interview with Quinzinho Oliveira

Have any of you played in other bands? I was part of many groups, but today I have a solo career.

How is it that you started playing music? I started playing the young guard band in São Caetanodo SuL, the city where I lived.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? 

My name is Raimundo Pires de Oliveira,but my nickname is Quinzinho Oliveira.

I am a trumpeter,composer and arranger, I am 56 years old.

Have you had other previous members? No

Did you make music even when you were young? No, but before 10 years of age, I really enjoyed singing.

Where are you from? I was born in Mariana - Minas Gerais - Brazil

What year did the band form? My solo career started when I was 28 years old.

What's your style of genre? I always listen to Brazilian music (samba) and jazz.

What inspires you? First of all, God, the fact of being graced by the gift of music and now my children Daniel and Gustavo, who also follow the musical career.

How often and where do you reherse? Every day.

How have you developed since you started with the music? As I said, I started in the mirim guard band, then I studied in the conservatory and other free courses like: harmony, arrangement, strings, big band and orchestration, and lots of practice.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? As well as playing, I'm interested in studying composition and regency in soundtracks, because I'm passionate about the film tracks, especially the compositions of John Williams.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Yes, I would like to have an agency outside the country for shows and workshops.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? No, in any way, quality music transcends any border, the label delimits its horizons as an artist.

What made you decide to make this music? My grandmother was a musician, my grandmother was a singer in churches, from a very young age, I was raised in the musical environment that allowed me to have the opportunity in my youth.

What are your songs about? Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I am an instrumental musician, I do not compose lyrics, I compose melodies.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? In my case as an instrumentalist, I compose melodies with harmony, there is no pattern who comes first, sometimes the melody, sometimes a harmony ..

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? For me there is no right environment to compose, ideas come up regardless of where you are. But when this happens I like to always have a keyboard nearby.

Have you done any covers live? Yes, I played several songs by Miles Davis, Chet Baker and a Brazilian trumpeter Claudio Rodit naturalized in the United States

What language do you sing in? What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? I've played for ten thousand people and 2 couples in a jazz bar.

What ages are most of your concert attendants? The public is quite eclectic, instrumental music reaches all ages. I played for 3 years on a project in a jazz bar, titled Jazz for babies, children from 1 to 6 years old.

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? If we play in the same place every week or month, I always try to change the setlist. If the place is different, there are always themes that we keep in our setlist frequently.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? Until May of this year of 2018, we had a project in a bar in São Paulo that we toucavamos every month to 3 years.

What was your first gig like? It was in the year of 1990, when I began to study instrumental music together with a saxophonist friend, we used to decorate Charlie Parker's solos, among others, like Chick Corea, Paquito RIviera and Claudio Rodit.

What was your latest gig? It was 2 weeks ago August 5th, 2018 on a live cd release from a friend songwriter.

Have you had to cancel a gig? No, never.

Where have you played live this year? n bars, show house, studio and cd release.

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Eu gostaria de fazer um curso de verão nos Estados Unidos em julho, com meus 2 filhos, baixista e baterista.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Ever since I recorded my first cd.

Where can people buy your merchandise? I still do not have a platform to market this product, when this happens and directly with me at shows or via whatsapp.

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? For us instrumentalist musicians, the search for this market has always been small in relation to sung music. Nowadays, I am not against the ease we have in downloading any kind of music, because we never had as much viability of our work as we have today, the more people listen to their music, the more condition we have to subsist and often for some to leave the anonymity.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? The phonogram industry has always had its legal or illicit maneuvers to survive in this market, where control was in the hands of few, with this technological advance of the media, we had the opportunity to have more space with a cost almost nonexistent and without relying on people who thought they would have this control forever.

What do you think of my work? How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business?

I think meeting people, exchanging cultures has always been a way of interacting with each other. The entertainment industry in particular music has always had this power to strengthen these relationships. With this interview I am sure that many people will have the opportunity to know my

profile, and who knows if they are interested in my art and my work.

Kommentera här: