interview with SOUL Warriors

Have any of you played in other bands? yes, both of us have
How is it that you started playing music? I was inspired by soul music of the 60ties, Aretha Franklin aso and started singing all the time

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Claudia Hoff and JJ Rebillard. JJ plays guitar and manly all the other instruments on the CD. I´m lead singer. I am 67 and JJ is 61
Have you had other previous members? No. The two of us started the band
Did you make music even when you were young? I started singing with 10. Had my first band with 13
Where are you from? Germany and JJ is from Paris, France
What year did the band form? It was 2008

What's your style of genre? It is soul music and Jazz
What inspires you?
Music of course, nature, our dogs and cat. My smallest granddaughter. Traveling, arts, films, a fire place. Conversations with inspired people, love
How often and where do you reverse?
I sing every day. At home. JJ plays guitar every day

Do you mean our music or my music? I changed from soul music to Jazz. With JJ we stay on the soul music side also with elements of Jazz
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Yes, I am translator for the english and french language. I work in an archeological parc close to Vienna. Grow own vegetable
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? If our CD becomes successful maybe. But so far JJ will be looking for concerts in Paris and me in German
What made you decide to make this music? We met at a party in Paris and with sympathy we decided to make music together
What are your songs about? personal things. Love, My passed away mother. Daughter having drug problems
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? JJ does the composing, I do the lyrics
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Always with the music, then the lyrics come along
Do you compose in a certain environment? JJ in his studio in P. I wrote the lyrics there too

Have you done any covers live? Yes I have. From Pop to Soul to Jazz
What language do you sing in? Usually in English
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? I have played in an open air festivals with 5ooo people and in small clubs with 40
What ages are most of your concert attendants?
All ages from young to old
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? I have a repertoire of about 200 songs in the genres named. CD wise only 10 so far
Do you have a regular place you play live often?
I don´t. JJ plays very often in  clubs in Paris
What was your first gig like?

Exciting, I was 13 and our band played with 7 people. We played in an American Army Club in Nuremberg, Germany

the black soldiers liked it and it gave me a kick
What was your latest gig?Last year, November, in a small club in Vienna
Where do you plan to gig the comming year?
Wherever i can find a gig. Hopefully in France and Germany
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? I don´t but JJ does. CDs and books
Where can people buy your merchandise? In the internet over JJ´s publishing house
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?
ways Everybody does it now. Difficult for us musicians. It has all changed to the past. But if you have a blast on youtube you can become a millionaire. American system. Not always good.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this?
i think the music industry is still doing ok, maybe a little less, the musicians rather have a harder time
What do you think of my work? I think as a journalist for music you have to ask so many questions :) And actually the questions are good but maybe a little more personal would be nice.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business?

It is necessary to have someone to function as an adapter between oneself and contacts to the music scene. I remember being a band leader you have to constantly keep in contact with everyone plus 

make new contacts for booking. Very tiring
Do you have any role models or idols?

Shure, the musicians from Tamla Motown and Blue Note. Phantastic musicians and singers. I love DD Bridgewater, Angelique Kidjo and many other soul and Jazz performers from today and 

earlier days. 
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Inspiration can come from everywhere. Both I would say
What have been your biggest obstacles? a jealous husband and musician himself. Very selfish musicians to work with. Having to fight for a position in the music scene over a long time. For younger singers today it´s easier to be excepted I think
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Try out as much as you can, but always be yourself. See the world and get your inspiration
How do you get psyched for a gig?
I´m always nervous before a gig, don´t need to be psyched. Need to calm down
Do you have any new material?
I have a lot of ideas. Stories that I wrote and would like to publish them or put the ideas into songs with JJ.
What are your web sites?
Just Facebook but not very worked out well.  Told you I don´t like it. It´s the control that I hate.
How can people reach you? Over Facebook and over JJ Rebillard
What are your plans for the future?
Do more traveling, do more music with JJ, concerts in Paris, Germany, in Sweden if possible :) Get some recognition from some magazines.
Do you have something to add? Forgive my rude first email Tel me how you like our music, please and thanks for the interview.

Kommentera här: