interview with DAWNPATROL

Have any of you played in other bands?

Yes before Dawnpatrol I have played in many bands. I played drums with Vermeth, Hellraper, Monarchia Daemonium and other local bands… I still have my black metal solo project called Svartfell.

Cendres played with Ravendark before. He’s in Hordous now.

And M’Cka has played in local bands…

How is it that you started playing music?

I started playing music when I was very young, I played drums and guitar first at 17.

I recorded the demo of Hellraper in 1998 and the first EP of Monarchia Daemonium in 2000 !

I decided to play music because I became a huge fan of metal music, in particular all the thrash metal and heavy metal scene of the 80es.

I first tried to cover some tracks of those bands, then I started to join bands who needed a drummer. 

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?

I’m V.Wolfstorm , I play guitar and do the vocals.

The other members are Cendres at the drums and M’Cka at the bass guitar.

Our ages is secret !

Have you had other previous members?

No we hadn’t other members. Before M’Cka join us at the bass we started as a duo only !

The past members are no longer alive!

Did you make music even when you were young? Yes , even when I was a kid I remember I thought about writing songs and lyrics, even if I hadn’t a band, it was  something quite natural for me…

Where are you from?

We are from France , in the wasteland of Gironde ! 

But we live in our bunker to escape from the radiations !

What year did the band form? The band forms in 2012 , it was a solo project at this time. I released the first demo called « Nuclear Overkill » !

What's your style of genre?

Our style is quite difficult to define because we have many influences.

To resume I will tell it’s Black/Thrash metal.

You can find inspirations from bands such as Venom, old Sepultura, Toxic Holocaust, Massacra, Motorhead, Darkthrone …

At a time we called our style « Post Nuclear Thrash Metal » but it’s far than that I think.

You can find influences from old death metal, thrash, speed, heavy…

But we combine all those elements to create our own style. We made music in the old-school metal way, not all the neo/ modern/ post/ core metal shit !

What inspires you?

All the bands I told you in the previous question for music.

For the lyrics we are inspired from movies like New York 1997, Mad Max, 2019 After the Fall of New York. All the post apocalyptic movies, especially those made in the 70es and 80es.

World War 2 and all the wars in general are also subjects which are important for us.

Sci-fi and conspiracy theories too !

The wasteland and the ruins around us, the fight for survival, the laws of the Bone Breaker, which is our tribe. All those elements are translated in our music !

How often and where do you reherse? We rehearse in our bunker the more we can. It depends of the energy we can find…

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?

Before I was not looking for booking agency but now , as we want to play live a lot, I will eventually look for a booking agency because to find gigs is very difficult in our country !

If you are not a band with a big label it’s very hard to find places to play live.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that?

Maybe for the next album we will look for a label . It’s difficult for labels now because people don’t buy Cds anymore. And I think the labels are less important now. With internet you can have a strong visibility even without a label. 

But to have a label can help us to touch more people. 

What made you decide to make this music? When the nuclear holocaust came we join us as a military troop and decided to make this music !

What are your songs about? The nuclear holocaust, living in a post apocalyptic world, the reasons for this state, the government’s conspiracy, alien theories, world war 2, 3 and 4! , metal life, bikes, weapons !

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I compose and write lyrics first. Then we finished the songs together, rehearsing to try the best possibilities for the tracks.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? It depends , I use to start first with the music but sometimes those are the lyrics which came first in my head. Chorus or strong words come to me and inspire me the music.

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? No I don’t need a certain environment to compose. Music come to me often at times when I’m not into music at all.

Have you done any covers live?

Yes we have done a cover of Motorhead with the track Bomber. 

We have recorded this track recently as we should have participate to a tribute to Motorhead. 

It was a compilation but it has been delayed because of problems of rights.

What language do you sing in?

I sing in english but now we have some lyrics in french.

I think english is better for our style but I’m commited to french language because I like its sound and it’s our native language so it’s important for us.

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary?

For the moment we play the same songs but when the new album will be released we will add some new songs and remove other one.

But we can play some old songs we never played live, songs of the first demo as Stake Land or Station 211 from the last album for exemple. 

The more you do songs the more it’s difficult to choose between all of them.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? We can play regulary in Bordeaux because it’s a town near us. But we have not a particular place where we can play.

What was your first gig like?

Our first gig was in Bordeaux this year.

It was quite difficult for us because it was the first time I was playing live at the guitar and vocals. Before I have played on stage at the drums only. So it was quite a challenge for me to be in front of the stage, and doing at the same time vocals and guitar without doing mistakes !

For the other members it was their first show !

But before the show we had worked a lot and rehearsed as much as we could and we were surprised to see that the audience didn’t thought it was our first gig. They even thought we played live a lot.

We have done a great job and the sound was good so it was a vey good first experience !

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? This comming year maybe we could play in Bordeaux again. But we have other possibilities. We want to play the more we can. But only if the conditions are good enough and if the gigs are with bands like us or with the same old-school spirit. It can be thrash, black, death or doom metal bands.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale?

We have two different patches, one with the cover of the last album « the Dawn of Stell » and another with our logo.

We have some tshirts with our logo.

Where can people buy your merchandise? They can buy merchandise at our shows or by our website : http://dawnpatrol33.blogspot.fr/

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I think it’s sad. When I was young I always bought CDs of the bands I used to listen to. And I continue this way. I think it’s good to have a physical copy of the CD or vinyl with a good artwork. Metal music is not the same as the other genres, you need to have physical copies to have a best feeling. Or maybe I’m too old !

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this?

Downloading has killed the music industry, but the music industry killed themselves without caring of internet and the future way to consume music and they proposed too high prices in comparison of the cost of manufacturing of a CD.

So it’s their fault.

What do you think of my work?

I think you do a great work.

It’s good to have people like you to support underground bands, not only the usual bands you can find in all the zines or websites…

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I hope it will help us to have more visibility in the tons of other bands who exist. And maybe some people will listen to us and they will be intereted to discover our world and music !

Do you have any role models or idols?

I have some models but it can change. I can find some good values in some people, but I know every one is human and nobody is perfect. So I prefer to take the best of them, I don’t have a real idol.

It’s the same with religion and the gods. Except the DP cult, I have no one !

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? It’s easier to find inspiration from older bands because they are the roots of this style. The new bands often copy all the older  without adding nothing.

What have been your biggest obstacles?

My biggest obstacle was to find musicians ready to work with the band and with a good motivation.

It was the more important, not the level as musician.

Another big obstacle is to find places to play live.  It’s very difficult for an unknown band. Concert halls don’t want to take risks and prefer to work with bands already famous.

What advice would you give other bands or artists?

The biggest advice would be to always persevere in front of all the difficulties they will get.

Doing your best and always what you want is the best way, even if you never become very popular.

How do you get psyched for a gig? I’m very psyched, as all the members. Doing a gig is like a fight. You must have the good equipment and be prepared well!

What are your web sites?

Our website with all the info concerning the band is :

dawnpatrol33.blogspot.fr

What are your plans for the future?

We are now working for our second album.

I can tell you it’s going to kill !

I hope it will be ready for the end of the year.

Kommentera här: