interview with AINOA

Have any of you played in other bands?
Pauli: I have had several different garage-band-project type of things, with few gigs every now and then. Only covers with them. I also sang for a heavy metal band, that released few low-quality demos before disbanding. We also have a covers-band with this line-up, but we only play for friends and alike.
Eero: I have played drums in a few bands yes. One of them was a bluesrock band. One band was a finnish punk band.
How is it that you started playing music?
P: I’m a late bloomer, I started playing drums in high school. The school band didn’t have a singer, and I was the only one brave enough to open my mouth, so I got the job. Then I slowly started singing more and playing drums less.
E: I started playing drums when I was around 10. I went to a private drum teacher. In high school I wanted to learn guitar, but I thought playing guitar was too difficult, so I taught myself how to play bass. But a few years later my parents bought me an electric guitar, and to my own surprise I learned to play guitar quite fast. So I’m self taught in everything else but drums.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
Pauli, singing and programming. 27 years old.
Eero, guitars/bass/drums/programming. 26 years old.
Kalle, keaboards. 30 years old.
Have you had other previous members?
We haven’t had any previous members, this lineup has been there from the beginning.
Did you make music even when you were young?
P: I only wrote lyrics/poems/stuff like that, since I was in elementary school. Never been good at writing stories, but lyrics is a whole another ball game.
E: Actually the song “Pieces” is the first complete song that I’ve written. I’ve done a couple albums with my previous bands but I wasn’t that much involved with the writing process then. It was like a couple of years ago when I really started making my own riffs etc...
Where are you from?
We are from Kokkola, Central Ostrobothnia, Finland.
What year did the band form?
Band was formed in the spring of 2016.
What's your style of genre?
Metal.
What inspires you?
P: Current events, world affairs, people, nature… If it inspires an emotion, then sooner or later it will end up in the songs.
E: Bands that I like, music that I’m currently listening to.
How often and where do you rehearse?
As we do not have a stable line-up, we aren’t currently rehearsing. Only songwriting, demoing and terrorizing world with our creations.
How have you developed since you started with the music?
P: I definitely pay more attention to how I write lyrics. I have always admired the way some lyricist write lyrics and I tend to drew influences from that, while avoiding copying anybody. Trying to create something of my own.
E: In many ways. Lately I’ve been trying to be more open minded when it comes to riffs, song structures and stuff..
Do you have other interests of work outside the band?
P: Too many. Movies, games, books to be more boring. I enjoy photography, writing in general, trying to learn to play guitar and bass, and the list goes on… Oh, tattoos!
E: Not really. My time is pretty limited because of work and family.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?
No, as we are not intending to play gigs… Yet… ;)
But a booking agency surely helps when it comes to getting gigs.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that?
P: Well we have put our demos on public circulation, so to speak. But we haven’t send anything to anywhere. If some label would notice us and want to do something, I personally don’t see anything wrong with it. I would prefer smaller, independent label, as I want to keep the control over the things I wan to do.
E: We are not currently looking for a label. But if some record label would sing us, that would be a big dream come true. I like Spinefarm records, because it’s a Finnish label, and they have come a long way to the point were they are now.
What made you decide to make this music?
P: I going to make a cliche answer here, but because I feel the need to get this out. It’s something that keeps rolling around inside me, wanting to get out.
E: I just got bored learning songs made by other people. And when I got the opportunity to make music myself, I was surprised how “easy” it was for me.
What are your songs about?
P: About this crazy little ride we call life. =D Some lyrics are public commentaries, other try to wonder the unknowns of the human mind, some are just stories I wanted to tell.
E: To me, our songs are about the struggles in every life.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics?
P: I write the lyrics, and I sometimes offer tiny pieces of music, which can be used in the composing. I’m also involved in the arrangements.
E: The writing process usually begins with me coming up with a riff, or sometimes a whole song. And then I would show or send it to Pauli, and sometimes we write together. Then Pauli writes the vocals and lyrics.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics?
P: I think it’s more often music first, lyrics then, although there are exceptions.
E: It’s usually the music first yes.
Do you compose in a certain environment?
P: I actually write most of my stuff in the night. I’m more of a stay up late, wake up later kind of guy, not a morning person at all. More often than not, I have inspiration just as I’m about to go to sleep.
E: Most often I would write in the night. That is the only part of the day when I get to be just by myself. What type of songs I write usually depends on my current state of mind. I guess you would think that the “heavy” songs come when I’m angry or something. But to me it’s the other way around. Usually the most fast and “heavy “ songs come when I’m feeling good and happy. And when I’m sad or anxious, that’s when I write slow, melodic stuff.
Have you done any covers live? Not live, but we have recorded couple covers. Let’s see, if we ever release them.
What language do you sing in?
P: Our first song, Pieces, was actually first written in Finnish and even demoed as such. But then I felt, that I can express myself better in english, and apparently Eero also liked english-sung music, ‘cause we made an unanimous decision to change the language.
E: At first we started writing in Finnish. But then we decided to switch to English. In my opinion, everything sounds better in English :)
Where do you plan to gig the coming year?
P: Most likely no, but who knows, if we decide to make our debut this year.
E: Yeah, we need a bassist, 2.guitarist, and a drummer so we will have to wait for the gigs.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?
P: It’s actually quite an issue, as things need to evolve. Streaming is the word of today, and I myself use a streaming service everyday (no mentioning names, not advertising here). But I also love going to a record store and browsing through the albums, there is something therapeutic about that. SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL RECORD STORE!
Illegal downloading on the other hand, I’m not saying that is destroying music business. People, who really like the music and appreciate the band, will buy the album even if it’s easier and free to download. Support mentality, you know.
E: Well, I think it has its pros and cons, like everything in life. “streaming music” is the thing now and you just have to adapt to the rest of the world. The fact is that very few people buy Cd’s anymore. I’m using spotify daily and I think it is amazing. But then again.. I still buy a CD if I really like the album. I say that it doesn’t matter if you buy music Online or the physical copy, just support the bands you like.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this?
P: A lot, and mostly towards the worse. Big companies chasing people down and dragging their asses to court, demanding ridiculous amounts of money for downloading a single album. It’s utterly ridiculous. That is not how you fix the problem, you only create resentful people.
Then again, if it drives record companies and artists to release quality material, then it has done something good as a whole. Music is about music, not about money. I don’t make a penny singing or writing lyrics, but I still do it.
E: It has changed a lot. Nobody wants to pay for music anymore. But on the other hand, making music is so simple now, that basically everyone can do it in their home. So I guess we get more music, so that can be a positive thing.
What do you think of my work?
P: Independent music journalism is awesome. You reach a whole another democratic, than the mainstream media. I feel that you have a real interest in new, unheard bands and discovering new music. Keep up the awesome work!
E: I think you are doing us a favor. And I thank you for that. Keep up the good work, it’s awesome.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business?
P: If this interview bring one more listener, I think is has been worth it. Like I said, it’s all about the music.
E: I hope that we can reach more people by doing this interview.
Do you have any role models or idols?
P: I used to have a lot, when I was younger. Nowadays, I look up to a lot of musicians, poets, etc, but I don’t consider having role models. I just watch what others and drew inspiration from that.
E: Many, but I try to think that I’m doing my own thing, and not try to copy someone else.
Why do you think that they exist?
P: You always want to relate, so you look the ones you can relate to. Some relate to a pop singer, others to a singer in a heavy metal band, others to a politician. It’s all about what speaks to you.
E: I think it’s just reacting to your environment and other people. You see someone doing something cool and it “touches” you somehow. I hope I can give that same feeling to someone else someday.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?
P: No difference. If they do their stuff good, I can relate to it.
E: I think its progressive. Like the early 2000’s bands maybe took inspiration from the 90’s bands. And new bands maybe take inspiration from the 2000’s bands. I don’t now if that makes any sense.
What have been your biggest obstacles?
P: Getting over being so god damn critical towards myself. Also life throws stick between the spokes, but the show must go on. Also as I was younger, I feared other peoples opinions and reactions. Getting over that, and learning to just do what makes me happy and satisfied (without hurting anyone, offcourse) really eases your life.
E: Finding time to write music. And if have struggled with being too critical towards myself too. Now a days I’m pretty even with myself. Whatever comes out, comes out. When it comes to music, I really don’t “plan” anything. Every song is based on intuition and feelings.
What advice would you give other bands or artists?
P: Always do it for the music, and fun. When you do your stuff for anything else, then the car is already in the woods. And do whatever makes you happy, never care what others want you to do.
E: Just do what makes YOU happy. Don’t listen to other people.
Do you have any new material?
We just released 4 new demos, on our Soundcloud-page.
We currently have 7 finished demos.
What are your web sites?
How can people reach you?
P: Through any of the pages above, but I think Facebook would be the most efficient way.
E: I’m not on Facebook anymore, but Pauli uses Facebook. I mostly handle the band’s Instagram, and Youtube pages.
What are your plans for the future?
P: Well, in my opinion, more songs, and getting a good line-up so we can start playing gigs.
E: More songs.Then a full length album in a real studio. Then it would be nice to have a great line-up. I feel ready for the gigs already :)
Do you have something to add?
P: Thank you for the opportunity for an interview. =)
E: Thanks for your time and I hope you could spread our music. And btw: I LOVE Swedish metal

Kommentera här: