interview with Nine Eyes Nation

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, Matthias and me are former members of „Mob Rules“ – Matthias is one of he founder

How is it that you started playing music? I started playing drums when I was 13. We lost our rehearsal room and I had to practice at home. There was a bit of trouble with the neighbors. When I was 15, I decided to go for the guitar.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Carsten Stepanovicz (35y)– Vocals; Matthias Mineur (52y)– Guitar; Janneck Risse (26y) – Drums, Miles Lamberty (30y) - Bass, Oliver Fuhlhage (50y) - Lead Guitar

Have you had other previous members? No

Where are you from? North of germany, next to hamburg / Bremen

What year did the band form? 2017

What's your style of genre? I would just call it hard rock

What inspires you? that is very diversified, I like everything about music which touches me somehow. I grew up with bands like Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Dio, Mötley Crüe ....

How often and where do you reherse? Together we rehearse once in a week. I myself play the guitar almost every day

How have you developed since you started with the music?

Do you have other interests of work outside the band?

My family, football and my two dogs (Golden retriever)

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that?

that is a good question we have been dealing with for a long time. When we got our first record deal 20 years ago, we still sold in a good 5-digit range. In the age of digitization and the mass of bands releasing the records, you have to think carefully about what you do and how you do it! The sales figures have gone down significantly through streaming services. It is important to play a lot live and build a fanbase. social media has become very important today.

What made you decide to make this music? i like straightforward rock music and cool grooves, in addition our singer is predestined for this kind of music (I love him 😉)

What are your songs about? we write about life. especially matthias and i have experienced a lot because of our age that we work in our texts

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? The lyrics come almost exclusively from matthias, my part is the composition and the arrangement. The vocal melodies are made by matthias, carsten me.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? We always write the song first

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? yes, I have a small studio at home. almost all songs are created here

Have you done any covers live? not yet, but we already have ideas for it

What language do you sing in? English

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? we had our first gig in october and played three shows so far. One show was sold out, one was almost sold out. The next gig in february is already sold out

What ages are most of your concert attendants? It's been a very wide range so far. from 15 to 65. But it is also a bit early to be able to determine the average age

What was your latest gig? I was on 1th of december in a very well-known club in Wilhelmshaven

Where have you played live this year? Nobody will know that ... Oldenburg (Festival), Nordenham, supporting “The Unity” (sold out) and Pumpwerk Wilhelmshaven (almost sold out)

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? There is already a big festival in Germany confirmed and there are some requests. The final planning is expected to be completed in January.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? we have finished the layouts and we are currently in production. We hope to be able to offer our new merchandise before Christmas. It is expected to enter in the first step, shirts, hoodies and coffee mugs. Hats and towels are already available on our homepage.

Where can people buy your merchandise? There is an online shop on our homepage www.nineeyesnation.com

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? it is very annoying for musicians on the one hand. You spend a lot of time writing songs, investing a lot of sweat and heart and the production of a record costs a lot of money. Through the streaming services, the record sales have gone down significantly and as a musician you deserve almost nothing. On the other hand, through the streaming providers, you have the ability to reach much more people with your music. Previously, CD sales were the main source of revenue. Today it's much more about concerts and merchandise. That is also the reason why the prices for concert tickets have exploded so much. Whining does not make sense, you just have to deal with the circumstances and arrange to look for the best way. And to be honest, I use the streaming services as well

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Record companies can no longer take too much risk today. In principle, they need finished bands that already have a fanbase or the budget for a new band is correspondingly low. This is absolutely understandable. Conversely, it means for bands, they have to do their homework properly and think carefully about each step. As a band you only have one shot and it has to fit. Once you're burned, nobody will take you anymore.

What do you think of my work? Your work is extremely important for us bands. You offer us a platform on which we can communicate and hopefully make us a little better known. (laugh) As a musician, I'm a fan myself. I'm interested in what people do, think and say, which I like

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? the reader gets in any case a first impression of the band or me. Maybe he identifies with my ideas, finds it interesting or becomes curious? maybe he also thinks, what a nonsense, .... I can not say that, but there is a reaction.

Have any role models or idols? I have some idols. In terms of music, it is dave Grohl. He is awesome, very authentic and honest and he knows exactly what he wants. That impresses me.

Do you have any role models or idols? I have some idols. In terms of music, it is dave Grohl. He is awesome, very authentic and honest and he knows exactly what he wants. That impresses me.

Why do you think that they exist?

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?

I am inspired by both in different ways.

What have been your biggest obstacles? maybe my biggest obstacle is myself, because in many things I'm just too impatient and sometimes overburden others. But I am working on it ;)

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Find your own path and follow it

How do you get psyched for a gig?

Do you have any new material?

because the band is brand new, the material is also brand new! But we are constantly working on new songs!

What are your web sites?

www.nineeyesnation.com

Facebook: nine eyes nation Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC6HAh2ueDVgFIT6fmBYgh_w

How can people reach?

Watch our first video „Going down“ on youtube: https://youtu.be/njboH1x4uZ8 i promise it rocks! Check out our homepage www.nineeyesnation.com and visit us on facebook Nine Eyes Nation.

for booking requests or anything other you can contact our management : Roadfoxx Music Management (Mail: [email protected]) Facebook Masseneger: m.me/roadfoxxmusicmanagement

What are your plans for the future? First and foremost, I want to have a lot of fun with the band and to play as much as possible live. So far people are doing very well and I am convinced that this band has the potential for much more. We will continue to do our best and see what time brings.

Do you have something to add? Thank you very much for your time and effort. I hope we will hear each other again

Kommentera här: