interview with Antonio Arrea

How is it that you started playing music? At 16, although I'm a bass player I started playing the guitar when I heard "Running with the devil" by Van Halen, tha solo was incredible to me.
How old are you? 47
Did you make music even when you were young? I started at 16 on electric guitar
Where are you from? La Rioja - Spain (3 hours by car from Madrid)
What's your style of genre? I like many different styles, from flamenco, fusion music to rock, I'm eclectic, it's the best definition of myself.
What inspires you? Share my music with as many different people as possible.
How often and where do you reherse? To be honest right now I'm more focused on doing music than practicing, in my home studio where I do my videos and recordings
How have you developed since you started with the music? The most important change was when I switched from playing guitar to playing bass when I listened to Jaco Pastoius, that changed everything, after that everything is a process based on practice until you decide to make your own music, I would say the biggest development is now because I make the music I feel.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? As solo artist I handle my own work, edit, record, compose and play all the instruments, besides the bass, I can do it for myself at the moment, but it is always a good idea to have an agency
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I do everything for myself, youtube, facebook and instagram, but It would be fantastic to sign for a label to reach more people and to spread my music more strongly, of course
What made you decide to make this music? I have always been creative and I´ve always liked music, it is a natural thing for me, I just love the music, as simple as that.
What are your songs about? At the moment I'm very focused on covers, I enjoy doing them a lot, what I like most is to take a song and transform it, customize it and make it mine, what I like most is to reach the hearts of people through music, I like the emotional side especially
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? My music is all instrumental, though I love vocal songs, in fact I enjoy vocal songs the most and like to doig on bass and changue to instrumental.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? Well, the record industry has changed and we have to go with the times, it makes no sense to buy a disc nowadays, is ridiculous.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Radically, it is now a new world, there is almost no industry, not in the way it was and never again, Is better in one sense and worse in others, but it is what it is.
What do you think of my work? I don´t  know you personally but I think you have a passion for music and you tramsmit  that passion to the people
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I don´t  know but it is a pleasure to collaborate when someone is interested in your work, if it serves to bring my music to more people then it is wonderful
Do you have any role models or idols? I would say Jaco Pastorius, undoubtedly he is everything in the world of bass, a truly talent, a timeless artist, I started playing bass when I heard "Come on, come over", it was incredible for me.
Why do you think that they exist? I don´t believe in idols, I don´t idolize anyone, but if we change the word idol out of admiration then I admire a lot of people, I guess we idolize more when we are younger, as you mature, you realize that it is not about that, but to admire the work or the art of other people
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I like both the old and the new alike, good music knows no age.
What have been your biggest obstacles? Life is always full of obstacles in whatever you set out to do, the challenge is to overcome them, In my case, perhaps, to bring the bass to more people, to make it more known than it is because it is an instrument unknown to most people, but it is a motivating challenge for me.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Especially have fun doing music without expecting anything in return, be happy doing it, work and believe in yourself and do what you feel
Do you have any new material? Yes, a new camera for video rcording
What are your web sites? You can follo me on: Antonio Arrea (Youtube channel, Facebook and Instagram)
How can people reach you? Through my Youtube channel videos mainly.
What are your plans for the future? Make the best covers videos possible on my Youtube channel and reach people with them.
Do you have something to add? I really appreciate your interest in my work, it's a pleasure to answer your interview, If you want you have my permission to use my photographic material for this interview that you can find on my Faceboook page mainly as well Instagram.

Kommentera här: