interview with Bone-Rot

Have any of you played in other bands? 

Corey: The Varmits (punk n Roll), OSI, (Skate Rock), F.A.C.A. (Grindcore), Lawmaker (Hardcore), Dying Rebels (Punk).

Ian: Accidental Overdose (Crust Punk), Syphllis Suicide (Punk), F.A.C.A (Grindcore), Lawmaker (Hardcore).
How is it that you started playing music?Corey: After Lawmaker and F.A.C.A. broke up Ian and I wanted to start a different band. Ian knew Kyle played the drums and that's how we started Bone-Rot. Adam joined later on.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?

Ian: I am Ian I do throat hole things and I am 27 years old

Corey: I am Corey I play guitar and I am 28.

Kyle: I'm Kyle I bang on things and I'm 26

Adam: I'm Adam I smoke a lot of weed and play Bass. I'm 22.
Have you had other previous members? Ian: No shockingly.
Did you make music even when you were young?

Ian: Yeah I was in stupid silly punk bands.

Corey: Yeah I've been doing this since I was 14. 

Kyle: I was apart of school of rock in highschool regrettably

Adam: Yeah I used to play the Violin, I played it on my downtime a lot. 
Where are you from?

Corey: Denver

Ian: Technically Chicago, but I grew up in Denver

Adam:  Hometown Denver.

Kyle: Born and raised in Denver
What year did the band form? Ian: 2014
What's your style of genre? Ian: SLAM
What inspires you?

Ian: Serial Killers, My Favorite Murder, Wrestling, Comic Books, Walka-Flaka Flame, Pure dis state for the human race and lifting weights. Oh and Suicide. 

Corey: Horror movies.

Kyle: My Job, Video games.

Adam: The Commodores
How often and where do you reherse?

Corey: Twice a week my house

Ian: Twice a weekish Coreys House.
How have you developed since you started with the music? Ian: We started as a Power Violence band. Shifted into Grindcore got really sick of that and wanted to play brutal Deathmetal. That developed into the SLAM sound.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band?

Ian: I am an accredited Chef. Which is my real job. 

Corey:  I work to keep playing music.

Kyle: I talk to people on the phone all day for work.

Adam: I like to film, skate and smoke a lot of weed
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Ian: We'll get there when we get there. Right now we just want to have some fun and play heavy as shit. 
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that?

Corey: We have been currently been working with Legion Productions. Which has been a great label.

Ian: We are always looking for the next step though.
What made you decide to make this music?

Kyle: We wanted to progress and not get stuck doing the same thing. We wanted heavier and Ian and Corey started getting really into SLAM.

Ian: What really made me want to get into this music is how terrible the world is. How disgusting the human race is this is my way of coping with it. This is my way to get past it. This is my way to get past it and shed a little misery onto the world. And I really like serial killers. 
What are your songs about? Ian: I take real life murder cases and I put myself into the shoes of the killer and I write the song from their point of view. I write about the end of the world. My love for animals and how I want to kill every animal abuser and good and bad movies. 
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Kyle: Ian does the lyrics and we all have a say in how the instrumentals sound.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics?

Ian: Yes

Corey:  We start with the music.

Kyle: Ian normally has a bunch of lyrics that he wants to use and will match them with the instrumentals. 
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Ian: Coreys basement.
Have you done any covers live? Ian: We did a SLAM version of Blistered in the Sun. A grindcore version of Sex and Violence by The Exploited. Grindcore version of Brain Stew by Green Day. A SLAM version of Break Stuff by Limpbiskit. Last the song Suffer by Napalm Death.
What language do you sing in? Ian: Pig Squeals and English
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Ian: We've played to about 5 people and then played to about 70-100 people.
What ages are most of your concert attendants?Ian: anywhere between their mid 20s and late 40s
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Corey: We Vary.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Kyle: Our home spot is Bar Bar. 
What was your first gig like?

Ian: We played to two people and the other bands. We also had no clue what we where doing.

Kyle: I was really nervous.
What was your latest gig?

Corey: We just opened for Psychotic Defilement.

Ian: and it was fucking tight. 
Have you had to cancel a gig?

Corey: No we haven't

Ian: We've had gigs cancel on us but we have never cancelled one.
Where have you played live this year? Corey: All over the place.
Where do you plan to gig the coming year? Ian: Every where and anywhere
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Corey: we are always getting more merch.  We are currently working on getting out a new shirt.
Where can people buy your merchandise? Kyle: From us at the moment. Our music is on iTunes, Amazon and Google Play and Band Camp.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?

Corey: Doesn't matter as long as it gets out there.

Ian: I don't have a CD player in my car so I understand downloading music.

Kyle: meh. doesn't bother me.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this?

Corey: It's made things more accessible.

Ian: People need to stop complaining. 
What do you think of my work? Corey: I think it's really cool that you're doing what you do and more people should be doing this. 
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Ian: Gets our name out to Germany! 
Do you have any role models or idols?

Ian: Walka-Flaka Flame, Stone Cold Steve Austin, Davy Havok, Vincent Bennett, Rich Piana.

Corey: Justin Brodrick. 

Adam: Larry Clark, Harmony Korine, John Chu, Some Kind of Wonderful. 

Kyle: Neil Pert

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?

Ian: we wouldn't be here if it wasn't for the older bands, but the newer bands are something to look up and we want to prove something to them and do something different than them.
What have been your biggest obstacles?

Everyone: work

Adam: Mainly School.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Ian: Be different. Stop regurgitating the same bullshit everytime. 
How do you get psyched for a gig?

Ian: I take a shot of pre-workout and get hyped.

Corey: I just play.

Kyle: I don't really do anything

Adam: I smoke weed and I jerk off before a show. 
Do you have any new material?

Corey: Yes

Ian: we are working on a couple of new songs.
What are your web sites?

Kyle: We are on

Bandcamp: https://bone-rot.bandcamp.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bonerothc
How can people reach you? Kyle: Facebook we are really quick to respond.
What are your plans for the future? Ian: I want to rule the fucking world. I want more people to know who we are. I want to be signed to a bigger label. I want everybody to see how good we are.
Do you have something to add? Ian: I have something to add. Keep listening to good metal, keep supporting your local scene. Death to false metal.

 

 

Kommentera här: