interview with Maerormid

How is it that you started playing music? To me it was necessary and fundamental to begin playing music to express a part of me. Something that is still inside of me and finds the only way out through the musical form.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Mid - drums, guitar and vox / Managarmr – guitar / Ecnerual – violin

Have you had other previous members? Yes, the Maerormid project was born as a one man band, later on Hati joined in on the drums and the bass, this until the recording of the ep album Zenit produced in 2013.

Where are you from? Italy. Umbria. Trasimeno Lake.

What year did the band form? 2008

What's your style of genre? The roots crawl deep into black metal although I am influenced from other musical genres such as avantgard and the ethereal atmospheres of dark ambient.

What inspires you?  Existence.

How often and where do you reherse? Maerormid was born as a studio project, we only rehearse when we are about to record new material. This does not happen very often, much like a plant ispiration needs time to grow and develop.

How have you developed since you started with the music? At the beginning things where much more dilatated and istintive. Through the years everything has become clearer so that every energy has powerfully taken the right path.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Absolutely yes, I am sound engineer, I have a recording studio “Phonic Art” and I am also interested in Martial Arts and Photography.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? As I said before Maerormid is a studio project so we are not in need of a booking agency to find live opportunities. Many booking agencies ask for too much money to the bands in exchange for some live. I personally think this to be not fair and not useful.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? So far every album was labeled The Unlimited Records, which is a small independent label. For what concerns the upcoming album we are thinking to point towards a bigger label, able to give us the right visibility to the underground panorama.

What made you decide to make this music?  Personally I have played in many bands and different genres until I realized that I was missing something. I did not feel entirely satisfied and I decided to express that feeling in a completely personal project.

What are your songs about? The lyrics talk and are influenced by life and its multiple shades. They encage many opposite emotions and different and conflictual states of mind. It is a fight that makes everything extremely true and tangible.

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I always composed the musics and wrote every lyric.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Certainly with the music.

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? I believe the world itself to be a very particular environment.

What language do you sing in? Always Italian.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? No merchandise, only albums that are available both in digital or fisical form through this website: maerormid.bigcartel.com

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?

The charme and intimity of an album, both cd or vinyl, it is certainly unique. Nowadays downloading is an instrument to get to know new bands and listen to a vast amount of music, I do not believe this is something that has to be seen as a bad thing, it just needs to be used properly.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Unfortunately with the beginning of the digital era everything  has become easier, both for the listener and for whom produces music. Such mechanism has although influenced the quality level of production. I admit that it is every day more difficult to find something truly inspired and of quality in the middle of this.

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? It is right to give space to underground bands but I am not interested in selling cd’s or getting publicity, I see this thing as an opportunity to share a bit of me. That I believe to be important.

Do you have any role models or idols? I do not have any specific model or idol, there are really incredible bands which I should mention. My musical growth began with grunge and nu metal only later on in life I discovered more extreme genres like black and death metal.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I beliave it is fair to draw from both. Every band should be able to express and represent the moment it is living. The past has inevitably conditioned what came after and it is right to know it to better understand and comprehend the present.

What have been your biggest obstacles? Obstacles? Only one...myself.

Do you have any new material? We are recording a new album, as always we are trying to do something extremely personal. Such a thing is very time consuming but with a good label to support us we surely will do a good job.

What are your web sites? Who wants can visit the facebook page: www.facebook.com/maerormid

How can people reach you? On facebook or throug email: [email protected]

Do you have something to add? Thank you very much for the interview and the offered space.

Kommentera här: