interview with Bruno Cavicchini

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes I have. Before forming my own solo act, Bruno Cavicchini Band, I have played in several rock bands.

How is it that you started playing music? I was a very young kid when I got into music. I used to be very fascinated by rock sounds. Pretty obsessed with guitars indeed. But it wasn’t until I was about 9 years old that I decided I wanted to play the guitar. The next step was to take guitar lessons, classical guitar lessons actually. At 14 years old then I moved to electric guitar which was the real deal to me.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? My name is Bruno Cavicchini, 41 years old, I’m the founder/leader of the Bruno Cavicchini Band. The line up is: me on the guitar and vocals, Ivano Salvatori, bass, Paolo Castellani, keyboards and vocals, Danilo Ombres, drums.

Have you had other previous members? Yes I have. A couple of drummers and a bass player.

Did you make music even when you were young? I strarted composing my own stuff when I was 14 years old with my first band, the Eclipse.

Where are you from? I was born in Matera, south of Italy, which is very famous for its “Sassi” o “Stone Town” but I live in Rome.

What year did the band form? My solo band formed in 2012.

What's your style of genre? Tough question actually. My music cannot be encapsulated within a rigid frame. I like to say I make rock music full of disparate genres and styles: mainly hard rock, a bit of progressive, a bit of jazz-rock, blues and everything I like to come up with.

What inspires you? It can be anything: reality, books, a thought.

How often and where do you reherse? We are not rehearsing that much at the moment. I’m busy writing some new stuff. We usually have rehearsals in a garage in Rome.

How have you developed since you started with the music? I think we have developed a lot in terms of dynamics, reliability and mutual exchange on the stage. Live dimension is the nude core of a very competent band.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Yes I have. I’m very interested in philosophy and sociology, which I studied at the University. So I love reading essays, novels and pretty much everything that catches my interest.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? I’m actually looking for a serious booking agency whose aim and concern is to really take care of the live schedule of a band and not just getting the money from the band to send emails to live music club. Which is what happens most of the times unfortunately.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Same things for the labels. I’m looking for a label which is really interested in helping spread my music and not just printing my albums.

What made you decide to make this music? Well, my music schizophreny! Ahahaha… Jokes aside, I’m very curious a person. That means I’m always looking for new things, new ideas, different perspectives. So what better than listening to different genres and styles? That led me to create the kind of music I’m doing. I love music that is not too regimented. And that’s what I do.

What are your songs about? It depends. It can be a personal insight on reality or a sensation about something which is not directly linked to this world. It can also have something to do with society and many other things.

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? That’s me.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Music 90% of the times.

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Not necessarily.

Have you done any covers live? Yes I have. Deep Purple, Rainbow, Jeff Beck, Cream, Hendrix, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin.

What language do you sing in? English.

What ages are most of your concert attendants? 20 to 65 yrs old.

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? I tend to vary.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? Yes. Jailbreak and Let It Beer. Both in Rome.

What was your first gig like? Tremendously hard to handle! Ahahaah. I was 15 years old and I found myself in front of 500 people in the audience. I was scared shitless. Anyway I managed to get through the show decently. Ahahah

What was your latest gig? 10 days ago.

Have you had to cancel a gig? Never.

Where have you played live this year? Mostly Rome.

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? I’d love to play in places like Sweden, Germany and the Northern Europe.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Just Cds. I’m thinking of releasing vinyls as well.

Where can people buy your merchandise? People interested in purchasing my album MOOD BALANCE can contact me on my Artist page on Facebook or they can find it online on Amazon.

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? It’s terrible. I might sound as too old-fashioned but I think music cannot be separated from cd or vinyl. Downloading damages the artists in the frist place and the possibility of any real career in music, in the second,

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? I think that’s pretty devastating a thing in terms of a possibility to have a proper career in music.

What do you think of my work? I really congratulate you. Music needs people who really feels a passion for it.

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Well, I don’t know. I hope it can be sort of interesting for the readers and that it can help turn people on to my music.

Do you have any role models or idols? I prefer to think of models in terms of Maestros. People who pioneered the path which I’m treading: Jeff Beck, Ritchie Blackmore, all the classic bands from the ‘70s.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I find it more inspiring to look at what older bands have done in the past, to learn their outlook on the way music is supposed to be conceived and played. That’s what gets me pretty inspired and going.

How do you get psyched for a gig? The idea I’m going to step onto the stage in a few minutes and that I’m going to share my music with the audience is enough to get me psyched.

Do you have any new material? Yes, I’m currently working on new songs.

What are your web sites?

I have an Artist page on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BrunoCavicchini My music is on https://soundcloud.com/brunocavicchini77

And on YouTube as well.

What are your plans for the future? As I said, I’d love to play in Northern Europe

Do you have something to add?

I hope readers and music fans find my music interesting and that they want to know more about it. Please visit my Facebook page and join on my YouTube channel.

I want to thank you Robex for this interview and all the readers for their attention. Keep on rockin’!

Kommentera här: