interview with Silva Luges

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, I also play in Armageddon Death Squad, a french Death Metal band.
How is it that you started playing music? When i was younger, I started to listen to bands like Metallica or Iron Maiden. Soon, just listening to metal wasn't enough for me and I started to learn how to play the guitar.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? My name is Sylvain Briand. Silva Luges is a one-man band so I play all the instruments. I'm actually 33 years old.
Have you had other previous members? No, I Hadn't.
Did you make music even when you were young? I think I wrote my 1st song at the age of 15, i don't know if it can be called young.
Where are you from? From the east of France.
What year did the band form? Around 1997, when I Started to record my own songs on tapes. It becomes a more serious project around 2010.
What's your style of genre? At the beginning, Silva Luges was a black metal band, but today I think it's just Metal.
What inspires you? Well, because I'm often listening to music, I think the bands I like since a long time should influence me, even if Silva Luges doesn't sound like the death/thrash/black metal bands from the 90's that I'm often listening to.
How often and where do you reherse? Because I'm alone in the band, it can't be really called rehearsal, but as soon as I can, I try to write music. I reherse the song a few time before trying to record it.
How have you developed since you started with the music? Since I Started, I hope I have found my own way to play or write music. It's important to try to play multiple styles of music to progress. When I started, I was seeking only for violent and dark music but if you create too many boundaries for your music, you will quickly go in circles. I think I'm more open minded with other styles of music now, and that will be a good tool to grow better in music.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I really like to visit medieval patrimony wherever I go, walking by forest, partying with friends/family, going to gigs/festival.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Because Silva Luges is a one man band, It doesn't play live. Maybe one day.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Yes, I would be honoured if a label could be interested by my music. I have just started to look for it. Even if a label needs to make business, I think it should be a human relationship between bands and label instead of a big factory trying to sell as lot as possible.
What made you decide to make this music? At the beginning, I hadn't found a band to play in, so I decided to make my music by myself. Then, even playing in a band, I still write music for my solo project. That was natural.
What are your songs about? Since some years, they are all about Nature and how humans destroy it. That really hurts me.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I compose all music and write all the lyrics.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? For the Dame Nature album, music came first for every song, but that's not a fixed way.
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? I'm always alone when I compose. Sometimes with good beer(s) helping me.
Have you done any covers live? Not live, but I've recorded a cover of the My friend of Misery song from Metallica. It can be heard here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=onJF8GU2_0w
What language do you sing in? I started with english when i was younger, but now, all the lyrics are in french.
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? I don't play live with Silva Luges, sorry! I can't really answer that questions.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? That started that spring, when I've released the Dame Nature Album.
Where can people buy your merchandise? They can send me an email at [email protected] for more details.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I won't tell if it's good or not. I think internet is a good thing to discover new bands. Metal listeners like to have the material in hands, so I'm not very afraid that downloading would kill the music. But I think It was better before. That was a pleasure to find an album after searching it for a long time. Or buying one without listening to any note of the recording before. Now every thing is available immediatly. A part of the magic has disappeared I think. Personnaly, I had stopped downloading music. Of course I did that at  a moment, but when I wanted to listen to music, I always put a CD in my Hifi. The idea of switching on a PC for hearing music never became natural for me.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? I don't know how to tell. It seems that the old bands which had enormous success before that still be there (AC/DC, Metallica, Maiden, Motorhead, etc...). But there's no more young band like that which seem to follow the same incredible way. That's easier to be listened, but it also more difficult to exist. Every band is on the web know. That's a tsunami of music. And it's hard for every drop to be seen in such a big ocean.
What do you think of my work? Honestly, I didn't know your work before you ask me for that interview, but i think I could discover new bands thanx to your work. That's great!
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I'm pleased to answer your questions. That's the 1st interview for Silva Luges! If people try to listen to me after, I would be honoured.
Do you have any role models or idols? Not especially.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Yes, I think! Lots of band like to say that there were not influenced at all, but consciously or not, I think what we are listening to is an inspiration, even if it's to say ''That's not the music I want to make''.
What have been your biggest obstacles? Doing everything alone can be an obstacle, because buying and learn all instruments or recording tools takes time and money!
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Have pleasure doing what you do!
Do you have any new material? I have started to write new riffs recently, that's all.
What are your web sites?
How can people reach you? By email is the easier way.
What are your plans for the future? Writing new songs again and again!
Do you have something to add? Thank you very much for your interest. Excuse all the mistakes speaking english, I'm not really good at that ha ha.

Kommentera här: