interview with Uvikra

Personal questions about the band and their members:
Have you played in any band before? I didn't play in any real band before starting Uvikra. I only played by myself, and made my own music, and I occasionally played with friends who weren't very musically inclined, so nothing serious happened with them.
How will they do that you began to enter the field of music? I gravitated towards music since early childhood, so it just happened naturally.
What's your name? / Who plays what? / How old are you? My pseudonym is Loikav, I'm currently 24 years old, and I play guitar, drums, bass, and do all the vocals in Uvikra. Uvikra is a one man band, so I handle every aspect of it.
Have you had previous members? No.
Did you do music already when you were small?
I first began playing guitar at the age of 9.
Where are you from? Vilnius, Lithuania.
What year was started the band? I came up with the idea to begin Uvikra in September of 2009.
What do you play music style? Initially Uvikra was a black metal project, which then incorporated death metal, and later various (experimental) rock elements. At last, the latest album is primarily alternative/hard rock.
What inspires you? Many bands inspire me musically. Life experiences inspire me lyrically.
How often do you repair? I play guitar every other day, and drums once or twice a week.
Each repaired you? All the Uvikra practice sessions are done solely by myself.
Do you use earplugs when you appear? When I play drums, yes. But when I play guitar, I usually play the electric guitar unplugged.
How have you evolved since you started with music? Black Metal, Death Metal, Experimental, Progressive Rock/Metal, Death/Doom Metal, Alternative Rock, Hard Rock within 6 years.
Do you have any other interests or jobs outside of the band and the music? I do have a full time job which is not related to music. Other than that, I'm also involved in some other local bands as well.
Are you looking for the booking company, what are your thoughts and requirements around it then?
If I understand correctly, a booking company may be needed when playing live. So, since Uvikra is a one man band, playing live is out of the question.
Are you looking for record labels, what are your thoughts and requirements around it then?
I'm not actively looking for a label, but if anyone would like to release my music on a physical format, then sure, why not.
Questions about your music and lyrics:
How will that you do music? Usually the music comes first, then the lyrics. It stems from a guitar riff, or melody, or chord progression.
What are your songs about the whole? Mainly personal experiences, struggles and frustrations.
Who writes the lyrics? Myself.
Who does the music? Myself as well (Loikav).
When you do a song, you start with the music or the lyrics? - Music comes first most of the time. But every now and then I have a theme for the lyrics before I write the music.
In which environment do you usually do your songs? I write most of my music at home, while lyrics might come to me anywhere, anytime.
Do you play only original songs live and also covers? I don't play live.
What language are you singing about? English.
Questions about your views:
What do you think about downloading more music than buying CDs nowadays? I think access to music is a good thing, but the bands and labels ultimately suffer due to this.
How to think and do you think the music industry has changed since they started downloading music? Most people don't care about CDs anymore, and music has become more disposable and unimportant. The art of the album format is dying as well.
If you prefer downloaded music, cassette, CD or Vinyl?
Digital files are convenient, as long as they don't sound poor. But I still try to collect CDs myself, usually used cheap ones from Amazon.
What would you do if the music is not the fans? - I make music for myself. Every couple of years or so, I have an urge to make an album for my own personal fulfillment, regardless of whether there are fans to listen to it or not.
What do you think of my work? I appreciate that you and other similar initiatives help to expose obscure bands and artists.
What are your role models or idols?
I can say that my personal favorite bands/artists are the following: Deep Purple, Black Sabbath, Metallica, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Frank Zappa, Katatonia, Opeth, Darkthone, Rush.
Is it easier to draw inspiration from older bands than bands that are active today? For me, yes.
News and updates:
Do you have new material in grams? I released a new album called "Traumatic" this past March. 
What is your website? All my music can be heard on my bandcamp page: https://uvikra.bandcamp.com/
How can I get you? I'm reachable at [email protected]
What are your plans for the future? Currently there are no plans for Uvikra, as I just finished a new album. Gotta rest and recover from that.
Do you have anything to add? Thanks for the interview.

Kommentera här: