interview with Ninjas and Aliens

Have any of you played in other bands? all of us yes. Marc and I in several small-time punk bands before N/A and Tony had a couple blues cover bands in the passed. 

How is it that you started playing music?when I was like 13 my cousin started showing me bands like millencolin pennywise nofx blink green day etc and I was instantly hooked. That was also right about the time we all started doing drugs.  The timing was pretty great. 

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?

Joel (guitar/vocals) 30yo

Marc (bass/back vocals) 29yo

Tony J (drums) 19yo

Have you had other previous members?fuck yes. For us drummers were like girlfriends. Awesome the first year and complete insanity after that. Thankfully we landed on Tony J. An amazingly talented sweetheart from the boonies. 

Did you make music even when you were young? yes. I wrote my first song when I was 13. It was called ENILANERDA and i wrote the lyrics first. I always thought that was weird because I always write music/melody first and then lyrics. 

Where are you from? Montreal, Qc, CA

What year did the band form? we started Ninjas and Aliens in 2015

What's your style of genre? Rock/Punkrock

What inspires you? ive shows man. I can’t get enough of that shit. 

How often and where do you reherse? we have a spot downtown Montreal at a place called Cité2000. Legendary jam spot in this city. Believe it or not, Céline Dion actually used to rehearse there. 

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I do construction and work as a sound tech. Although i love both those jobs i still wanna FUCKING QUIT AND PLAY MUSIC FULL TIME. 

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? were always looking for new bookers but we’re not looking to be locked down by anything or anyone. Booking agencies are usually pretty cool. Unlike record labels. 

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? we’ve been approached by labels but no one serious. Even if they were serious, signing over the rights to my songs is an absolute NO. So until we get a decent deal, we’re gonna stay independent. We record and release our own shit anyway. 

What made you decide to make this music? I dunno I have zero control over that. It’s just how it is man. I write music and I’ll go crazy if I stop. That’s about it. 

What are your songs about? Meh. Comedy I guess. Relationships.. partying... shit like that. 

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? me. 

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? the music 100% of the time except the first song I ever wrote which was the opposite. 

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Yeah in my boxers in my living-room with my bong. 

Have you done any covers live? fuck yeah. Too many to name. We’re currently closing our shows with “The Answer is Still No” from one of the greatest Punkrock bands of all time.. No Use For A Name. 

What language do you sing in? English 

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? I love this question. The least was 3 ppl (an 80 yo man with his two 55 yo sons who had no idea what Punkrock was. They were scared.) and the most was at the Montebello Rockfest where we clocked in over 2k just for us which was fkn crazy. 

What ages are most of your concert attendants? id say late teens to early 20s. 

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? We change it up but it depends. Usually we’ll lock in a set for about a year unless we go back to a city that we already played at that year. 

What was your first gig like? 15 yo. My current bassist Marc and I thought it’d be cool to smoke a big joint 5 min before our set. It was a train wreck. 

What was your latest gig? the Montebello Rockfest. FUCKING awesome festival in Montebello Qc. 

Have you had to cancel a gig? yep. Our old drummer had a rough time with drugs and alcohol. Cancelling shows actually became a problem and was one of the reasons we started looking for someone else. 

Where have you played live this year? Quebec and Ontario. 

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Europe. 

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale?about half a year after we started Ninjas we invested in a bit of merch. Mostly really cheap t-shirts. Now we have awesome shirts, hats, stickers, CDs, USB sticks, hoodies etc.. I kinda have a panty fetish so we’ll probably be getting some of those soon. 

Where can people buy your merchandise? Your website is probably the best place. The cheapest anyway..

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I truly don’t give a shit. I come from a generation that ripped everything. If more ppl can have access to it THEN BE IT. When I was 11 my cousin got me deep into gaming and he had every fucking game you could imagine. All for free. Napster also because a huge part of my life as you can probably guess. I’m not necessarily proud of it but fuck it man. its how I grew up. Its how I originally discovered all the bands I still love today and I otherwise never would have heard about them so easily. OK HATERS GIVE ME YOUR BEST!

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? it has turned it into a LIVE based industry. You can’t rip the feeling you get from a live show. You can only put a price on it. 

Do you have any role models or idols? lol. Yes. 

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Interesting question. Bands from today I guess, since we share the same struggle. The music industry has changed so much. At least we can relate with these more modern bands. 

What have been your biggest obstacles? starting out, getting the word out is by far the hardest and most annoying part. 

What advice would you give other bands or artists? DONT GET FUCKING DISCOURAGED. 

How do you get psyched for a gig? 3-4 beers or a couple gin n tonics. 

Do you have any new material? always do. New shit should be out before Xmas. 

What are your web sites? Ninjasandaliens.com

Kommentera här: