interview with Lina Nyberg

Have any of you played in other bands? We play constantly with other bands. 

How is it that you started playing music? I started as a 10 year old playing the guitar and singing in a choir, I continued to sing jazz as a teenager and started to write music at the same age.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Lina Nyberg vocals 47 , Cecilia Persson piano 35, David Stackenäs guitar 43, Josef Kallerdahl bass 38, Peter Danemo drums 56

Have you had other previous members? nope but I used to have other bands.

Did you make music even when you were young? yes I started as a teenager

Where are you from? Stockholm Sweden

What year did the band form? 2008

What's your style of genre? Jazz and improvised music

What inspires you? art litterature, my family, friends, movies, nature, 

How have you developed since you started with the music? I’ve been quite determined and purposive since the start, some goals take a while to reach, some are easier. One needs to be tenacious.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band?

Writing music takes a while

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? I already work with a person who helps me with international booking.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I already work with a label.

What made you decide to make this music? The creativity is like a human super power that every one has more or less. I just have to do it and move on as fast that I’m done with one thing I go on to the next one.

What are your songs about? Lately there’s been a lot about the earth and humanity.

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I do.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Both at the same time. But I often have an idea about the theme before I start.

Do you compose in a certain environment? I would need a piano, guitar or a computer.

Have you done any covers live? Yes, since I’m into jazz I’ve been doing that a lot.

What language do you sing in? english mainly, but sometimes in Sweden.

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? 30.000 and 5

What ages are most of your concert attendants? quite blended 18-80

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? I vary a lot depending on which album I’m promoting. Some songs lasts longer.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? Yes, the main jazz clubs in Sweden.

What was your first gig like? It was very nervous challenging and excited.

What was your latest gig? At Trondheim jazz festival.

Have you had to cancel a gig? Yes. Once when I was pregnant and twice when I had a high fever.

Where have you played live this year? Sweden and Norway.

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Portugal, Brazil, Sweden, Japan.

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I can surely understand it but it doesn’t help musicians to survive. Especially not when in an small genre. The income from selling cd has decreased a lot since ten years and the streaming income doesn’t compensate the loss.

Do you have any role models or idols? Björk, Joni Mitchell and Eric Satie.

Do you have any new material? Yes coming on my new album in the fall of 2017.

What are your web sites? www.linanyberg.se

How can people reach you? https://www.facebook.com/linanybergjazz/

What are your plans for the future? Releasing new album i september 2017 with my band + symphony orchestra                

Kommentera här: