interview with CRYOPHILIC

Have any of you played in other bands?
ben (vocals) -Yes, bands were called Wavebreaker and Demonihil
curt (guitar) - Yes, ive played guitar in a few metal bands 'Elevator 22 (https://youtu.be/K8A_6Vigx2E)', 'dyed in the wool (https://youtu.be/E3XebpjhQdU)', i sang and played guitar in 'That boy aint righT (https://youtu.be/QPLptxyLY7Y)', 
and i currently play bass in a rock and roll band called 'pistol packin preachers (https://pistolpackinpreachers.bandcamp.com/releases)'
Dylan (guitar) The first band I played in was a black/death metal band called "Visions Of The Night". After that I was in another band called "Nexortus"
How is it that you started playing music?
ben -Listening just was not enough, I had to try it my self,  I could feel it.  Mom's side of the family was very musical.
Curt - ive always been interested in music, my older sister was a sax player in a highschool jazz band, i started off playing guitar and bass around 12 years old. 
Dylan - My father pushed me to play the guitar, because he was a player himself. Music was a constant thing since I was born.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
ben -I'm Ben Spectre, I am the vocals, I am 37
curt - im Curt Smythe, i play guitar, i played rhythm guitar and bass on our album 'barbarity' and im also 37.
dylan - My name is Dylan mcdonald, I'm 28, I play guitar, there is also shawn desnoyers on drums he's 34 and doug sullivan on bass and he's 37
Did you make music even when you were young?
Yes but I really didnt have the balls to scream like a demon until my mid 20's
curt - yes, ive been playing music and in bands and jamming with friends since i was about 12 or 13. 
dylan - I started writing music since I was 14. Not that it was any good back then.
Where are you from?
ben - Sudbury Ontario Canada
curt - Hamilton, ontario, canada
dylan- Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
What year did the band form? curt - established in 2018.
What's your style of genre? ben - Raw, Brutal Death Metal
What inspires you?
ben - the talent of the guys in my band
Curt - a crushing riff, the band suffocation, life, horor movies, weed, frustration, humor 
dylan - My anger alot of the time. Playing death metal is a great filter for me.
How often and where do you reherse? Curt - we rehearse a couple times a week at our studio in hamilton.
How have you developed since you started with the music?
curt- we are always trying to push our limits as musicians and song writters
dylan - I think my picking hand has defiantly improved since I joined. And the fact that our drummer plays to a click makes everything tighter.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band?
ben - Art and Martial arts
Curt - i have a day job and i enjoy cooking and 420 culture
dylan - Not particularly, I have a shitty day job of course. But I tend to laze around.
What made you decide to make this music?
ben - Love of music, aggression, catharsis, power
curt - anger, i love the angry sound, its like therapy and as a guitarist its very physically demanding, 
its more like a sport. 
What are your songs about? ben - Questions about good and evil, right and wrong, madness and redemption, the violent nature of the cosmos 
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? dylan -Ben our vocalist writes the lyrics,  
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? dylan - Ben writes all the lyrics. Me and curt write the songs. And jiggs writes the drum parts.
Have you done any covers live?
ben-when satan rules his world by deicide, 
dylan - So far we have covered 'When satan rules his world' by Deicide. We are looking to cover 'Seeing through the eyes of the dead' by Cannibal Corpse.
What language do you sing in? ben - english
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? dylan - At home comfortably. Though I have sometimes dreamt riffs or melodys and had to wake up abruptly and record them.
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs?
least
curt - we've played shows to an empty bar, and we've played shows to sold out venues. 
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? dylan -Most defiantly yes. We don't have any dates yet.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? dylan - Nothing as of yet. You can listen to our album for free on Bandcamp. Though we are going to be printing physical copies of our album in the near future, as well as t-shirts.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? ben - our fan base usually consists of people around 20 - 35 years old. 
What was your first gig like?
ben -our first gig was Weird. it was a blast, at a weekend long farm biker farm party outside during the day, under the sunshine
to a bunch of hippies that have never heard death metal before. good food, good people and fucked up times!
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? 
ben - Don't really know. we are a new band on the scene,  But its out there so, just rolling the dice, this is actually the first interview
we've ever done. 
Do you have any role models or idols?
ben - Mid 90's metal vocalists, Bruce Lee, Musashi 
Curt - Devin townsend, peter tagtgren, terrence hobbs, frank mullen,
dylan - For a top 3, I'd say Frank Zappa, Chuck Schuldiner, and Alan Holdsworth.
Why do you think that they exist?
ben - Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?
both, the classics you can rely on and any new good record that I find
dylan - I do enjoy alot of new extreme bands as well as the old school stuff. I am constantly searching for new bands toblisten to, wether they are new or they have been around for years and I havn't heard of them.
What have been your biggest obstacles? dylan - For me musically, I'd say it's my switch from 6 string guitar to 8 string guitar. My hands have had a hell of a work out playing death metal on an 8 string.
How do you get psyched for a gig?
ben - magic mushrooms and beer
curt - i love to smoke weed and warm up on guitar to get ready and yelling random obscenities with dylan
dylan - Pretty much just warming up on guitar, and yelling alot. 
Do you have any new material? dylan-We have a tonn of material already written. 

Kommentera här: