interview with IANWILL

Have any of you played in other bands? Audrey : I was the vocalist of the french band Diary of Destruction from 2008 to 2015. I ‘ve also had some little projects before. Mathieu : I played in some local bands with friends and have created a project which is still in my computer.  Jesse: I played a french band called Still, the style was pop, rock, funk and soul. I also accompanied jazz big bands and symphonic orchestras. 
How is it that you started playing music? Audrey : I’ve always listened to rock music and classical music since I was little and I think I’ve always liked to sing also, then later around 12 yo I discovered metal music. My love for classical music led me to take lessons of lyrical singing. Naturally, I discovered symphonic metal which was the perfect mix for me then. I had my first metal band at 15 yo. Mathieu : Because of love for music and espacially for extreme music. Jesse : I come from a family of musicians.I grew up in music, when I was younger I followed my father to all his rehearsals and concerts. I started playing drums at the age of 3. I had my first band at 12. What are your names? / Who plays what? Audrey : My name is Audrey Ebrotié, I am the main vocalist of the band, Michaël (Mike) Gerardin plays guitar,  Tom Ségur also plays guitar, Mathieu Gelinotte plays bass and Jesse Haddad plays drums.  Have you had other previous members? Yes Ianwill had previous members, the actual line up is recent.  Where are you from? Audrey : I’m from Lille in France, and the rest of the band lives in Paris or its region.  What year did the band form? The band was formed in 2011.  What's your style of genre? It’s difficult to determine only one style, we have a lot of influences and we all bring our personal touch to create the sound of Ianwill. But we can say that our principal influences are metalcore, melodic death metal and hardcore.  How often and where do you rehearse? It depends but usually we rehearse 3 or 4 times a month in Paris.  Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?Maybe we’ll look for a booking agency soon, but the question didn’t arise yet.  Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Same here, for now we are concentrated on finalizing the composition of our debut album, and if we find a good deal with a label, why not ? but it’s not the priority here.  What made you decide to make this music? I think it’s just our passion and what we like to do, so it was an evidence.  What are your songs about? It’s about life in general, good moments, bad moments, love, death, happiness, sadness, wellness, suffering…. But I have to admit, mostly it’s about bad and sad things. We often say that music and writing are outlets, and I think that’s true for us. Who does the composing and writes the lyrics?Audrey : Each participates in the composition of his own instrument, and of course can share his impressions about other instruments parts. Generally, the guitarists bring the first ideas, the different riffs which will compose the song, and we simply refine and had our personal touch to finalize it and make it sound.   As for the lyrics, I write them according to what the songs inspire me. Do you start with the music or the lyrics? We always start with the music. Have you done any covers live? No, we’ve always played our creations in Ianwill. What language do you sing in? I sing only in english.  Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? It varies according to the time we have to play on stage, but actually we play our EP and some new songs which will appear on our upcoming album. 

Do you have a regular place you play live often? No, we don’t have a regular place. We want to move the most possible in France, Europe and we hope further soon. What was your latest gig? Our last gig was in Brussels (Belgium) in the contest of a mini belgian tour.  Have you had to cancel a gig? No, I don’t remember we ever had to cancel a gig.  Where have you played live this year? Mostly in Paris and its region, but also other cities of France like Lille, Dijon, Châlons-En-Champagne, Epinal… and in Belgium passing by Brussels, Antwerp and Lens. Where do you plan to gig the coming year? We are ready to move everywhere ! We already have some gigs planned in France and Belgium for 2018, and some projects in preparation for other countries in Europe.  Where can people buy your merchandise? We have a « bigcartel », you can find the link on our facebook page. We still have some t-shirts available.  What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?I suppose you talk about illegal downloading, ‘cause we also can download music legally. I won’t pronounce myself about people who do that. I think even without the illegal downloading, the disc industry would be in decline ‘cause today with internet we can easily have access to music or videos in streaming on YouTube or other platforms. The most important thing the bands need, in my opinion, is to have an audience at their gigs, to have fans following them, moving to see them play live, watching their videos, commenting (positively or negatively), buying their merch, helping them promoting by sharing their new stuff…

What do you think of my work?I think it’s great to see such passionated people as you are ! and your work is very helpful for the bands to promote themselves and for their fans to know them better.  How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Interviews are great materials for a band to promote its music, gigs, projects and tell its story. How do you get psyched for a gig? We just try to find a quiet place to concentrate, warm up and just be together.  Do you have any new material? We are actually working on our debut album which will be release in the end of 2018.  What are your web sites? Facebook : http://facebook.com/ianwillofficial  Twitter : http://twitter.com/ianwill_official  Youtube : http://youtube.com/ianwillofficial  Bandcamp : http://ianwillmusic.bandcamp.com  Instagram : http://www.instagram.com/ianwill_official  Merchstore : http://ianwillshop.bigcartel.com How can people reach you? By email at : [email protected] or by facebook Do you have something to add? Thank you very much for this interview !!! We’re glad you thought about us.  Cheers Have any of you played in other bands? Audrey : I was the vocalist of the french band Diary of Destruction from 2008 to 2015. I ‘ve also had some little projects before. Mathieu : I played in some local bands with friends and have created a project which is still in my computer. Jesse: I played a french band called Still, the style was pop, rock, funk and soul. I also accompanied jazz big bands and symphonic orchestras. How is it that you started playing music? Audrey : I’ve always listened to rock music and classical music since I was little and I think I’ve always liked to sing also, then later around 12 yo I discovered metal music. My love for classical music led me to take lessons of lyrical singing. Naturally, I discovered symphonic metal which was the perfect mix for me then. I had my first metal band at 15 yo. Mathieu : Because of love for music and espacially for extreme music. Jesse : I come from a family of musicians. I grew up in music, when I was younger I followed my father to all his rehearsals and concerts. I started playing drums at the age of 3. I had my first band at 12. What are your names? / Who plays what? Audrey : My name is Audrey Ebrotié, I am the main vocalist of the band, Michaël (Mike) Gerardin plays guitar, Tom Ségur also plays guitar, Mathieu Gelinotte plays bass and Jesse Haddad plays drums.  Have you had other previous members? Yes Ianwill had previous members, the actual line up is recent.  Where are you from? Audrey : I’m from Lille in France, and the rest of the band lives in Paris or its region.  What year did the band form? The band was formed in 2011.  What's your style of genre? It’s difficult to determine only one style, we have a lot of influences and we all bring our personal touch to create the sound of Ianwill. But we can say that our principal influences are metalcore, melodic death metal and hardcore.  How often and where do you rehearse? It depends but usually we rehearse 3 or 4 times a month in Paris.  Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?Maybe we’ll look for a booking agency soon, but the question didn’t arise yet. Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Same here, for now we are concentrated on finalizing the composition of our debut album, and if we find a good deal with a label, why not ? but it’s not the priority here. What made you decide to make this music? I think it’s just our passion and what we like to do, so it was an evidence. 

What are your songs about? It’s about life in general, good moments, bad moments, love, death, happiness, sadness, wellness, suffering…. But I have to admit, mostly it’s about bad and sad things. We often say that music and writing are outlets, and I think that’s true for us. Who does the composing and writes the lyrics?Audrey : Each participates in the composition of his own instrument, and of course can share his impressions about other instruments parts. Generally, the guitarists bring the first ideas, the different riffs which will compose the song, and we simply refine and had our personal touch to finalize it and make it sound.   As for the lyrics, I write them according to what the songs inspire me. Do you start with the music or the lyrics? We always start with the music. Have you done any covers live? No, we’ve always played our creations in Ianwill. What language do you sing in? I sing only in english.  Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? It varies according to the time we have to play on stage, but actually we play our EP and some new songs which will appear on our upcoming album. Do you have a regular place you play live often? No, we don’t have a regular place. We want to move the most possible in France, Europe and we hope further soon. What was your latest gig? Our last gig was in Brussels (Belgium) in the contest of a mini belgian tour.  Have you had to cancel a gig? No, I don’t remember we ever had to cancel a gig.  Where have you played live this year?Mostly in Paris and its region, but also other cities of France like Lille, Dijon, Châlons-En-Champagne, Epinal… and in Belgium passing by Brussels, Antwerp and Lens. Where do you plan to gig the coming year? We are ready to move everywhere ! We already have some gigs planned in France and Belgium for 2018, and some projects in preparation for other countries in Europe.  Where can people buy your merchandise? We have a « bigcartel », you can find the link on our facebook page. We still have some t-shirts available.  What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I suppose you talk about illegal downloading, ‘cause we also can download music legally. I won’t pronounce myself about people who do that. I think even without the illegal downloading, the disc industry would be in decline ‘cause today with internet we can easily have access to music or videos in streaming on YouTube or other platforms. The most important thing the bands need, in my opinion, is to have an audience at their gigs, to have fans following them, moving to see them play live, watching their videos, commenting (positively or negatively), buying their merch, helping them promoting by sharing their new stuff.                         What do you think of my work?I think it’s great to see such passionated people as you are ! and your work is very helpful for the bands to promote themselves and for their fans to know them better.  How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Interviews are great materials for a band to promote its music, gigs, projects and tell its story. How do you get psyched for a gig? We just try to find a quiet place to concentrate, warm up and just be together.  Do you have any new material? We are actually working on our debut album which will be release in the end of 2018.  What are your web sites? Facebook : http://facebook.com/ianwillofficial  Twitter : http://twitter.com/ianwill_official  Youtube : http://youtube.com/ianwillofficial  Bandcamp : http://ianwillmusic.bandcamp.com  Instagram : http://www.instagram.com/ianwill_official  Merchstore : http://ianwillshop.bigcartel.com How can people reach you? By email at : [email protected] or by facebook Do you have something to add? Thank you very much for this interview !!! We’re glad you thought about us.  Cheers

Kommentera här: