interview with Gianluca D'Alessio

How is it that you started playing music? I've started studying music when I was 13, at first as self-taught then with a private teacher. After some year I enrolled at the Music University where I studied for five years and then I graduated. I've been influenced by many artists and thanks to which I'm a musician today. 
Did you make music even when you were young? I've always written music. In 1995 I realized my first demo with my band "Assioma", then I recorded my first solo album "Metronimia". 
What's your style of genre? I've always listened to any kind of music, from classic to jazz, from pop to rock, so my style is contaminated by many different styles and it's recognisable in my latest album "Sunrise Markets". 
What inspires you? One of the most inspiring thing is traveling. See many different places with different cultures and characteristics always give me positive energy and it was source of inspiration for my composition. 
How have you developed since you started with the music? I've always studied and played at the same time, and it was foundamental for my professional growth. One of the first thing I teach to my students is to study and play as much as possible in every kind of situation. 
Where have you played live this year? This year I've been played a lot. I've recorded three TV shows in the most important Italian channels (Rai, Radio Italia). I've played live with many important Italian artists such as Red Canzian, Orchestraccia, Anna Tatangelo, Umberto Tozzi and many more.
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? With my agency I'm planning my next promotional tour for my album "Sunrise Markets", then I'll work mainly in Tv Shows.
Do you have any role models or idols? here were many artists that influenced me: Jimmy Page, Steve Vai, Robben Ford, Mike Stern, Pat Metheny...
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? 
I was inspired by many different bands. My favourite rock band in 60's and 70's are Beatles, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin. One of the contemporary band is "Porcupine Tree", and not by chance in my album Gavin Harrison played the drums. 
What are your plans for the future? Promoting "Sunrise Markets" for sure! So let's meet up at my live show! 

Kommentera här: