interview with Supreme Majesty

Have any of you played in other bands? All of us have been playing i several bands before. Perfect Remedies, Little Yankees, In Black, Deep Quest, Rock Bottom Band... to name a few.
What are your names? / Who plays what? Joakim Olsson - Vocals Tobias Wernersson – Guitars, backingvocals Anders Andersson - Guitars Jonas Svensson - Keyboards Johan Rydberg - Drums Fredrik Skoog - Bass
Did you make music even when you were young? I started writing music when I was very young. Probably around 7 years old or so. But I did'nt write songs who I played live until I was 15 years old.
Where are you from? I'm from Eringsboda (Blekinge) in the south of Sweden. But now I live in Kristianstad.
What year did the band form? 1999
What's your style of genre? Melodic Hardrock/Metal (i think)
What inspires you? Things that happens in my surrounding and classical music.
How often and where do you reherse? Not very often with the band but I play pretty much every day at home.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I work with computer graphics, 3D and film
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? No not at the moment. We feel that we really want to write and record new material before we go on a tour. But after that, of course :-)
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? We have released 3 albums on different labels before (worldwide) but we are always interested in new deals.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I mainly write the music and Joakim Olsson writes the lyrics. But sometimes it's the other way around.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? I often start to write the music but sometimes a phrase or a line of lyrics can trigger a melody or a concept for a new song.
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? No. I ”compose” when the inpriration hits me, but i put the song together in my home studio.
Have you done any covers live? Yes. I'll Be Waiting with Talisman, Out In The Fields with Gary Moore to name two.
What language do you sing in? English
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? We always vary? But we always play some of the songs.
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? We have a gig at Helgeåfestivalen in 1 august (www.helgeafestivalen.se) but we don't want to play live a lot before the next album is written and recorded.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records nowadays? You really want people to hear your music so I think it's good with all the free streaming services. But on the other hand, everything costs. Instruments, time, studio, and so on and somebody's got to pay that. Who?
Do you have any role models or idols? Beethoven, Yngwie Malmsteen, Deep Purple. But there are so many more that i admire and inspires by.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I think so because everything was more ”real” back in the days. No computers, autotune and millions of overdubs.
What have been your biggest obstacles? Time, money and living in a small town
Do you have any new material? Yes. Almost to fill an album
What are your web sites? https://www.facebook.com/SupremeMajesty
How can people reach you? https://www.facebook.com/SupremeMajesty
What are your plans for the future? After the gig in 1 august we continue to write music and we'll take it from there.
Do you have something to add? No, I just wanna say thank you and I hope to se you att Helgeåfestivalen.

Kommentera här: