interview with FALL OF FATHOM

Have any of you played in other bands? Jake: I played in many bands growing up from cover bands to just messing around in the garage in California.
How is it that you started playing music? Jake: My mother was cleaning the house one day and she left her guitar out in the living room. She gave it to me and I kind of got obsessed with playing after that.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
Jake: Jake Snow, I am the vocalist and I write the music. I am 28.
Have you had other previous members? Jake: The band has been around even before I joined and there has been a couple different members. I believe that creating music is important but a band is like a sports team. Everyone has to be friends and have a good time.
Did you make music even when you were young? Jake: I started composing my own music when I was my Freshman year of high school. I had a Tascam 4 track tape recorder and sat out in the garage for a whole summer everyday until 4am just messing around with ideas.
Where are you from? Jake: I am from Temecula, California. Small town but beautiful place.
What's your style of genre? Jake: I am not really sure, I guess like Metalcore with some Deathmetal influences.
What inspires you? Jake: Everything, I’ve hear little melodies in rap songs or world music and had that thought like hmmm, interesting.
How often and where do you reherse? Jake: Usually once a week but before a show we practice as much as possible. 3 hours is a pretty long time. Oh uhh, we go to this small place in Boise called The Hive. They actually put up show stuff on the weekend and there are some good turnouts. Everything that works there are volunteers.
How have you developed since you started with the music?
Jake: The band was one of those things for me that I came in and saw that these guys were so close to something awesome. I stuck it out for a bit and finally spoke up about rewriting the songs. I showed up with some edits and they liked them so the role kind of stuck. I honestly think that is my favorite part though, I just sit in my room alone and speak through music.
Compared to my old bands and music, I think I have more understanding of where to go with the story throughout a song. I’ll have a base structure then I’ll push myself out of my comfort zone and sometimes comes out terrible or interesting. Haha. Sometimes I revise parts 10 to 30 times.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Jake: I use to be an Audio Engineer and went to college for it and everything. When I moved to Idaho, I really got into Social Work so currently working toward my Masters Degree.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Jake: I can only speak for myself and with school and all that I think doing it ourselves right now is a good idea.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Jake: Oh man, difficult question. I personally am not seeking a record label. I have been approached when I had a solo project but I was always so afraid that my life and love for music would get sucked away by doing what someone else tell someone me to do.
What made you decide to make this music? Jake: I write a lot about social dynamics and trying to make dual meaning lyrically. Most the stuff is screaming but I hope that if someone saw the lyrics they could connect in some way.
What are your songs about? Jake: Like I was saying in the previous question. Being in social work and analyzing the world and people, usually that is what comes out.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Jake: I write the music but these guys bring it to life but learning and playing it live which is still a ton of work.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Jake: Really depends, I sometimes write around a riff, a concept that interests me or just sit down and play guitar until I find something.
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Jake: My room has music shit everywhere. Guitars, a drum set, piano, computer, everything someone would need to write. It is kind of nice to wake up and be able to have everything right there instead of having to drive to a studio or practice place.
Have you done any covers live? Jake: No, I don’t really like the concept of doing covers. I mean I guess if you make it into your own but playing the show exactly off the record is kind of meh. I mean, if your a cover band then cool.
What language do you sing in? Jake: Just English. Damn, maybe I should add some Spanish.
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Jake: Since I have come back to the band, we have only played two shows so the first had quite a bit of people and the second one was mainly people that come hang out at our practice area. I actually find it way more terrifying when their is less people there cause I feel that they are really listening in and sometimes just see them just staring and feel that “Oh shit, don’t mess up” Haha.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? Depends on the venue. When have a show coming up here for 21 or older but from the Facebook stats thing it reported people around 18 to 30 check out the page.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Jake: Lately we have been pushing to add new songs each show and to not play the exact same set, just in case we have some of the same people come and hopefully they have that contrast of familiarity and an insight to the new stuff as well.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Jake: About once or twice a month. Here soon we are going to take a break. Some of us have finals in college and after that we’re are going to record all the songs and release an album.
What was your first gig like? Jake: Oh man, I was so scared. I bought like $4000 worth of gear and most of it showed up the day of the show and Tanner actually had to use most of it so we all were like “Please don’t mess up”. Haha
What was your latest gig? Jake: We played at the Boise Hive
Have you had to cancel a gig? Jake: Only one but cause the venue had gotten shutdown.
Where have you played live this year? Jake: Just local venues in Boise
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Jake: At the moment, we don’t have any plans other then getting the album recorded.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Jake: Currently working on this. We have stickers right now but after buying so much gear it makes it really hard to keep spending more and more money. I understand it’s purpose but it’s not something we are focused on right now.
Where can people buy your merchandise? Jake: In future we will have stuff at live shows.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? Jake: Nowadays music is saturated. I feel that if someone really wants to hear a band and downloads the song, awesome. Maybe they will show up to a concert and buy a ticket instead.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Jake: Not much at all. I worked in Hollywood and all they have to do is adapt to the change. Don’t let anyone fool you.
What do you think of my work? Jake: I always support anyone trying to do something with their life so I say keep it up.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Jake: I honestly don’t know if it will. I am the type of person to jump five steps ahead and say that something will benefit me. I make a choice and hopefully comes from it. If not, I make another choice.
Do you have any role models or idols? Jake: I don’t have an imagine if people like that. I see it’s has a respect for that person craft. I see people shredding on a guitar and I’m like dude sick. I don’t know, maybe I’m the oddball. Haha
Why do you think that they exist? Jake: Oh, hardwork for sure and a lot of communication. Most of all patience.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Jake: A mix of both
What have been your biggest obstacles? Jake: Probably having a job and going to school. So much other stuff going on and finding the time to focus on the music can’t be difficult sometimes.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Jake: I guess I would say if someone is trying to help you, let them.
How do you get psyched for a gig? Jake: I usually take a nap before then take a shower. I know, the boring hype but it’s pretty nice.
Do you have any new material? Jake: Yea, we actually have two new songs for our next show. Wretches and Watch You Go. We don’t have these released so it will be cool to see the reactions.
What are your web sites?
Facebook.com/falloffathom
SoundCloud.com/falloffathom
Jake: The important ones. We have other but meh.
How can people reach you? Jake: Facebook for sure.
What are your plans for the future? Jake: Record an album and just play shows.
Do you have something to add? Jake: Tanner does

Kommentera här: