interview with Sixty-Nine Crash

Have any of you played in other bands? First of all,thank you for the opportunity of this interview.And yes,I playied in several bands before,but most of them were tribute bands.
How is it that you started playing music? I started playing just for fun with some kids at home.We tried to do some Bon Jovi and Kiss material and we didnt sound very good.Parents just got crazy! lol
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? The band is me,Jay,the singer, Davis plays the guitar and Andy is the bassist.We're thinking of getting a permanent drummer right now,but we'll see what happens.
Have you had other previous members? Too many to name here! hehehe...A lot of guys came in and went away fast.I think,sometimes,people are not prepared for the long run or for a serious responsability within the band.I didnt form this band to screw girls,get wasted and pretend to be a Rock star.Sixty Nine Crash is a dead serious thing to me and I really try to conect with people out there through music.
Did you make music even when you were young? Music is part of me since I first saw the video for "I Love It Loud" from Kiss.That changed my life forever.But only later on,I started studying guitar and writing songs.
Where are you from? Me and the guys are from Brazil.Rio de Janeiro.
What year did the band form? I started this band in 2009 after the band I was in with Davis broke up.We even opened Firehouse's show here in Rio ,but some egos got in the way and the band died.But I always knew we could have done something more,so I decided to pick up the flag and start all over again with a new name and team.I guess we're on the right path.
What's your style of genre? I really dont like to put ourselves under some limitation cause I listen and get influenced by artists from too many diferent genres,but I guess our main inspiration comes from bands like Motley Crue, non make up KISS and the Swedish sleaze bands such as Hardcore SUperstar and Crashdiet.
What inspires you? What inspires me to write our songs are ,basically,things that I go through or things that I see happening around me.I try to tell little stories that people can hear and go like, "Hey...this also happened to me." I think it's very important to have this conection and create this bond. My songs are my way of telling people how I feel and how I see things in life.
How often and where do you reherse? Now,we're rehearsing three times a week cause we got a new drummer and er have some gigs in March ,I guess.
How have you developed since you started with the music? Speaking for myself,I think I developed a lot as a song writer and ,especially,as a frontman,wich wasnt my intention at the beginning.You see,I used to be a bass player in previous bands,but Sixty Nine Crash needed someone with no boundries and it comes to be crazy and performatic,so I jumped into it.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Too many! I love to read.I buy books and comics faster than I can read them.Also,I do some photography and work as a personal trainer at a gym club.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Right now,we're on our own.Some people in the business that I trust give us some advice and we'll see...if things get bigger,maybe we'll get someone to really help us out.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Our album (Louder!) was released in USA by a label called Demon Doll Records and you can find our cd on their website with a bonus track,Billy Idol's Rebel Yell. It's good to have a label helping us overseas.It gives you more credit to the work you're doing.I hope to get a deal in Europe and Japan too.It may help us get know in those places faster.Also,we did an independent release of the album only for Brazil and you can get the autographed copy of it contacting us,mainly through our Facebook page,
What made you decide to make this music? Just one word can describe it...Love. Music is who I am ,what I feel and how I share what i have in my heart and soul.It's a need.
What are your songs about? Like I said before,my songs are about the loves I had, the loves I lost,about getting angry at this crazy world,about believing in a better day to come or even about simple things like sex.For the next album,I have some stuff already writen about things i've been through lately like the pain of someone you love passing.Some pretty deep stuff,I guess.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? For this first album,I wrote all the songs,but I think it's gonna be more a colective process for the next one,wich I intend to release around September.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? I always start with a good,catchy melody.I really think a good song is based on catchy,stick to your mind chorus or something like that.
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Usually in my room with no one around, sometimes listening to a certain song or a band that may share the feeling I'm looking to put in the song I'm writing.
Have you done any covers live? Yes.We did some Rolling Stones,Poison,Crashdiet and now,we're doing Billy Idol's Rebel Yell on a regular basis cause it's in the american edition of our album.
What language do you sing in? Always in English cause I think it's the official Rock N Roll language.
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? We have basically the same amount of people at the show.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? Most people are around late twenties,early thirties I think.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Since we have only one album out yet,the set list is almost the same ever ynight. We change one song or two.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? We love to play in a bar called Calabouco Rock Bar here in Rio.Great sound,nice people and very cozy place.
What was your first gig like? With Sixty Nine Crash was just fine cause I'm used to it now.I just felt that little good anxiety,but back the,at the very first show I ever did,I remember my legs really shaking!! lol
What was your latest gig? We played Jan 9th.It was my birthday and the place was packed.So cool!
Have you had to cancel a gig? Not to this day.
Where have you played live this year? Only in our hometown,but we hope to change that in the months to come.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? We're starting to work on that right now.I got an artist to design some cool tshirts for us.
Where can people buy your merchandise? We'll let you know as soon as it's done,but probably you'll find it on our website. sixtyninecrash.com
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? It's strange cause it certanly affects the industry,and it would be an very long discussion here,but,somehow,we still see new bands popping out everywhere and everyday.The internet may kill big sales,but affords us to have new bands swimming on the same sea as the big fishes,if you know what I mean.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? I think it's still changing and we dont know wich way to go.But,at least,the big record companies are not so big anymore.The artist holds a better part in this deal,I guess.
What do you think of my work? Also,it's made out of love.So,if it;s made from the heart and soul just because you believe in it and dont expect nothing in return,you got all the respect in the world.We're all in this because we love it.Nothing more.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Especially beacause you're from Sweden,a place that I have learned to love in the two times that I have been there,it's already worthy cause it would be fantastic to get known there..Did you know that we shot a video in Stockholm last year? Of course,it may ope doors anywhere else for us cause your blog is famous!
Do you have any role models or idols? In music and even in life,I tell you Paul Stanley from KISS and Nikki Sixx from Motley Crue are very important to me as performers and song writers.I have read their books too and try to use their wisdom to make it right.
Why do you think that they exist? I think we can always relate to someone and follow their good examples and avoid their mistakes.People who have walked the dark road and still have something positive to say and share are very important.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Both.
What have been your biggest obstacles? Brazil doesnt have a tradition in Rock N Roll.Most people doesnt like bands taht sing in English too.It's a very narrow minded mentality,you know...That's why it's more important to me to make Sixty Nine Crash known overseas.As an example...I made tons of interviews and all for blogs or websites from Germany,USA,Finland,France,Sweden...and very little stuff for the Brazilian ones.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Dont fool yourself thinking you`re better than you are.There`s always something missing.There`s always something better to do.It`s a constant chalenge.
How do you get psyched for a gig? I just like to seat down quiet and alone.some people even think that I'm sad or something..hahaa
Do you have any new material? I`m already writing new material for the upcoming album and I'm going to Davi`s home tomorrow to cut some demos and stuff.Also we just did a new video this week for the song "Wicked". For the next album,we're includinga special version for a song from a Swedish band.Stay tuned!  
What are your web sites? Our Facebook page is very active,and I always answer people there.besides,we have our website, sixtyninecrash.com and a Reverbnation page. You can find me on my Facebook page too. /jaybroxx
What are your plans for the future? Record our next album and as many shows as we can.
Do you have something to add? Dont forget to follow us on our Facebook and Youtube pages and we really hope to maybe get a record deal out there in Europe soon! Thank You!  TACK!

Kommentera här: