interview with Empty Temple

Have any of you played in other bands? That list is pretty long. Bands that I'm currently in include Alone Time, Basement, Chaos Destroy, and Little Leaguer.
How is it that you started playing music? A couple friends and myself started jamming one day at our friend's house. It was my first time playing drums ever. That group went on to become The Fighting Polygon Team. 
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? I'm Jess. JBOI. Jess E Fresh. Magic Hands. I play assorted traditional rock & roll musical instruments. Empty Temple is all done on a computer though. I am a quarter century plus one year old. 
Have you had other previous members? No.
Did you make music even when you were young? I experimented with brass instruments from age seven to 15. 
Where are you from? The womb.
What year did the band form? Very early 2015.
What's your style of genre? Triptronic.
What inspires you? LSD, Spaghetti, and Serena Williams. 
How often and where do you rehearse? I do not rehearse. I only create. 
How have you developed since you started with the music? I'm a couple inches longer now. 
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? The visual arts.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Not for this project. My thoughts go around that, right around that. 
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I am not looking. There are some cool labels out there that I wouldn't mind working with if it ever came to that. But this project is very laid back at the moment so that's not really a priority for me right now.  
What made you decide to make this music? LSD, Panda Bear, and the chicks.
What are your songs about? The first release, Space Head Music, has no lyrics/vocals.
Does that make the songs have no meaning? I guess you could say it's about the textures and sounds and how they fill the space together as well. And expressing emotion through how the songs sound. 
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? I start with God and work my way down from there.
Do you compose in a certain environment? A cloud of marijuana smoke. 
Have you done any covers live? I'm above that.
What language do you sing in? American.
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Least = four or five. Most = Maybe around 150/200.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? Most shows are all ages. 
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Variety is nice, the spice of life. 
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Most of the shows I play are in Baltimore. 
What was your first gig like? Ever? I think it was at this community club house. Empty Temple has never played live
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Wherever the beer flows like wine.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Empty Temple has no merch. You can download 'Space Head Music' for free.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? You should always support local music and local record stores in your area. If you see an underground/indie/D.I.Y. band that you really like, buy their music. Support them so you, and others, can keep enjoying them. But I don't care if you pirate mainstream radio music or any crap like that. Yuck.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? It has definitely made some people greedy, if they weren't already. People end up caring more about the money they could have gotten for something rather than the messages and emotions they are expressing through their music or doing something in return for the music community. They forget to have fun. 
What do you think of my work? Great!
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I doubt anyone in Sweden has heard of Empty Temple. Maybe I'll get a few new fans from it, eh eh?
Do you have any role models or idols? I love Serena Williams.
Why do you think that they exist? I don't care why, I'm just estatic that she does. She. Is. Awe. Some.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? For me, it's pretty much a tie. There are older bands who will always inspire me. There are also a lot of really great local bands that help me with trying to better myself musically. Some of my favorite locals that you should definitely check out include Baklavaa, Quitter, Wildhoney, Big Mouth, and Two Inch Astronaut. There is also Palm from Philadelphia. They are super rad. 
What have been your biggest obstacles? Nothing. I destroy everything in my way. 
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Bring beer and pizza to practice. 
How do you get psyched for a gig? Bok Choy salads. 
Do you have any new material? I am working on some stuff now but it will probably be a while before it's all finished. 'Chromatic Kingdom' will be out Spring 2016.
What are your web sites? I'm on Facebook and Bandcamp. 
How can people reach you? Electronically.
What are your plans for the future? Sticking to the routine that is life.
Do you have something to add? I love Serena Williams.

Kommentera här: