interview with Kymatica

Have any of you played in other bands? I have a little acoustic project growing but no other bands. Every other member of the band in in other bands. Some of the members of the band are in several other bands. 
How is it that you started playing music? I fell in love with the sound of the metal power chord. 
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? I am Luke Kaea singer and guitarist and I am old, the drummer is Zan Petrovic, second guitarist is Shawn Hillman,  keyboardist Nadia Schibli, bassist Chris Mcllroy. 
Have you had other previous members? Yes, lots. 
Did you make music even when you were young? I started playing guitar and learning tunes when I was about 15 or 16. However it wasn't until I went to music collage in my late twenties that I learned to really create a coherent song. 
Where are you from? Born and raised on the west coast of Canada. 
What year did the band form? I started using the name around 2010 or so. 
What's your style of genre? Um lets say progressive, blackend, atmospheric, death metal.
What inspires you? Silence, other music, natural rhythms like rain on a tin roof, mainly silence. 
How often and where do you reherse? 1 or 2 times a week
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I teach martial arts and that is also a great passion of mine. 
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? I am open to any good opportunities that I can find. These days it's particularly hard to manage a bands promotion as the online world is always evolving. 
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? We are definitely going to be striving for a label to work with soon. 
What made you decide to make this music? Slayer
What are your songs about? Death, impossible experiences, tragedy, the human capacity for both horror and divine insight.  
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I do all the main writing.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Music, always begin with music. 
Do you compose in a certain environment? My little music study in my house. Nothing special, just a desk with recording program and a direct mic input. 
Have you done any covers live? Not a a while. 
What language do you sing in? English
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? I dunno
What ages are most of your concert attendants? Usually 19-30 years 
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? The set list varies but at the same time we do have some main tunes we almost always play. 
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Yes,
What was your first gig like? Fun, challenging, and exciting. 
What was your latest gig? Back in February.
Where have you played live this year? 7 Dining Lounge, Pat's Pub, and we are going to be playing the Metalocalypstick Fest July 1st
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Vancouver mainly, maybe a few shows in Victoria and the BC interior. 
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? We started selling merch after we started playing shows. We mainly have T-shirts and CD's. 
Where can people buy your merchandise? It can be ordered online via the website.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? That's a complex question. It's totally unavoidable. So since it's here to stay I would like to see a better way to get money from fans to bands than what currently exists. 
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? It's to hard to really know exactly what the future of this situation will be as there are so many variables. I like things like patreon as they seem like a good start at providing a way for artists to live off their art. 
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? All posts and publicity are helpful. 
Do you have any role models or idols? Sort of, I always keep in mind that people are complex creatures. I have been heavily influenced by others but I never forget that they are not perfect beings but rather are just a human being like myself. 
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Inspiration can come from anywhere. 
What have been your biggest obstacles? The cost of having all the equipment and renting studios and all that expensive stuff. Also I have had trouble finding band members that are in a place in their lives that allows them to be reliable and consistent. 
How do you get psyched for a gig? Silent meditation on internal fire.
Do you have any new material? Yes, a new EP is getting recorded now.
What are your web sites? http://www.kymatica.ca/
How can people reach you? via the website, Facebook, or email [email protected]
What are your plans for the future? Make metal, have fun, going as far I can be doing that. 
Do you have something to add? Thanks again for the interest.

Kommentera här: