interview with Once Around

Have any of you played in other bands? Everyone has played their part in the music world before OA. We are all still very young so this is pretty much our first real venture as a rock band. 

How is it that you started playing music? Growing up listening to the music our parents were playing around the house like KISS, Skid Row, Motley Crue. As well as discovering our own like Black Veil Brides, CrashDiet, Motionless In White, Falling In Reverse. Watching those bands just triggered something within the music that seemed to really get me. It was videos like Skid Row's "Youth Gone Wild" and Black Veil Brides "The Legacy" that blew me away and made me say, "I wanna be that!" 

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? My name is Sebastian Sikk Hadtrath and I am the lead vocalist of the band (19). Wrath Starz on lead and rhythm guitars (17) Chase on Drums (17), and Axel K Gessner on Bass Guitars (21). 

Have you had other previous members? Yes we have had another bass player. 

Did you make music even when you were young?Most definitely. I started writing at the age of 13 along with my brother, Wrath. 

Where are you from? We are currently living in Madison, WI. 

What year did the band form? 2015 

What's your style of genre? I really hate genres. It's all just rock n roll to me. But if you had to pinpoint our sound we like to call it, Hardcore Glam Rock. 

What inspires you? The rain, hate comments, neon lights, bad times, and good times. 

How often and where do you rehearse? We rehearse in my basement about 5 days a week. 

How have you developed since you started with the music? The song writing process and overall feeling towards our songs and as a whole has grown into something more original and strong as of late. Much better than before and always continually doing so. 

Do you have other interests of work outside the band?Skateboarding, coffee, being outside. 

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?We play as much gigs as we possibly can. Right now we do everything ourselves and we have gotten very far for most bands. Always looking for the extra help tho. :) 

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? We are currently signed to Born To Be Records and so far it has given us a new step and a bigger step in the right direction for us to continue to further our career. I think it's important to be yourself tho as well. Don't let labels control you but at the same time I believe you need them to get yourself out to the world. It's just the way the industry is today but you have to find one that fits you and your band. 

What made you decide to make this music? Because I get to be creative, I get to do things outside the box. We don't like to pigeon hole ourselves into one genre or idea. Every song speaks for itself in a way that everyone can relate to in some way shape or form. That's what we try to do with our music, this is why I make this music. To give people that same emotional connection thru every lyric and guitar chord that we feel. 

What are your songs about? It varies between each song. We are currently working on something very conseptuial that actually stars with our latest release, "Devil Inside"! 

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I, myself (Sebastian) writes all the lyrics. I also do a lot of the composing along side of Wrath. 

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? It varies between each song. Our single "Idol" started out with the music first then I came in after. So we really don't have a preference, it's just whatever way we can come out with a great song. 

Do you compose in a certain environment? Whatever the song is about I like to be in a place that seems to fit my mood or emotion for the song, yes. 

Have you done any covers live?Oh yeah. "The Outsider" by Black Veil Brides, "Some Fuckin' Shitass" by Life Sex and Death, and "Velvet Rope" by Santa Cruz, just to name a few.

What language do you sing in?American English. 

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? We have played to 1 person one night and the next we play in front of 500. That's how it is starting out. I like it. 

What ages are most of your concert attendants? We would like them all to be all ages considering our fan base is more of a younger population, but that's not always the case and is most of the time not in our control. Other wise the shows are 18+. 

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? We try to stick to a healthy amount of the same songs every night. Mostly to support our upcoming release along with our last two singles and some covers. But that's how it is for everyone. Just the standered I guess. 

What was your first gig like? Wild, still get the same feeling every night as I got the first night. That's why I love music. It can do that to you. 

What was your latest gig?Brat Fest in Madison, WI

Have you had to cancel a gig? Yeah, prefer not to play with fat bearded dudes with khakis and dad hats. 

Where have you played live this year?Wisconsin, Iowa, Minnesota, Ohio

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? The entire U.S and Europe. 

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? We started right away. We have shirts, sweatshirts, hats, beanies, wristbands, posters, necklaces. Almost everything. 

Where can people buy your merchandise?www.oncearoundidols.com/store 

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?It's dumb but that's just the way it is. 

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Drastically. But again the world is evolving everyday and that includes the music industry and unfortunately it's had it's bad moments but there is also a lot of good. 

How do you get psyched for a gig? I like to listen to Motionless In White - 570 and Black Veil Brides - Youth & Whiskey before I go on. The meaning and lyrics to both of em reminds me of why I get on stage everynight and do what I do! I also do some David Lee Roth kicks to get my energy flowin haha! 

Do you have any new material? Yes, we are working very hard on some new songs right now. This is something I have personally always invisioned to release ever since starting this band and now I feel we have the right tools in our hands to make it happen and make it done right. It's something the fans should be very excited about! 

What are your web sites?

www.oncearoundidols.com

www.twitter.com/oncearoundband

www.facebook.com/oncearoundband

How can people reach you?

[email protected]

What are your plans for the future? To kill the scene and make it our own. 

Do you have something to add? Thanks for having us, we will see you in Sweden hopefully soon! To all the haters out there, please keep it coming. We really appreciate it. You don't know me, I don't know you but we go together. See you on the top!

 

Kommentera här: