interview with FALSE HEADS

How is it that you started playing music? I started playing drums when was I was 11 but I was fucking terrible, I heard Nevermind when I was 15 and realised I wanted to play guitar and write songs.

Did you make music even when you were young? I didn't, I think Jake did and Barney did since he was very young. 

Where are you from? East London

What year did the band form? Late 2015

What's your style of genre? Melodic riff punk snotty pop. 

What inspires you? Life, misery, depression, happiness, alienation, disillusionment and hope occasionally. 

How often and where do you rehearse? Twice a week and we have a storage container where we go and all of our songs come out of there really.

How have you developed since you started with the music? Lots of different ways, we're very much a band and we all bring something distinctive to it. 

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Film, art and literature. 

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Yeah, we're talking to a few labels, will be news on that soon. 

What made you decide to make this music? Nevermind by Nirvana. 

What are your songs about? Normally about how much I hate people. 

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I write all the lyrics and I write the base of the tune and Jake and Barney put it into a False Heads tune. 

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Depends on the song, both. 

What language do you sing in? England

What ages are most of your concert attendants? It's varied, 15-50 

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? We vary them, we normally trial new songs bit by bit live and constantly improve the set. 

Do you have a regular place you play live often? No, we've never really done that. 

What was your first gig like? Terrible

What was your latest gig? Camden Rocks Festival. It was amazing.

Have you had to cancel a gig? Yeah, I got pnemounia 

Where have you played live this year? We did a whole UK/EU tour and then straight into festival season so yeah all over the joint. 

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Festivals and we just announced another UK/EU tour

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? We started last year, T-shirts and viny/CD - falseheads.bigcartel.com 

Where can people buy your merchandise? falseheads.bigcartel.com

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I mean, it's the way it's gone, there are pros and cons to it but there's literally nothing you can do about it so you need to just deal with it in whatever way youcan. 

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Well streaming dominates the charts, that's bad. I think streaming has a lot of pros but how it dominates the charts has sort of stopped music being a cultural force I think. 

What do you think of my work? Amazing, I respect anyone trying to bring bands they love to other people's attention. 

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Well, we need to make our European fanbase bigger and I'm sure that this will help. 

Do you have any role models or idols? Christopher Hitchens

Do you have new material? Yes and you will be hearing it very soon. 

What are your web sites? www.falseheads.com

How can people reach you? facebook, instagram, twitter - [email protected]

What are your plans for the future? Tour, EP, Album. 

Kommentera här: