of the year? I plan on taking my sound national around the UK. London is a target.

How do you get psyched up for a gig? Like most musicians? I change personality before a gig and whilst performing. I believe all gigs are theatrical and require a high degree of performance.

What are your goals with your music? My goals are to be professional and stay true to myself. You don’t have to be liked  to be  appreciated.

When did you decide to go all in for the music? I always new as a young kid my life would entail much music. I was right.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? Difficult to answer. While not exclusive I do however find a higher performance level from the older bands.

What are your sources of inspiration? I think I get a buzz from the artists who go all out to perform and put on a show. Although I wouldn’t consider myself a metal fan I do appreciate some of those guys and gals performance levels. I know it is subjective but I think. Suede – The Smiths – Sisters of Mercy – Elvis Presley -  I also consider some Symphonic metal i.e. ‘Nightwish’ and ‘Within Temptation’ to hold my attention.

What's the first step when making a new song? Melody melody melody… I normally write two songs at the same time. The Chiaroscuro of the songs intermingle.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? Mixed feelings. I do both, but enjoy buying albums most. Perhaps something is lost with downloads?

 What would be your dreams for the band? Basic dreams, I would like onlookers to considering what they are hearing and visualizing is of a very high standard. Like it or not.

Have you been part of any other projects? Yes I am the front man of the Rock/Gothic band ‘The Final Romance’ a great band for sure.

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? Music is my work, pleasure and fix. I am very lucky.

What would you do if there was no music? Actor

How important are your fans? Strange one this. While of course my fans are very important and I am very grateful that they support my music, I must confess I create for my own well being and thus with no fans I would still move forward.

How often do you rehearse? With my percussionist once a week. I probably rehearse every day, tweaking chords, lyrics, vocals and performance ideas.

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? ‘Bewitched by you’ and ‘Italian Vogue’

What do you feel is the best live band you've seen? Probably ‘The Prodigy’  or ‘ Suede’ coming up tour. Both Awesome.

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? A true artist does not require a reason for the drive – It is just so.

Do you have any webpages? https://www.facebook.com/jacksondsolo

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Be yourself and NEVER say ‘That will do’ if you have talent your downfall will be your mind.

Describe your show, visually and musically It would appear that I naturally have a lot of presence on a stage and create an edgy atmosphere. My performance keeps an audience interested.

How do you view the music industry of today? Not favorably – Too many mediocre bands, artists breaking through. The bar of expectation is very low I would consider.

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? If you are original, and I mean ORIGINAL many places are fearful of giving you airtime or gigs. People in the music industry are usually conformists.

What is best/worst with playing the clubs? Clubs are ok. Best would be an appreciative crowd the worst would be the club owner thinking they are doing you the performer  a favour.

How would you describe your sound in one sentence Distinctive and memorable.

Whats your Pre-show ritual? I convince myself I am untouchable from any audience. Which I probably am.

Do you have anything to add? Yes, I would like to thank you for taking the time and interest in my sound. Power to you my friend(s).

Kommentera här: