interview with Mark A. Galang

What´s the name of your band? I used to call my solo studio act "Sterilium". Nowadays, I just go by my name, "Mark A. Galang".

What made you call the band "Sterilium"? I ripped off the name from a disinfectant brand called "Sterillium" (two l's, mine's just one). It's supposed to represent my creative process, a sterile state that is good for generating new ideas, just like how a surgeon would perform surgery by sterilizing the entire area before going in.

How was the band formed? Some time in the late '90s, I was playing keyboards and doing vocals for a local progressive rock band called "Blue Fusion". We went on hiatus as soon as each member of the band had other pressing priorities, and I then went on writing and recording my own compositions and then posting them online on various sites.

Can you tell about your band? "Sterilium" was a solo act meant to function or give the impression that it was a band. I worked on a number of independently produced albums, mostly compilations of what I thought were some of my best compositions. I posted them online, reactions were mixed at best, but I was able to use some of my work as "Sterilium" to establish my present career. Financial constraints, lack of personnel, day jobs, a growing family, and other matters prevented me from touring or gigging as Sterilium.

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? I was Sterilium. I performed every instrument (guitars, keyboards, piano, bass, drum programming, etc.). It was a real solo act.

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? I was trying to sort of follow the path of people like Vangelis, Mike Oldfield, and Ayreon. Didn't work quite as I had hoped it would be, haha!

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? It's a mishmash of influences ranging from prog, metal, jazz, classical, and even world music. My music was at one time described as appealing to fans of The Flower Kings, Liquid Tension Experiment, etc.

Where was your first gig? I didn't really have have what you would call a gig as "Sterilium". As myself, most of my "gigs" are at UCCP-Makati Church of Christ Disciples where I am a music worker. It's not the kind of place where you would expect most bands to appear.

Where was the latest gig? My latest gig as myself (not Sterilium) was September 28, 2013 where I played at a classical concert called "Musicalitea in Unity" at the Philippine Christian University Auditorium. I played an original composition for solo piano called "Promises". My latest notable performance was at UCCP-Makati Church of Christ Disciples last December 24, 2013 where I premiered a composition for choir and rock band called "Hope in the Darkness" with the UCCP-MCCD Music Ministry. We also performed other songs as well.

Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? Since Sterilium was a solo act, I did everything.

Who has the best since of humor in the band? Me, myself, and I. Haha!

What genre do you feel you are? That's rather difficult to answer but my output straddles somewhere within progressive rock. You could describe it as Christian progressive rock.

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? I'm not particular about style, really. I just write and record whatever I think would work well for a particular theme. If it's prog, then it is prog. If I write straight up jazz, I can do that as well. My songs are usually about the Christian faith, the mind, interpersonal relationships, impressions of short stories personal struggles, etc.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? All original for Sterilium and my present solo stuff. With the current worship band I work with, it is inevitable that we perform covers.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? Yes. Visit markgalang.wordpress.com/portfolio to find links to my albums and other work.

Do you have any clips on YouTube? I do have a couple of old ones, mostly by myself messing around on piano or guitar. Nothing serious or noteworthy, hehe.

How old are you?/What got you started in music? I'm 33 now. I got started when my dad forced me to take piano lessons. I got seriously involved in writing music and playing in bands when I was about 13 or 14 years old.

At what age did you start playing? I started playing the piano when I was 11, took some lessons, then started guitar when I was 12.

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? My first stage experience was when I was 12 years old, performing vocals for a Metallica cover band.

What year was the band started? 1992.

Best/worst gig you've played? Best gig was at a long-defunct place called Rino's, summer of 1999. I was with Blue Fusion back then. We played with reigning Filipino progressive metal act Eternal Now. Audience attendance was less than 20 people, hahaha! That's how popular progressive rock was in the Philippines back then.

What places will you be playing in in the imidate future? Mostly around churches I'm guessing, but with my new band "Hymnopraxis" we might go elsewhere as soon as we get our repertoire up to good shape.

Where have you played from then till now? Mostly UCCP churches around Metro Manila. Usually at UCCP-Makati Church of Christ Disciples.

Witch band is the best you´ve seen? Hard to tell. Probably the Manu Codgia trio.

What has been the best/most promising gig so far? Perhaps the "Musicalitea in Unity" concert I was talking about earlier.

How big crowds do you usually play for? Biggest was around 200 uninterested people at UCCP-Ellinwood Malate Church.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? Continue writing new music, building my career as a music transcriber/copyist, working on completing an M.A. in Music Education (applied music/piano major) at the Philippine Women's University.

Where do you usually play? UCCP-Makati Church of Christ Disciples at J.P. Rizal, Makati City, Philippines.

How do you get psyched up for a gig? I pray and eat a good meal.

What are your goals with your music?

1. Give glory and praise to God.

2. Express my thoughts, ideas, and feelings as a composer.

3. Create music that would be a positive influence and initiate change in people's lives.

When did you decide to go all in for the music? It's kind of late actually. I got working with music full time in 2010 I believe.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? Older. Because when I discover newer bands, I always go and figure what these modern bands are listening to. Afterwards I go figure out what made these older bands so influential, how they were able to make music while saddled with technological limitations.

What are your sources of inspiration? Jesus Christ, current events, the life of a Christian, philosophy, feelings, emotions, etc. Heck, even a cup of coffee could be a source of inspiration.

What's the first step when making a new song? Improvisation.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? I feel happy about it but at the same time challenged. Happy because it is now very easy to distribute music across the whole world but challenged in the sense that traditional methods of selling don't really work anymore coupled with bootlegging on a grander scale.

What would be your dreams for the band? I'd like my work as a musician to succeed by meeting the goals I have said a while ago.

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? It's gonna be a very long list if I tell you. Some examples are classic prog bands ELP, Yes, and Rush. Nowadays I've been listening to a lot of material from The Winery Dogs, Richie Kotzen, Greg Howe, and the Aristocrats.

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? The inability to meet the standards I have placed upon myself.

Have you been part of any other projects? I would say no.

Have you been in any other bands? Yes.

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? Professionally, I am a freelance music transcriber/copyist, composer, and arranger.

What would you do if there was no music? I would invent the concept of music.

How often do you rehearse? Every day I practice at the piano and with a guitar or whatever other instrument I can get my hands on. With the band/s I work with with, about once a week.

Where do you rehearse? Mostly at my home studio, in church on weekends.

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? "Hope in the Darkness" and "As the Spirit Leads", both of which are still unreleased.

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? The love and appreciation for playing and listening to music.

Do you have any webpages? http://markgalang.wordpress.com

How would you describe your sound in one sentence Eeew!

What is your favorite crappy instrument? Kazoo.

Do you have anything to add? Thank you for having me and listening to all of my rambling. God bless.

Kommentarer:

1 Jensvollen:

Härliga intervjuer du gör :) Kul!

Kommentera här: