interview with Simone Alfonsi

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes…Before I started my solo acoustic project, I have played many music styles in many bands from pop to jazz to rock, but at a certain point I realized that I needed to go in a direction that could better fulfill my expectations as a musician and so I decided to concentrate on Fingerstyle Guitar.

How is it that you started playing music? I feel in love with the guitar at 12, because a found an old guitar at my granparents house... everything started from there…

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? My name is Simone Alfonsi, and I play my own composition for solo acoustic guitar. I’m 36.

Have you had other previous members? No.

Did you make music even when you were young? I've been playing since I was 12 years old.

Where are you from? I’m from Rome, Italy.

What year did the band form? My solo project starts maybe 3 years ago...And it’s always work in progress, anytime I have new ideas I try integrate them in my compositions and play it live...

What's your style of genre?

The style I use to play is called modern acoustic fingerstyle.

This particular style involves  many of the traditional acoustic guitar tecniques, plus some of the new ones like tapping and percussion on the body of the instrument.

What inspires you? Inspiration is a strange things...Sometime I haven’t new Ideas for weeks and sometimes I have many of them in the same day. Is really hard to answer to this question...Maybe I can say the I find inspiration in meeting new people or live in new situations... Often I find inspiration working with new tunings for my acoustic guitar...

How often and where do you reherse? I play whenever I can...There is not a fixed day or place, but I always try to play whenever I can...

How have you developed since you started with the music? In the early years, growth is largely technical in nature ... Nowadays, however as I always try to improve technically, I'm much more focused on the compositional aspect...

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I'm currently working as music teacher.

What made you decide to make this music? The most important motivation is trying to express myself… and of course my endless love for the guitar!!

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I'm only compose instrumental music, so there is no lyrics in my music. Anyhow all the song are composed by me.

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? No, I'm try to write new stuff every times I can... Maybe on my couch, or sometimes when I'm at work... Sometime I found a melody or a riff in my head and I record it with my phone's audio recorder ... Then I work at it in another time. I'm trying to be always ready for the arrival of new musical ideas.

Have you done any covers live? Yes, sometimes I like to pay tribute to the musicians I follow and whom I value.

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs?

I really don't know... Corrently I'm play mostly in small clubs, so...

Let's say that my musical style is not yet very famous in my country... We hope for the future!

What ages are most of your concert attendants? I have no target in this way, every one who likes guitar and acoustic music virtually can enjoy my gigs...  

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Part of my live set is composed by my oldest compositions, but from time to time I try to add new material as I compose new songs.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? No.

What was your first gig like? I think when it was when I was 15, with some of my high school buddies. We used to play Jimi Hendrix songs…oh, it was really a great emotion!!!

What was your latest gig? The latest gig was on dec 15, 2019.

Have you had to cancel a gig? Fortunatly no.

Where have you played live this year? Mostly in my home town... but I also had the pleasure of touring in my country... In fact I was in Abruzzo in June and in Piemonte in July where I had the great honor to be invited to participate at ''Un Paese A Sei Corde 2018'', a renowned Italian festival dedicated to the guitar.

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? I'm always open to every possibilitys... So I'm ready to go wherever there's room for my music.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Just in this days I'm working on a e-commerce page for my website www.simonealfonsi.com . But the store isn't online yet, I hope to complete it very soon... I will mosty sells guitar tabs…

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? As an indipendent artist, I of course think that is important to support artist buying record instead of download music illegally...

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I really hope this can help me bring my music to people I do not normally connect with… I'm always in search of new people who like acoustic music and guitar.

Do you have any role models or idols? I have many of them...First of all my father and my uncle...and of course a great number of artist who inspire me every day like Thomas Leeb, Jon Goom, Michael Hedges, Tony McManus, Mike Dawes, Pierre Bensusan and many others...

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Oh, I'm not in the position for give advice to other musicians... But I think that the keyword is ''Practice''...so practice always as hard as you can!

Do you have any new material? In this days I'm working on a couple of new tunes, one for standard acoustic guitar and one for the Baritone...I hope to be able to release them soon...

What are your web sites? 

I launched my website on October 2018, you can find it at: www.simonealfonsi.com.

Kommentera här: