interview with 54 Reasons

Have any of you played in other bands?
Mark has played in Compasshtx, Dad Figures and Dumb Pups.
Austin has played in a band called crucify the criminal.
Juan hasn't played in a band other than this one.
How is it that you started playing music?
Juan- I browsed on youtube and stumbled upon blink 182 and my brain exploded.
Austin- I always loved drumming and looked up to Jake Garland from Memphis May Fire
Mark- My sister played me the album American Idiot by Green Day and I was hooked ever since
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? - Juan - Guitar/Vocals (20), Austin - Drums (21), Mark - Bass/Vocals (18)
Have you had other previous members? Yeah, a variety of bass players until we stumbled upon our awesome bassist.
Did you make music even when you were young?
Juan- Yes I was in choir since 6th grade so I made lyrics and sang them.
Austin- Yes I've been playing drums since junior high.
Mark- I have at least 200 song ideas just chilling on my computer waiting to see the light of day
Where are you from? Houston, Texas 
What year did the band form? 2013 our first show was on Halloween in 2013.
What's your style of genre? Pop Punk
What inspires you?
Juan- listening to good bands and especially watching them live. Pushes me to become better.
Austin- Playing live and making myself better at drumming
Mark- The feeling I get when I listen to good bands
How often and where do you reherse? Pretty often and we usually practice in Austin's garage
How have you developed since you started with the music?
Juan- I opened my self up to other genres and learning from them to make something new.
Austin- I used to play a lot of post hardcore but when me and Juan started the band I played pop Punk. So my drumming is more versatile now.
Mark- I used to only listen to pop punk but I really like playing/listening to Midwest Emo, Psychedelic classic rock, Lofi Indie, Jizz Jazz (shout out to Mac Demarco)
Do you have other interests of work outside the band?
Juan- I would like to have a studio but I don't really care right now other than playing and touring.
Austin- I would love to drive a tank.
Mark- I really want to learn how to produce and work in a studio, but like I just want to be involved in music 
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? It would never hurt but at the moment juan does all the booking.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? We would love it, to get more exposure but wouldn't want to rely on them forever.
What made you decide to make this music? Listening to blink 182 and green day sparked this band. Cause without them we would have probably never met.
What are your songs about? Girls ;) and life experiences.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Juanito usually writes the lyrics and songs, I came up with a riff that might be in a new song we're releasing later this year
Do you start with the music or the lyrics?
Juan- music cause I get a feel of it. Then I write about a topic that the song makes me feel.
Austin- lyrics then music because as I write I have an idea how the song will go.
Mark- Personally I start with writing a notebook of lyrics and after I have a bunch of lyrics I write some riffs on my riff stick and see which lyrics fit best
Do you compose in a certain inviroment?
Juan- no I do it anywhere I like happy songs that make people laugh and smile. But occasionally I'll do a sad song.
Austin- anywhere especially my job cause I hate it there.
Mark- usually like to be really sad when I write because it makes it much more meaningful to me
Have you done any covers live? we play some old Blink 182 songs and green day but we might stop as our variety of songs get bigger.
What language do you sing in? English 
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? the least amount of people has been like 4 people and the maximum people to attend is like 30-50 I think
What ages are most of your concert attendants? 16-32
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? we play the same songs but we move them around in the set list and add in new covers when songs start getting old
Do you have a regular place you play live often? The White Swan <3
What was your first gig like?
Juan- nerve wrecking I missed a whole verse of a song.
Austin- amazing
Mark- scary as FUCK
What was your latest gig?It was an E.P release for Compasshtx it was pretty awesome.
Have you had to cancel a gig? I honestly can't remember, I dont think we have
Where have you played live this year? Blue Giraffe, White Swan, Schliterbahn, super happy fun land, scout bar.
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? We've been talking about a tour recently 
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? I think we've always had merch, we have CD's and shirts.
Where can people buy your merchandise? COME TO THE SHOWS, or online just message the Facebook page or on iTunes.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? It just makes buying music boring for the people downloading music. Go to a record store and pick up some physical copies
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Artist dont make as much money or get as much support because of streaming
What do you think of my work? It's pretty radical 
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I hope it will get us some exposure.
Do you have any role models or idols? Tom Delonge, Ben Barlow, Jimi Hendrix, Billie Joe Armstrong, Mark Hoppus, all the dudes in Segway, Jake Garland, Mike Dirnt, Tre cool, Travis Barker
Why do you think that they exist? To spread some most triumphant jams that get people boomin
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?
Juan- definitely older for me.
Austin- both
Mark- For me I would say both. I love old school pop punk but I'm friends with a lot of the newer pop punk bands so I'm very immersed in that scene and sound as well
What have been your biggest obstacles?
Juan- Not having a reliable bassist until we found Mark.
Mark- mental illness and depression.
How do you get psyched for a gig? 
Juan- count sheep
Austin- I'm always psyched to play.
Mark- Me and my girlfriend listen to a bunch of Seaway, Neck Deep, Blink 182, New Found Glory and jam hard as fuck
Do you have any new material? Oh yes we do ;) may 25th new single Oh houston will come out.
How can people reach you? on our website or our personal facebooks, our phones, snapchat, instagram, etc
What are your plans for the future? to spread some positivity and play some shitty pop punk for people. And tour!!

Kommentera här: