interview with Alex Saba

Have any of you played in other bands? I played with Hora do Rush (quartet) before my solo career  , El Kabong (acoustic guitar trio) and A&B Duo.
How is it that you started playing music? I started playing acoustic guitar at a Catholic church following mu parents, there I invited many friends to do a more "open sound" then the regular one used to be heard at churchs. After I played with many school friends at festivals and at university I joined a band called "Sobremesa" wich later transformed into Hora do Rush.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? I´m Alex Saba. I´m a guitarist, but I also play keyboards, flutes and percussion. I´m 59.
Have you had other previous members? I´m a solo artist.
Did you make music even when you were young? I started writing at 14, playing acoustic guitar and 12 strings acoustic guitar. Later I add electric and synth guitar and keyboads.
Where are you from? I´m from Rio de Janeiro - Brazil.
What year did the band form? I started my solo work just after the quartet disband. My first album is from 1996.
What's your style of genre? I play mainly instrumental music. The first album was a Progressive one, the second was music for a modern catholic mass, the third a soundtrack for an original stage play and so on... 
What inspires you? I get inspiration from life. My own life, my friends and family.
How often and where do you reherse? Twicw a week.
How have you developed since you started with the music? It´s a long way...
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I´m also a holistic therapist  and a master of Reiki.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I have my own label.
What made you decide to make this music? Was a inner calling.
What are your songs about? About life, about people, about me.
 
What ages are most of your concert attendants? From 21 to 81
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Vary for sure
What was your first gig like? Enchanting
What was your latest gig? Hard night.
Where have you played live this year? This year I´m out of traditional stages
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? My CDs
Where can people buy your merchandise? CDBaby and CD stores
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? We have to live with this
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? The guys were not prepared
Do you have any role models or idols? Idols? Of course: Jan Akkerman, Philip Glass, Mike Oldfield, Chick Corea and many others
Why do you think that they exist? Hard work and love for music
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Older bands and some of the new ones.
What have been your biggest obstacles? Be an instrumental performer at Brazil.
Do you have any new material? I´m writing new material right now.
What are your web sites? www.alexsaba.com
How can people reach you? At Facebook like you or by email.
What are your plans for the future? Play some gigs with a synth orchestra.
Do you have something to add? Only to thank you for your interest.

Kommentera här: