interview with Enrico Galetta

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, it was because my first experiences of playing with different bands that I realized my desire to work lately as sideman musician.
How is it that you started playing music?
Funny question, it was just for a joke, at the begin I was interested in becoming a deejay but than a friend of mine told me “why you don’t actually learn to play a real instrument? My band needs a bass player”..
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
Enrico Galetta, I’m a bass player, composer, and educator and I work as sideman musician as well on my solo projects.
Did you make music even when you were young?
it depends on how old you mean young, I started when I was sixteen years old.
Where are you from?
I’m from Taranto, a little city in south Italy than I moved to Atlanta US, where I lived for a while and currently I’m based in Bologna in northern Italy.
What year did the band form?
I started my first band when I was seventeen years old.
What's your style of genre?
My solo project is funk-jazz style, with some fusion influences.
What inspires you?
Anything in my life, not only music person or matter related
How often and where do you reherse?
Well in my case it depends on the project where I am in.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band?
In my case yes being mainly a sideman musician means to be very open to any kind of music scenarios and genre.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?
Well that’s a important question, I was very positive about booking agency at begin, because I still think it’s vital for an artist, a very helpful tool especially nowadays, but, in real terms, after you start to face with many of them, I realised that finding a good booking agency is like winning at the lottery. The fact is that many of them do zero work for you or they just do the same type of work you can do alone. These days a really good agency pick you as an artist only when you really have a name to work with.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that?
A label is important but, because the quick changes of the music business in the last decades and the continuum evolution of it, the needs of label become rare especially with the huge market of the indie artists. Find a label that works seriously for you like twenty years ago, it’s not easy, most people will say, rare. 
What made you decide to make this music?
Because it’s the style I like to play most and where I spontaneously compose music.
What are your songs about?
Instrumental music is different, in my case most of the time recall life experiences..
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics?
In my first record, I wrote all the music by myself and, then I worked on the arrangements with my producer and close friend Adam Nitti before going in the studio and record the album.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics?
Always with music
Do you compose in a certain inviroment?
Not really, sometimes I work in my studio, sometimes just with the bass in my hands, sometimes with a small portable setup, it depends on the scenarios..
Have you done any covers live?
Sometimes..
What language do you sing in?
Usually, I don’t sing, if happen, then English.
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs?
Probably most of them are musicians and then music style lovers..
What ages are most of your concert attendants?
Well is a real mix, especially for this kind of music, I would say all ages, but mainly from the 30s to 50s.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary?
There is some song that I always like to play but I also like to change part of the set list.
Do you have a regular place you play live often?
Lately not
What was your first gig like?
A long time ago, it was a friend and family party..
What was your latest gig?
a jazz club in Paris at Sunside Sunset
Have you had to cancel a gig?
Never did, often the inversion
Where have you played live this year?
lately, I work mainly in the studio
Where do you plan to gig the comming year?
Music venues and some festivals..
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale?
With my first album, I jumped in the world of merchandise, I have my album available as cd, mp3, stream but I also released my first book for bass players.
Where can people buy your merchandise?

My album is available as a CD on CDBaby.com as well as digital, that is also available on iTunes, Amazon, google play, Spotify.
The books are available as physical at bassbooks.com and digital on iTunes certified to work only on Apple devices but in the reality work on any devices

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?
It’s just like hire someone to make some work at your home and after he spent the whole day, you give a hand to him and say “thank you, that’s all”. How do you think he will react?
People always look for free, the always did and the always will. In terms of music for some reason, most of them underestimate the work behind the scene of musician and artist, and nowadays the system made that more than easy.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this?
That’s a deep matter, in my opinion, there are always pro e cons, the key is adapting and try to embrace the new ways instead of being frustrated and refuse..
What do you think of my work?
It’s important, is always help spread the word, some say that is still the best marketing tool..
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business?
I think is always helpful invest your time in something that can help your career, the common mistake is to aspect something from anything we do, it’s the huge limit.
Do you have any role models or idols?
My parents, the person I love, some musicians and friend I personally know.  
Why do you think that they exist?
Off course to inspire other people, you can get inspired even by people younger than you, it’s just a matter how deep we look at life and experiences..
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?
Any of them give you something, it’s just like music, you will look in just one direction if you listen only what you know or usually like.
What have been your biggest obstacles?
Music business ignorance..
What advice would you give other bands or artists?
Never give up and as my dad says, always listen who has just one grey hair than you, listen anyway than you’ll evaluate what you just learned..
How do you get psyched for a gig?
Warming up on bass, a glass of a good red and some fun with my bandmate.
Do you have any new material?
I’m working on the next album and then a new book.
What are your web sites?
My website is www.enricogaletta.com
How can people reach you?
Email, socials, everything is on my website, everything starts from there..
What are your plans for the future?
I hopefully keep working on music I love
Do you have something to add?
Music is the soul of life help to keep strong and respect the work behind of it.

Kommentera här: