interview with Mauri Saenz

How is it that you started playing music? I played the bass guitar since when I was 15 years old, every time that a have the opportunity of heard or watch a some one playing the bass I just love it , 

What are you name? / What instrument do you play? / How old are you? My name is Mauricio Saenz , I am bass player, and songwriter , I have 37 years old
Where are you from? 
I am from  La Paz Bolivia / south americ

What year did the band form? I had the opportunity of play the bass guitar with wonderful musicians such as Felipe Zuñiga and the extremist band , and Matamba , but now I am very busy finishing my first solo album so I think that my solo career begins in January of this year (2018)

What's your style of genre? Progressive rock and Jazz

What inspires you? songs, melodies, harmonies, my wife and my son

How have you developed since you started with the music? Since that I started, I always tried to improve my knowledge and my kind of playing my instrument, I grew up hearing other great musicians such as Jaco Pastorius and Victor Wooten. 

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? I think that is a very good option for musicians who search develop their live performances

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Yes, I wil love to have a label , a booking agency and a label are tools for us in the way of grow up such us musicians

What made you decide to make this music? To find a way to express me

What are your songs about? They are about the love that I feel of my family

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I am the composer 

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? any where that feels comfortable for my work

Have you done any covers live? Yes I have, I done bass covers for bands that I like such us Dream theater, Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, Marcus Miller, Audio Slave.

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? the laest it is between 50 and the most were 1000 people  

What ages are most of your concert attendants? Almost all of the gigs have attendees from ages of 20 - 50

Do you have a regular place you play live often? Yes I have, it calls  NUNA Theater 

What was your first gig like? It was in a talent contest in my neighborhood when I was 15 years old 

What was your latest gig? The last was at NUNA Theater in La Paz Bolivia 

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? I would love to do a tour presenting my new album 

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I think, that is the best way to reach more people
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Technology has changed the way that we looking everything and the music concept of music industry

What do you think of my work? It is essential for all musician´s works and a complement that benefits us

Do you have any role models or idols? Yes I have, my influences are Jaco Pastorius, Victor Woten, Billy Sheehan, Marcus Miller
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Yes it is, it is easier to find inspiration from  a both bands 

What have been your biggest obstacles? money hehehe

What advice would you give other bands or artists? by consequence and work hard to find your dreams
Do you have any new material? Yes I have,  I´m just finish my solo album

What are your web sites?
Facebook  pages

@maurisaenzbassplayer

mauricio.a.saenz

How can people reach you? email address: [email protected]

What are your plans for the future? I will make more music material such us books and albums

Kommentera här: