interview with Sick Black Automatic

Have any of you played in other bands?

Greg Fleetwood (Drums) – Yes, been playing since 1992

Legion 13, Torso Interactive Hardcore, Slugfest, Skullcap

Norm Carrier (Vocals) –  Yes I have been in 3 other bands.

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – About 5

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – Yes, 1 original band (Adversary – based in Chicago from 1989 – 2009)  and 6 cover bands. Not to mention jamming with friends and at Open Mic nights.

How is it that you started playing music?

Greg Fleetwood (Drums) – Played Trumpet in school band as a kid. Decided to play the drums at the age of 24

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –  Yes

Norm Carrier (Vocals) –   I always wanted to sing in a band.  I answered an ad in the New Times(  A local music newspaper ).  A local   Heavy-metal  band  Legion 13  was looking for a front man .  I auditioned and got the position.  That is where it all started .

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – Family genes

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – I had family that were musicians and that inspired me to play. 
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?

Greg Fleetwood,  Drums, 49yrs old

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – Norman Carrier  AKA Warring Norman.  49 years old .  Vocalist /  lyricist/ Wordsmith

Jason Hobbs (Bass) – 45

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – 54

Terry Babicz (Guitar) - 44
Have you had other previous members?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –  Yep

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – Yes we had a former guitar player. 
Did you make music even when you were young?

Norm Carrier (Vocals) –I have always written  lyrics as long as I can remember . 

Jason Hobbs (Bass) – Sure, I remember pounding out rhythms on my mom's furniture, trying to imagine the groove in my head

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – Yes

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – Yes, As soon as I started to learn the guitar at age 15, I tried to make my own songs.
Where are you from?

Norm Carrier (Vocals) –  I was born in Laconia New Hampshire. Moved to Arizona in 1982.  Lived here ever since.

Greg Fleetwood (Drums) –  Phoenix,  Az

Jason Hobbs (Bass) – I was born and raised in Oklahoma, now residing in Phoenix, Arizona

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – Born Bountiful UT, raised in Senecaville OH, lived in AZ bout 40 years.

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – Born and raised in Chicago, Il. Moved to Phoenix,AZ in 2009.
What year did the band form?

Greg Fleetwood (Drums) – 2015

What's your style of genre?

Greg Fleetwood (Drums) – Metal

Jason Hobbs (Bass) – Metal, there are some many sub-genres out there it's kind of ridiculous and we borrow from all of them :)

Norm Carrier (Vocals) –  original oldschool heavy metal
What inspires you?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –  whatever is going on around me, what I might be reading at the time.

Norm Carrier (Vocals) –   All the bands that I have admired through the years,  my family ,  bandmates  and life in general .

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – Life experiences, Other great musicians.

How often and where do you reherse?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –  as a band we rehearse once a week in our studio in Phoenix

Norm Carrier (Vocals) –    Francisco studios in Phoenix Arizona 1 to 2 times a week..
How have you developed since you started with the music?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –  well hopefully I'm a better player! It's my outlet though, it's always there for you making the bad times good and the good times great.

Norm Carrier (Vocals) –     I have learned how to sing correctly.  It is very important  in any genre but especially metal since it can be very hard on your vocal chords.  I think it is important for the fans to be able to understand the lyrics . My writing has improved vastly over the years. 

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – I’ve grown to appreciate different styles of music, learn different instruments and see life in a way that music is everywhere – in nature, in traffic, in the way people move without realizing it.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band?

Greg Fleetwood (Drums) – Yes. Custom car painting, airbrushing artwork, hot rods, drag racing.

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –  we all have careers, I'm a professional in telecommunications in my spare time 

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – I like to read ,   Watch movies , write short stories, game,  shoot guns ,  go four wheeling ,  mud bogging,  karaoke,  camping , and spend  Quality time with the family .

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – Music other than what we do as a band – I’m always growing musically. Spending time with the family.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?

Norm Carrier (Vocals) –We are always on the lookout to improve and move forward .

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – If we started to tour outside Arizona, like a multi state tour, I would consider a booking agent. They have far more resources and info than we can get to book something on that scale.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that?

Greg Fleetwood (Drums) – A label would be great for promotions and distribution. 

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –  the point of making music if for people to hear it, so if a label or booking agency can further that then sure, I'd be open to that absolutely.

Norm Carrier (Vocals) –Absolutely .  I think every musician has the goal to get with a label  and get your music out there to the masses !

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – I'd like to experience that.

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – A label will always interest me to help get us out on the road and to help pay for top quality recordings. We will need to go over any contract with a fine tooth comb before we sign to anything. Too many horror stories of new bands signing everything away and having no money left.
What made you decide to make this music?

Greg Fleetwood (Drums) – I was inspired by Larz Ulrich and Metallica to want to create original music.

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –  there was no decision to be made, this is a part of who I am

Norm Carrier (Vocals) –It's who we are and what we do .  Music is a calling .  I like all genres but metal is what I am.

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – Something to say

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – It fits perfectly with what we are passionate about and to get our aggressions out.
What are your songs about?

Greg Fleetwood (Drums) – It varies. War, death, guns, life.

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –  I think it's fair to say we incorporate a fair bit of war and destruction in our songs, but we draw inspiration from books and films, history, philosophy...

Norm Carrier (Vocals) –Veterans ,  war ,  motorcycles,history

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – Really, whatever interests us at the time. 

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics?

 Greg Fleetwood (Drums) –  Everyone contributes.

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –  we all contribute, Norm is a primary lyricist though

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – I write all the lyrics.  We encourage everyone to pitch in . Ideas are given to me and I organize them to flow and fit the music. 

Do you start with the music or the lyrics?

Greg Fleetwood (Drums) –   Both. Just depends on the moment. 

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –   it really can be both, if Norm comes with some really great lyrics we work from there, but we're also just as apt to start with a riff that Terry or Ollie throw out...or heck a full song at times. 

Norm Carrier (Vocals) –We do a little of both .  I have tons of song lyrics written. 

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – My personal is lyrics 

Do you compose in a certain inviroment?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –    a fair bit of our writing is done in studio...however if I'm writing at home I'll go to a quiet spot and just see where the bass or guitar leads me

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – In the shower,  in the car, at work  basically whenever it hits me I take a couple minutes to write it down or type the lyrics in the notes section of my phone.

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – Like to smoke a doob I suppose 

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – Like Norm said, anywhere at any time. I sometimes have to hum a riff into my phone while I’m out to save for later. Or scribble down music notation quickly before I forget the riff. I’ve down that at stop lights or while having a meal.
Have you done any covers live?

Greg Fleetwood (Drums) –  Yes

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –    a couple...we've done Slayer's Skeletons of Society for a tribute to Jeff Hanneman, and then we did some Dimebag stuff...let's see Good Friends and a Bottle of Pills, 5 Minutes Alone, Domination and Breathing New Life from his Damageplan project
What language do you sing in?

Greg Fleetwood (Drums) –   English

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –    English although I rarely sing...I think everyone is thankful for that
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –    man, the smallest might have been 5...the largest? No clue, a bunch...we bring it just as hard for 5 as we do 5000, those 5 people paid to see a show and we're not going to punish them for the crowd being small.

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – The least was probably 20 and the most 75 .
What ages are most of your concert attendants?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –    on average probably anywhere from 20's to 40's I'm guessing

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – I would say mid 30s to early 40s .

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – 32+??

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – Looking at our fans stats and the faces I’ve seen at the shows I would guess – 20’s through mid 50’s on any given night.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary?
Greg Fleetwood (Drums) –   We mix it up depending on set time.

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –    we have some standards, but we definitely like to change it up
Do you have a regular place you play live often?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –    we have spots that we play more frequently but we'll play a parking lot if people show up

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – We like to play Joe's Grotto (Phoenix, AZ)

What was your first gig like?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –     it was fun, the crowd was decent sized and the venue was nice...but the setup kept the crowd away from the stage so we didn't get that energy from the crowd the same way you can we're they're right up close.

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – It was exhilarating to get back on stage.

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – Exciting!
What was your latest gig?

Greg Fleetwood (Drums) –   DimeFest. Tribute to Dimebag Darrell Abbott.

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –     a tribute to Dimebag, it was fantastic! Great crowd and I think it's fair to say we won over some new fans that night 

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – We play dime fest at Joe's grotto .  Our best show to date.  I had been in a serious car accident a week before and had to sing with my left arm in a sling .  Had a broken collarbone in three broken ribs .  I was thankful to be alive and able to play with my brothers on the stage !
Have you had to cancel a gig?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –     I'm going to say no, but we did have a venue that double booked a night and opted to go with the other band...but we can't be responsible for their bad decisions

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – Luckily not yet .

Where have you played live this year?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –     Wherever they let us

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – Several clubs in the Phoenix area .
Where do you plan to gig the comming year?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –     Wherever they let us

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – Going to do some local stuff .  Would love to do a mini tour of the Southwest .

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – Cali would be cool.  Norman music festival cool too.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale?

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – We have an online Café press store and we sell Murch at the shows .  T-shirts stickers DVDs

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – We started selling shirts and stickers at our Merchandise tables at the shows in 2016. We opened our Online Merchandise Store at the beginning of 2017.

We sell shirts, stickers and HD Videos at our table.

The CafePress Store has a variety of things. Shirts, Hoodies, Hats, Stickers, Buttons, Blankets, Bags, Sweatshirts, Pins, Magnets, Shot Glasses, Mugs, even Curtains.

Where can people buy your merchandise?
Norm Carrier (Vocals) – CafePress Merchandise Store and at the shows
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –     I love downloading and streaming from a consumer point of view, it's easy and convenient, although I don't advocate piracy...pay for your music kids!  But, I do still enjoy buying vinyl...the artwork is a huge part of the experience for me, plus vinyl sounds better.

Norm Carrier (Vocals) –  It is the way of the future . I still like the nostalgia of going down and putting your hands on a record or CD.  The artwork and inserts were all part of it .  I think it detracts from the experience to download music but it is what it is 

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – Great for older bands

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – I compare it to the old days of trading bootleg tapes. It’s a great way to discover new music or to see or hear a band that you normally can’t go see. The downside is that people are less apt to pay for anything from a band like music downloads.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –      it's become focused on the single, and the result is that a lot of the music out there sounds formulaic, which is unfortunate. Experimentation isn't rewarded the way it once was.

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – I think it has cheapened the artists worth  and has flooded the market with mediocre Artists.

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – More to choose from

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – It destroyed the music industry as we knew it. There are too many armchair musicians that are flooding the market now. It also gives people a shorter attention span for listening to music. This is because there is too much available for everyone.

It gave music an “all you can eat buffet” feel when consuming music. People are more apt to listen to music in 1 song or even 30 second bites instead of checking out a whole album from start to finish.
What do you think of my work?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –     I love it! Anything that is getting music out there to people that they might not otherwise experience is to be commended. 

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – You are doing a wonderful service to independent musicians and to music fans. Thank you!
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business?

Greg Fleetwood (Drums)  –  We hope for more exposure. To gain more fans.

Jason Hobbs (Bass) –  I'll be happy if it brings one new person into the fold, I believe in what we do and if you create good music and have the infectious passion that we do I'm certain people will be won over.
Do you have any role models or idols?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) – I have players who inspire me for sure, Geezer Butler, Steve Harris would be a couple right off the bat...but you know it's important to not limit yourself to a single genre, so I listen to a wide range...The Reign of Kindo, Jamiroquai, Johnny Cash, Maroon 5...whatever moves me at the moment.

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – Metallica and Pantera have always been a driving force for me.

Terry Babicz (Guitar) –Joe Satriani, Alex Skolnick, Stu Hamm, Randy Rhoads and many more continue to inspire my creativity. I also draw from other musicians and life experience.
Why do you think that they exist?
Terry Babicz (Guitar) – They exist because we, the fans, created them. We hold them up higher than other players.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) - I don't think it's an either/or, some of these bands I've been listening to for over 30 years so they're very much a part of who I am. On the other hand, it's always good to hear new music, a new take on an old idea...

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – A mixture of both but definitely more older bands .

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – Older bands 

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – New or old, If they are excellent, they will continue to inspire. Sadly, I have yet to find more than a handful of artists from the last 20 years to be inspiring. I find the newer bands to be too stale, no real dynamics in their music. Just following the same formula the last big hit had.

What have been your biggest obstacles?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) - the guy in the mirror, I find at times I'm my own worst critic.

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – Finding time to get everyone together to work on new material .

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – Be happy in my style

Terry Babicz (Guitar) –Time
What advice would you give other bands or artists?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) -  if you believe in what you're doing don't let anyone stop you...but be smart about it, take care of your money, and don't underestimate the value of hard work

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – Diligence ,  perseverance ,  no drama ,  be humble,   Acknowledge and be true to your fans.

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – Practice

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – Practice. Set small goals for yourself than work your ass off to achieve them. Own your level of playing, don’t make excuses.
How do you get psyched for a gig?

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – Listen to music on the way.   Get rest before hand.  Realize it is not about you .  Understand that it is your responsibility to  entertain those that show up and support you .

Jason Hobbs (Bass) -  being onstage is the most fun thing I can think, I have to calm down before going onstage!

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – Listen to tunes

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – Having a gig is the most motivation I can get.
Do you have any new material?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) -  always! We're always writing and working on new things, we have numerous songs in various stages of completion...some of them flow very easily and are hammered out in no time, some others require a much longer time to birth...you just have to let each one happen in it's time.

Norm Carrier (Vocals) – Yes .  Flat dark earth is a great song .  We have many ideas for the future .

Brian Oliphant (Guitar) – Yes

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – We debuted 2 new songs this year into our live set – MK Ultra and Flat Dark Earth.We have many more in queue for our next release.

What are your web sites?

Facebook Page

ReverbNation Page

Youtube Page

CafePress Merchandise Store
How can people reach you?
[email protected]
What are your plans for the future?

Greg Fleetwood (Drums) –     We have our first cd release 2/3/18. We will begin recording our 2nd cd soon after.

Jason Hobbs (Bass) - playing bass with these guys for as long as they'll let me!
Do you have something to add?

Jason Hobbs (Bass) -  Thank you so much for this opportunity! Metal has been such an integral part of my life, it was there for me in good times and bad...and now, we get to be onstage we some of the artists that really inspired us back in the day, like the mighty Destruction!

Terry Babicz (Guitar) – Thank you for helping us spread the music. We’re going to continue to make music and better ourselves as musicians.

Kommentera här: