interview with Ernie Dufour

Have any of you played in other bands? I have played with other musicians.
How is it that you started playing music? I first heard The Beatles and after that I wanted to make music like them.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Ernie Dufour  I sing and play guitar,bass,produce  and I am 45 years old.
Have you had other previous members? I am mostly an solo singer songwriter.
Did you make music even when you were young? Yes started recording myself at age 6.
Where are you from? Waubaushene Ontario, Canada
What year did the band form? 1998 my first pro demo was recorded six tracks Cassette tape only at the time.
What's your style of genre? Rock, Folk, Singer Songwriter
What inspires you? Life inspires me.
How often and where do you rehearse? everyday and I live right  in the recording studio
How have you developed since you started with the music? I got some experience in recording and performing live since I started.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? getting rich and powerful so I can help people with daily life challenges.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? No I don`t have any use for an agent and would not ever use one.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I am not looking for a label and would not ever sign my music away like that. They ruined the music industry if there was ever an industry to start with. They ruined artist and many peoples lives in the past.
there is no such thing as money and music. or Frank Zappa.
What made you decide to make this music? neither God or the Devil.
What are your songs about? God and the Devil and people who surround that.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I do myself Ernie Dufour
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? I start with the music, then I sign the lyrics I don`t write on paper or change my lyrics.
Do you compose in a certain environment? no when I ever feel I want to play I play or record my music.
Have you done any covers live? Yes I play The Beatles, Neil Young, Arlo Guthrie and Hank Williams Sr. mixed in with my original music.
What language do you sing in? English
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? 0-1
What ages are most of your concert attendants? I perform for all ages.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? The same I don`t play enough to change my list.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? No nowhere,  I wish!
What was your first gig like? It  was horrible I was getting pushed around all the time, and all the people were screaming out other peoples music.
What was your latest gig? Terrible no thank you`s  for playing and I totally felt out of place.  (March 23-24 2017  Wye Marsh Wildlife Center)
Where have you played live this year? Open Jam  (Palace Tavern   Elmvale,Ontario, Canada)
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Only Itunes songs available  (2017)
Where can people buy your merchandise? Itunes
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I think it`s the end of the old and a new beginning of the new.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? The industry lost control finally,  and the artist like me have all the pull now.
What do you think of my work? I like what you do.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? every little bit of help to me is big help,  and it will help me with exposure, I needed this interview Thank you! 
Do you have any role models or idols? John Lennon, Paul McCartney,The Rolling Stones.
Why do you think that they exist? They exist because they are geniuses.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I would say both I use both.
What have been your biggest obstacles? Having no money for promotion or proper recording gear or instruments and my health always been an obstacle.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Just keep you dream and mind alive,  and don`t ever give up!
How do you get psyched for a gig? I think of  scene from The Rose (Bette Midler)  where she is getting psyched out in the mirror does it for me every time.
Do you have any new material? Yes I will be releasing a massive new album on Itunes very soon! 
What are your web sites?http://artists.cbcmusic.ca/artist/38201
How can people reach you? email me at t[email protected]
What are your plans for the future? To keep making music,  and follow my heart and dreams.
Do you have something to add? Thank you for amazing interview. 

Kommentera här: