interview with Nunslaughter

Have any of you played in other bands?Yes. I did a hardcore band a few years ago call SATANIC THREAT and I did a heavy doom band called TONDRA.
How is it that you started playing music? When I was 15 we noticed that there
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?Currently I am the only member. Don – 46 years old
Have you had other previous members?   NunSlaughter has had approximately 26 different members of the years
Did you make music even when you were young?I started in a band when I was 15. Nothing before that.
Where are you from?Pittsburgh Pennsylvania USA
What year did the band form? 1987 was our first release
What's your style of genre? Death Metal
What inspires you?The need to create traditional American death metal
How often and where do you rehearse?We have been on hiatus for almost 2 years
How have you developed since you started with the music?Not one damn bit
Do you have other interests of work outside the band?Motorcycles
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?We have worked with the same booking agency for 15 years.  We like working with Dreamtide Music
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that?Not at all. I think it is important to have a label but it is not essential.
What made you decide to make this music?My hometown needed a death metal band and the guys I started NUNSLAUGHTER with were just about the only people into that style of music.
What are your songs about?Death and Satan
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics?I write most of the lyrics and my deceased drummer wrote many of our songs as well.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics?Most of the time it is the music. Unless I write the entire song myself then it is lyrics.
Do you compose in a certain environment?Anywhere anytime
Have you done any covers live?A few…Slayer Venom, Exodus, Sabbat to name a few
What language do you sing in? English
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Probably 5 is the least and I think we played in front of a few thousand at a fest.
What ages are most of your concert attendants?  At this point we have people bringing their kids to see NUNSLAUGHTER so that is kind cool.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary?When we set out on tour we usually know 40- 45 songs and we switch them up for every show.
Do you have a regular place you play live often?No we do not play live very much
What was your first gig like?Small venue with punk bands. It was freaking killer.
What was your latest gig?The last show was Danny Liliker’s 50th birthday party with IMMOLATION
Have you had to cancel a gig?Only one that I remember. It was bad routing and the drive would have added an additional 20 hours to the tour. We just could not do it.
Where have you played live this year? No
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? We have no shows planned
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale?LOAD of stuff is for sale. From LP’s to tees.
Where can people buy your merchandise?www.hellsheadbangers.com
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?If they are listening then it is good I don’t care how people do it.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? In many ways it is better. Music is very accessible to everyone around the world.
What do you think of my work?EXCELLENT
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Not sure but I like to answer questions. HA
Do you have any role models or idols?Cronos
Why do you think that they exist?I gave up on everyone else and Venom was able to teach me things I wanted to know about.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?Yes I think so. I like the sound of old bands and recordings. Less polished.
What have been your biggest obstacles?Right now it is the death of our drummer.
What advice would you give other bands or artists?Just make music for yourself and if others like it that is cool too.
How do you get psyched for a gig?Of course. I want people to have a great time and make it memorable for all.
Do you have any new material?Nothing that is ready to be recorded but many ideas.
What are your web sites?www.nunslaughter.com
How can people reach you?[email protected]
What are your plans for the future?Ride motorcycles, make metal music
Do you have something to add?Metal is death death is metal nunslaughter death metal

Kommentera här: